2014-11-23_0930

Hmm 1

Why is this guy standing in front of me holding a camera in one hand and eating an almond croissant with the other? And what does that dragon logo on his shirt mean? And did he just say, “I’ll make you famous“? Hmmm

Sydney November 2014 – January 2015 (2 photos)

My computer has been slowly dying for the last few months. I continually defer getting a new one. One morning a couple of weeks ago, the screen just went blue. Four hours later I brought home a new computer. Of course, things did not go smoothly.

I’d gone through 4 or 5 operating system upgrades on the old computer but was not on the latest version. I thought my files would transfer smoothly to the new computer and the latest operating system. They didn’t and many files didn’t transfer. I had to manually check every folder, file and program and compare it to the old computer (in the 2-3 hour period it would work before going blue again) to see what transferred across and what didn’t. Hmmm.

After transfer, many of my programs didn’t work on the new operating system. I had to open every program to see which ones worked and for those that didn’t, work out which ones I really needed and download/buy the newer versions. Hmmm.

My printer would not work with the new computer, simply because the software which controlled it was out of date, and it was no longer supported. Replacement programs from the brand’s website wouldn’t support the “old” printer. Later that day, I changed brands and bought a new Epson printer and installed the software. Miraculously my 10 year old Epson film scanner started working properly again. Hmmm.

Then I had to upgrade my old usb2 hub and backup drives for new faster usb3 versions. Of course this meant buying new usb3 extension cables too because the short ones that come with new devices are too short. A couple of new usb3 memory sticks too. I thought technology and computers were meant to make our lives easier. Hmmm.

Hmm 2

Hmmm, I should’ve remembered to recharge my camera battery.

Things that make you go hmmm
Things that make you go hmmm
Things that make you go hmmm, hey
Things that make you go hmmm, hmmm, hmmm
It’s the things that make you go hmmm, hmmm, hmmm

“Things That Make You Go Hmmm” is a song by American dance group C+C Music Factory. It was released in June 1991. The song was inspired by a running gag on The Arsenio Hall Show, whereby Arsenio, while on an alleged long drive, ponders certain thoughts and refers to them as “things that make you go hmmm….”.

Leica Etcetera, Photography Etcetera, Sony Etcetera

Things that make you go hmmm

Image

73 thoughts on “Things that make you go hmmm

  1. So sorry to hear about your computer troubles, Dragon. Very time consuming and hope you’ve got everything backed up and have figured out how to work it all again. My laptop I use every day is dying too…dying since two years ago when it showed me blue faces. Backed everything up already to two hard drives and the most important things on USB sticks πŸ™‚

    • Things were supposed to transfer automatically, but didn’t. Nothing lost though after comparing computers and manually transferring missing files, etc. Very time consuming though.

      I have 7 backup drives, each of 2TB. πŸ™‚

  2. Windows or Mac? The blue screen tells me it was Windows. How annoying to have to go through all of that. That song is pure 1990s cheese. Do you wear MC Hammer pants with your dragon logo t-shirt?Hmmmmm.

    • Mac. Graphic card problem, not system failure, but the usual sub 10 second start time was more like 6 minutes so new computer, rather than running repairs to the old one.

      U can’t touch this. πŸ™‚

  3. That is so painful to read what you have been going through, file by file, software, printer… I just switched to a new computer a week ago (before the old one died), am dealing with two different operational systems… Hope your files will be recovered soon, Dragon.
    Thank you so much for finding time to post. πŸ™‚

  4. Hummm…I just did a camera upgrade, but not all my old lenses were up to the task of the higher Megapixel FX sensor…hummm, then the 14-Bit Raw files are huge so I began running out of storage space = larger CF cards, new backup drive and of course more RAM…hummm.
    Perhaps hummm is just another way of saying “domino effect”
    Hope you are back in action with no loss of images.

    • Thanks. Your camera experience is what we all go through, and now my photos are stored exclusively on external HDs, with 3 additional backup HDs synchronised daily. Surely all 4 HDs won’t fail at the same time? πŸ™‚

      My new computer has 24GB RAM compared to 4GB on the old one – future proofing, in a way. Photography files continue to get larger.

  5. Hello dear,

    …So all the bad things seems to be back me, the sun and the bugs are back and I enjoy that.
    I pass by your blog the last week but I haven’t the time to write, I always like your pictures. On sunday I went to Versailles to see a little exposition of Vivian Maier (do you know her?) a wonderful street photographer which never publish her pictures but after her death someone found them in a furniture storage and do it for her. She was half american half french. The exposition was about her portraits and autoportraits and it was excellent.
    I wish you a great week ahead my dear Drago
    Hugs

  6. Ohhhh I feel for you and your technology woes. It sounds enormously frustrating and I can imagine that I wouldn’t be very patient in that sort of hideousness. Glad you eventually sorted it out and that you’re back !

  7. You have my sympathy for your computer-based poo-storm. Sometimes I wake up in the middle of the night, convinced that all my photo files (and their backups and the backups for the backups) have all crashed at once. The folks in today’s post appear to be having the same bad dream.

  8. It never goes smoothly with a new computer, does it???
    I am glad that it all worked out though. I bought a new iMac last year, and I have yet to find a printer for it, because the one I have is very old too.

    Love these photos! Perfect for “Things that make you go Hmmmmmm.” πŸ™‚

    You have a wonderful week.

  9. Well, FINALLY ! Pfuh ! [grin]
    You poor bastard, LD: what a tale a woe. I believe I see the word ‘Apple’ hidden away in there …
    I am going to buy a laptop, now that I’ve found a lovely bloke to be my new IT support, and it is going to be an entirely painless experience. Well, once he’s removed Win8 and replaced it with Win7, it will be …
    So happy to have to posting, me old china – and your usual wonderful standard of The Sydneysider, Candidly.
    GOODONYERMATE !!!

    • I used to be a windows user until my 98SE version computer crashed and there was no way I was going to buy a Windows ME computer. Changed to Apple, but who knows what in the future. Interesting you’re buying a new computer but installing an old operating system. Why do they feel the need to ruin nicely running systems?
      Thank you kindly.

  10. I had to get a new machine a couple of years ago as my desktop was beginning to annoy me as it was so slow and I cannot upgrade it!! A painful transference to Windows 8 and I found that I cannot use my Money programme on the new laptop as it is obsolete and therefore although I can install it I can’t install all the patches that were made over the years. So it won’t read my file. Now that really makes me go hmm…

  11. I am happy to see new photos from you, and I agree…shouldn’t technology help make things smoother? I must consider buying a new computer soon, and not looking forward to it.
    Best wishes,
    Takami

  12. Hmmmmmm, a dragon shirt? I want one! I used to wear a dragon pendant, back when i was cool πŸ˜› And hmmmmm about your new computer, i hope it’s all working well now…it’s really nerve wrecking when the machine that you rely on doesn’t work properly!

  13. ima so ignorant when it comes to technology issues… I go hmmm… and blah.. and … crap… and sh*t… and I better stop here cussing lol …

    are all your files saved? πŸ™‚

  14. What a nightmare you’ve been through, sounds so frustrating. Technology definitely doesn’t always make things easier. Your photos illustrate the hmmm… story so well! πŸ™‚

I am currently overseas on holidays. Please leave your comment and I will reply to you when I can.

