3 parts of the self 1

Me Myself I

Sydney August – November 2014 (4 photos)

I sit here by myself
And you know I love it
You know I don’t want someone
To come pay a visit

I wanna be by myself
I came in this world alone
Me myself I
Me myself I
Me myself and I
Just me myself I

“Me Myself I” is the title track to the album of the same name by Joan Armatrading. Released in 1980, the album had Armatrading’s highest ever chart placing. The song was written by Joan Armatrading.

I took the above photo as I walked past that woman. The intricate pattern of her red top caught my eye. It wasn’t until later that I noticed the interplay of the woman, her shadow and her reflection all in the same photo. It made me recall the above song.

Here’s the same photo in black and white. Less immediate visual impact initially, but a lot of detail.

3 parts of the self 2

For some reason, the photo makes me recall the theory of the 3 parts of the self/psyche as defined in Sigmund Freud’s structural model of the psyche.

That is, the id, superego and ego.

These are the three theoretical constructs in terms of whose activity and interaction our mental life is described. According to this model, the id is the set of uncoordinated instinctual trends; the super-ego plays the critical and moralizing role; and the ego is the organized, realistic part that mediates between the desires of the id and the super-ego.

The ego and superego require time to develop fully. Children may function with only 2 parts of the self for quite a while.

3 parts of the self 6

Then again, some people just seem to go through life with only 1 part of the self, fully developed.
Such are the intricacies of life…

the Australian-3

Leica Etcetera, Photography Etcetera, Sony Etcetera

The 3 parts of the self

Image

66 thoughts on “The 3 parts of the self

  1. The id, superego and ego: myself, reflection and shadow. I like it ~ great photos and capture of the reflection…and of course good to know that the big dick is back in town 🙂

  2. I love all these images, Draco, but the first is especially captivating – one’s fragmenting self, definitely something that happens to me when out shopping 🙂

  3. Ah, the girl in B&W is what you intended for my Sunday 🙂 This is really cool cause the reflection in the window is very clear and then there is her shadow between her and her reflection. Amazing result! Have you met Big Dick again? 😉 That old bloke always makes me laugh. :D. I would like to publish this girl on Sunday though I am in love with the photo you sent me the other day.

    • Thank you, Paula. I find it hard to decide between B/W and colour for that one, but I’m glad you like it. You can use both B/W photos I offered you, if you want to. 🙂

      I saw Big Dick a few weeks ago. Got a few more photos. 🙂

  4. I prefer the B&W version, I was surprised that you publish one in color 😉 Have a nice week end ahead, here it is off cause the end of the 2nd war. Hugs

    • I hadn’t done a colour one for a while, so it was time to practice that. 🙂

      The sacrifices that so many made should never be forgotten. The war continued for Australia until the surrender of Japan a few months later. Have a wonderful day and weekend ahead.

  5. Biggus is all ID (but of course)…I do like the B&W conversions – especially in the first image – I totally missed the guy’s reflection in the color shot, but saw him right away in the monochrome version. Nice!

  6. I love your interpretation. Most people only look at the surface of the photo. I like that you see the depth. Also, based on your commentary, I am a little worried that I may have a stunted ego. It would explain much.

  7. The red on her dress really shines in the window reflection, but in B&W I can focus on her face better. I am glad you allowed me to link to both photos 🙂 I would love to see new shots of the “Big Dick”. Is he still wearing the same shirt?

  8. brilliant captures, Lignum… reflections make for fascinating images…
    I noticed the shadow of the woman only in the bw version… but then, the red color is so powerful… no surprise you left it in color 🙂

  9. Great pics. I flicked between the two and agree with you. The colour picture is more dramatic than the black & white which loses some of the distinction you want to make of the Me Myself & I song.

    • Thank you kindly. I read that her songs have been described as “some of the most deeply personal and emotionally naked … of our times”. Today’s song lyrics don’t come close.

  10. La prima foto e’straordinaria per me.
    Dal punto di vista estetico , naturalmente, e per il significato Freudiano che le si puo dare….
    Complimenti!
    Visto che capisci l’italiano , ne ho approfittato……..

  11. I think I almost always prefer your b&w shots for the attention to detail they allow. Less temptation to yell “Shiny!” and go wandering off.
    (Okay…the reflection between the woman and her own reflection. A random thought floating about in her mind?)

  12. I think the color version is more powerful when the focus is on the connection of the woman with her reflection, on the b&w the detail is indeed amazing but the lack of the red color makes it weaker in my opinion! Hey Biggus is back!!! 😀 Hehehe, what a guy… We have a quote in Greece that goes like this: When you hear of many cherries, hold a small basket…I’m sure that applies to people like him! 😛

  13. I do love that old man’s sweatshirt, and I think you’ve had images of him wearing that before – can’t fail to laugh over that one. Old age is not really desirable, but getting the point where you don’t give a …… what anyone thinks about what you’re wearing – that’s quite appealing!!! 😀

    I love the reflected images, they work really well, especially the woman wearing red, and the boots in the window almost tell an ongoing story. What a pity they were not a beautiful pair of high-heeled shoes. That might have inspired a short story if they had! 🙂 The little boy – he remind me of my brother when he was a boy looking at models and toy soldiers like they were the only important thing on the planet. Can’t quite see what he is looking at though. Obviously something he’d like to have!

    Apologies for being so late getting round to your posts, was hoping to finish up before I take a break a lot sooner, but have a had a bit of crazy week. I shall get to my break – the real break very soon! 😉

    • I’ve photographed him several times, in different seasons, and the only thing he changes is his sweatshirt slogan. I watched him walking the street, at a cafe, and getting on a bus. Everyone else seems to ignore him.

      I also wished they were a pair of high heels in that window. 🙂 Actually, the boy is looking at a scale replica of toy soldiers, so you were right.

      Have a restful break. 🙂

The Wood Dragon is listening ...

