2014-11-23_0931

Vivid 2015 16

Sydney May – June 2015 (12 photos). This is part 3 of 9 of my VIVID Sydney 2015 series.

VIVID Sydney is now on for another 5 nights. For this post we continue on the way towards the Sydney Opera House from where we left off in the previous post. From the base of the Sydney Harbour Bridge we make a small detour into the area of The Rocks historic district.

Vivid 2015 17

Tae Gon Kim’s ethereal work The Dresses shapes hundreds of fibre-optic strands into the form of three beautiful and extravagant dresses. Suspended in darkness, the dresses appear as apparitions, shimmering from the realms of fantasy. Slowly, the illuminated optical fibre in each dress changes colour, symbolising its history and transformation over time. In creating the work, the artist was inspired by the writing of French literary theorist and philosopher Roland Barthes.

Vivid 2015 18

As I looked down this laneway, I thought I was seeing ghosts. These were perfectly positioned in this narrow laneway. I lingered here for quite a while.

Vivid 2015 20

Monster World by Dune is a portal into another realm – an alternative dimension inhabited by a curious collection of creatures. As people approach the installation, digital ‘monsters’ curiously follow their movements, occasionally mimicking their gestures in surprising and delightful ways. If participants wave or dance, the monsters may decide to wave back or do a dance of their own. When more people approach, new monsters appear from the colourful ether, bringing about a charming party of moving and dancing forms.

Vivid 2015 21

For me, this was the “feel-good” installation of the entire festival. I waved and they waved back at me. I moved to the side and they all followed. I jumped and so did they. I wonder if they had tears in their eyes when I walked away – I know I did.

Vivid 2015 19

Ayla by Steensen Varming is a serene image of the moon projected on a giant scale and surrounded by an ecliptical halo of light. Every night the image changes to reflect the phases of the moon. The installation is dedicated to the artist’s daughter Ayla and explores the capabilities of projection and lighting technology. Special perimeter lighting creates the soft halo effect, and a futuristic soundscape is produced using a minimalist yet mellow composition.

Vivid 2015 26a

BBC Earth’s Life Story installation features the flowing natural imagery of bird, marine and animal life originally filmed by the BBC Natural History Unit for its epic television series Life Story. The BBC Earth’s Life Story installation transforms the vaulted roof of the Argyle Cut with projected ‘fractals’ which create a vast, never-ending pattern of textures, colours and intertwined shapes. It explores themes of birth and life in one continual and seamless projection, perfectly framed by the cavernous rock surface of the Cut, and is narrated by Sir David Attenborough.

Vivid 2015 25

Vivid 2015 15

Last year, my friend the Intel Robot made an appearance. Sadly he became obsolete after 2 weeks, and so they replaced with the more traditional ice queens and scary clowns.

Vivid 2015 14

We return now to the water’s edge.

Vivid 2015 22

Submerged by Sinclair Park illuminates the harbour waters around Campbell’s Cove jetty. The effect of light shining from under the water against the half-darkness and the silhouetted form of the jetty is mysterious and luminous. The artist’s aim is to bring awareness to viewers on the surface of the ‘unknowable void’ of the submerged.

We are now in sight of the Sydney Opera House, and this will feature in my next post. In case you were in any doubt about where you are…

Vivid 2015 23

You Are Here by Hammer lighting is a well-known phrase brought to life as a Light Art installation. The now ubiquitous selfie station has arrived at VIVID.

This is part 3 of my 9 part VIVID Sydney 2015 series.

All my photography from this and previous years of VIVID Sydney going back to 2012 can be found here.

Photography Etcetera, Sony Etcetera

VIVID Randomness 2015 (3)

Image

75 thoughts on “VIVID Randomness 2015 (3)

    • It was hidden down a small lane. I had to ask one of the volunteers where “number 31” on my map was in order to find it. You’ll have to go back before it ends. 🙂

  1. Amazing night shots. Brilliant. Very game of you to wave back at the ghosts. They probably liked having their picture taken and took a liking to you. Yes, they indeed were holding back tears as you disappeared into the night 🙂

  2. hello woody dragon,
    this event was also covered on our local radio station recently. they ran a contest with Sydney air tickets up for grabs. truly international event. i can feel excitement from viewing your photos, hope to photograph it one day while it is still around.
    best regards,
    ken

  3. I can’t take my eyes off of moon. Then I love the vaulted roof and then the dresses. You must have been there for hours. Great fun and spectacular night shots. What music did they play there I wonder.

    • I visited for hours over a few different nights. 🙂 There’s a lot to see, and some things are better with crowds, and others aren’t. I didn’t recognise the instrumental music they played at the moon.

  4. oh, my, I think I want the blue dress … magical!!
    and I like the scary clowns too.. not so scary to me… and make for a good photo 🙂
    I’m enjoying this series very much, Lignum.. keep it goin 🙂

  5. Hi, thank you for stop by my blog and for the like to my Seagulls photo! Is my first time here your photos are beautiful is like I am travelling and I am in Sidney I always wanted t visit it…Great photos! I am a follower now 🙂

  6. maamej says:

    It looks particularly good this year. I took the kids to the Light exhibition at the MCA a few weeks ago & that was wonderful, but a health problem is preventing me from getting to the rest of it, so I’m grateful for your pics.

  7. I so love this entire series and wish I could see it in person..but your photos are certainly the next best thing to being there! Beautiful and amazing!

    • Thank you very much, Carolina. I truly appreciate it, but I decided from day 1 that I would not accept awards and just keep to the photography. However, in appreciation, I have linked to your award and your blog on my Award Nominations page, and I recommend people to visit you. I hope you understand.

      • No problem I know that you dont accept awards I saw your page and I respect your decision. Thank you! I am sure I will do the same later on down the way. Thank you very much for the link I appreciate it 🙂 I just wanted you to know that the award is well deserved for you, and also if you don’t partecipate it still yours.

  8. The first three ‘Ghost Bride’ – as I’d like to call it (the artist might not agree) are my favourite!!!
    Great images! Thank you for sharing!!

    Vivienne X

  9. Just love those light dresses – such a brilliant idea! And it is like seeing ghosts. I was intending on visiting some other blogs tonight, but kind of got stuck on yours – really enjoying what I missed while away for a while! 🙂

I am currently overseas on holidays. Please leave your comment and I will reply to you when I can.

