Danger 1

“Grrr. If this guy with a camera comes any closer, I’m going to thump him”

Sydney May 2014 – March 2015 (6 photos)

Street photography is not everyone’s cup of tea. Recently, a couple of people I work with found out about my hobby. In puzzlement they said:

“Isn’t Street photography dangerous? People might attack you for doing what you do.”

suspicious minds 2

“What if someone catches you photographing them? What if they get angry? What if they get violent?”

Danger 2

“The police won’t help you. They’ll probably arrest you on sight.”

Danger 3

“Security guards will be ordered to hunt you down.”

thunderball 9

“Everyone will be out to get you. Every moment you’re on the street, you’ll be in danger, relying solely on your instinct to survive.”

My reply was short and simple:

Danger 4

… and loving it.

Do you remember Biggus? Don’t worry, he’ll be back later.

Leica Etcetera, Photography Etcetera

The dangers of street photography

Image

61 thoughts on “The dangers of street photography

  1. Genial!!!! I like your Street photography ,,,And I think you are not aggressive as others are happy to be….
    Of course you can always find somebody terribly upset but… If one wants to love and to be loved one needs to take some risks!!!!
    Have a great weekend!

  2. Good on you, turning your back on those comments. Have another almond croissant as a treat. I’ve gotten into the habit of eating toasted croissants…they are flaky and it goes everywhere.

    Looking forward to seeing Biggus again. Hope you two haven’t gotten into a fight yet 🙂

  3. You are a master street photog, LD. Fearless and yet stealthy. You’d have to be to hang out in Biggus’ natural habitat. I’m not comfortable taking photos of people I don’t know. If I ever caught someone taking photos of me, they’d better run. 😀

  4. Haha, yes, I think you are brave to be doing street photography in the way that you do! Maybe the people in the area where you live are either more tolerant or just not very observant! 😀

    I have heard of some photographers meeting aggressive people, but I would have thought it was fairly rare. Where I live is a tourist city (small but definitely sought after by holiday makers) and you’d think with that in mind people would be less bothered by cameras being pointed vaguely in their direction. But some still look very irritated by it, especially if they are carrying a child. But I do get a feeling that as much as local people are irritated by being included in tourist shots, they feel a little guilty for being objectionable. I’m sure they do exactly the same when they are on holiday. Who wouldn’t?! 🙂

    • I’m rather stealthy, but people are also more tolerant here, or else they’re so preoccupied that they don’t notice. 🙂
      Fortunately I haven’t made anyone angry yet, and I hope I never do.

  5. I’ll bet he will – with a new slogan across his sweat (or is it t ?) shirt … 🙂
    What is that security guard DOING ? – presumably having a quick smoke, the lazy bugger …
    Lovely range of aware folk, LD – and not one of ’em minded, did he ?!

  6. Okay…your timing is spot on. I just pulled up the “Blessed are the Cheesemakers” clip on YouTube yesterday to send a friend and the next clip in line was the “Biggus Dickus” scene…and I thought of your ongoing cameos by BD.
    You could always link to Johnny Rivers’ “Secret Agent Man” to soundtrack your adventures: “Odds are he won’t live to see tomorrow.”

  7. Pingback: Recommended reading | Down the Road

  8. Hahaha 😀 Great post, put a smile on my face first thing this morning! I might be one of those angry subjects, unless i saw a post of yours first thing in the morning and started day with a great mood, then you might get away with it 😛

  9. Pingback: Mano a Mano | Etcetera Etcetera Etcetera

  10. LB says:

    Such a clever post with, as usual, wonderful photography.
    No violence here, but no smiling either 🙂
    Keep on keeping on!!

  11. hahah, that clenched fist in the first shot…

    I have often wondered if anyone who knows you in real life actually knows about your hobby, Mr. Bond, James Bond 😀

The Wood Dragon is listening...

