moving targets 1

Sydney November 2014 – March 2015 (3 photos)

People moving about in their daily lives present challenges to photograph, particularly with regard to photographic composition. Often, there is a crowd in the background which may divert attention from the main subject. Or someone moves into the frame quickly or does something in the background and spoils the shot. The subject may be in the wrong position for the shot you want, with regards to the background or the light. Or they may just be moving too fast or in the wrong direction.

What to do? Hesitate? Take the photo anyway? Hope for a better shot later? Move to a different position? Chase after them? “Photoshopping” is not something I generally consider.

moving targets 2

You may only have a split second to decide in real life. Your mind races:

Moneypenny: “I may have a shot … It’s not clean … Repeat, I do not have a clean shot.”

Moneypenny: “There’s a tunnel ahead. I’m going to lose them.”

M: “Can you get into a better position?”

Moneypenny: “Negative, there’s no time.”

M: “Take the shot!”

M: “I said take the shot!”

Moneypenny: “I can’t. I may hit Bond.”

M: “Take the bloody shot!!!”

moving targets 3

“Another one bites the dust”

I say trust your instinct. You may score a bullseye.

Excerpt from the movie, Skyfall. Just continuing the theme of my previous post, Mano a Mano.

Leica Etcetera, Photography Etcetera

Take the shot!

Image

44 thoughts on “Take the shot!

  1. Yes, Dragon. Take the shot. Who knows. You might get lucky and score the jackpot. You don’t know if you don’t try and hit the shutter. If it all fails, console yourself with another almond croissant 🙂

  2. Good advice, sir. If my camera happens to be out when something interesting happens, I try to capture it. If it doesn’t turn out, oh well, but at least an effort was made.

  3. 🙂 Oh, I love them – all expressions, positioning inside the frame, the light – all of it! That first lady – priceless 🙂

  4. I always take the shot because, you are never sure if can get a second shot. Also you have to remember that at the job of taking photos all your shot are not created equal meaning that some will be better than other. Even if you take the time to frame perfectly that does not means that your moving subject will go where you want to go and that you get want you want. A good photo is not just a matter of good technical ability, luck is also a factor

  5. “Take the bloody shot…” that is a good reminder as a photographer. Also, in following with your theme of mano-a-mano” I enjoy your final shot on this post as well ~

  6. It’s interesting how many people are frowning. I catch myself walking along doing the same thing when I’m stressed or preoccupied. Great shots. And I agree, MoneyPenny just needs to take the shot and deal with it later! LOL! Fun take on getting your point across! 😀

  7. I just love the first shot… makes me wonder two things… how people ever survived in the past without phones… and why is that girl not smiling… yeah, if only people smiled more 🙂

    • I remember life without a mobile phone. I didn’t get my first one until my early 30’s. 🙂 Life was simpler back then. 🙂
      Happy to see you back, Alex.

  8. I am so happy to see you blogging again, Lignum. I took a break and I’m still ahem….on the break or should I call it a holiday? Anyway the photos are great as usual. Who wants a perfect shot? As long as the quality is good…I think it’s okay because life is never perfect! Have a great week, Lignum!!!

  9. Hahaha! Need i comment again how your posts always make me smile? 😀 The look on the lady’s face on the first photo is priceless, can’t help but giggle…i think you caught her right after she noticed the socks of the guy standing with his back on the wall XD

The Wood Dragon is listening ...

