Disconnected-2

Sydney July 2015 (3 photos)

Hello. How are you?
Have you been alright?
Through all those lonely, lonely, lonely, lonely, lonely nights.
That’s what I’d say. I’d tell you everything.
If you’d pick up that telephone… yeah yeah yeah

Hey. How you feeling?
Are you still the same?
Don’t you realize the things we did, we did
Were all for real, not a dream? I just can’t believe
They’ve all faded out of view… yeah yeah yeah

Doowop dooby doo doowop, doowah doolang
Blue days, black nights, doowah doolang

I look into the sky.
(The love you need ain’t gonna see you through)
And I wonder why.
(The little things you planned ain’t coming true)

Oh oh, telephone line, give me some time.
I’m living in twilight.
Oh oh, telephone line, give me some time.
I’m living in twilight.

Disconnected

Okay, so no one’s answering.
Well, can’t you just let it ring a little longer, longer, longer, oh
I’ll just sit tight through shadows of the night.
But let it ring for evermore, oh oh, yeah yeah yeah …

Telephone line by Electric Light Orchestra (“ELO”) is from their 1976 album, A New World Record. To get the American telephone sound at the beginning, they phoned from England to America to a number that they knew nobody would be at, to just listen to it for a while. On the Moog they recreated the sound by tuning the oscillators to the same notes as the ringing of the phone.

I’ve been disconnected. It’s been more than a month since my previous post, completing my VIVID Sydney 2015 series, including 31 photos in the finale post. And now it’s time to reconnect. There’s nothing like some interesting Street Art to get the inspiration flowing again for a street photographer.

Disconnected-3

Leica Etcetera, Photography Etcetera

You’ve been disconnected

Image

90 thoughts on “You’ve been disconnected

  1. Beautiful street photography, Dragon. I really like the first one with the man holding the phone away from his face. Great contrast with the art on the wall: we use phones so differently these days, and phones have evolved so much that they really aren’t just phones anymore. Welcome back πŸ™‚

  2. Well that takes me back! I hadn’t realised how much ELO sounded like the Bee Gees! All that falsetto stuff going on in the ’70s! Enough to drive a girl to the Blues…
    Lovely to see you again LD with a terrific new post and thanks for the memories. I think. πŸ˜‰
    Jude xx

    • Looking back always reveals things you didn’t notice, living through it. πŸ™‚
      Lots of good street art in this region, and cafes to match. It was a good day to get back into street photography.

  3. Welcome back. The summer is long and photos need to be captured before the moment is gone. (At least, it’s summer here. Not sure what’s happening in Sydney, to be honest.)

  4. M-R says:

    I was wondering, alright, LD … Thank goodness you’re back, giving this Sydneysider pictures of her own town that delight her ! πŸ™‚

  5. ELO …. now you are taking me back memory lane. Oh for the music of the 70’s and 80’s …. there just is not anything like it anymore. As for your street art …. fantastic and looking forward for more of it!!!
    I really appreciate your help, Draco, with WP. My next post I am going back to summary as I had it and this time I hope my pictures are seen in the reader. This new reader my pics were not showing, so support told me to do full text. Now I am going back to the way I had it before ….. ❀

    • Thank you kindly. Although perhaps the past does get a bit romanticised in our memories. πŸ™‚

      Apply the change now and it applies to all your posts in the reader. Just scroll back in the reader until you come to your most recent post and you will see if it works or not. It should.

  6. Glad you’re back and I 100% understand wandering away for a bit–I just did that. These are cool pieces and I’m glad you shared them in color–good idea. Question: is that a door to the lav on her center?

      • I thought so. I have been meaning to go there, I think it would be a great place for street photography…and it is as you have shown. Did you get anything good at the camera store?

        • It’s particularly good for street art. The store didn’t have what I wanted but there were a lot of good things there. Google “Smile Please Newtown” to see the store.

  7. Draco, your suggestion worked!!! THANK YOU!!!! These so called Happiness Engineers do not have a clue. I am so thankful for those within WP who have figured out what to do with the new reader. Bless you for your help!!! Love, Amy ❀

  8. Welcome back! How do you know I was thinking of you? πŸ˜‰ I am trying to gather some info. I wonder, in your opinion, what is must-see things in Sydney. My friend and I are thinking of visiting NZ, and we thought we might as well stop at Sydney for a couple of days. Thanks in advance.

  9. Cool street art. I was wondering if it was graffiti or legal street art, but I see you provided an answer in an earlier response.
    It’s good to see you back. The blog bug (for me more the photography bug) leaving me for a while, is the reason I mostly post every other week. I am often amazed some manage to post as often as they do. πŸ™‚

    • Thanks. This inner city area promotes the street art for tourism. I’ll go back in a few months. No doubt some new art will appear over the old ones.
      I agree with you. I don’t have the time or energy to post daily. That’s like a having a second job.

  10. Hiya! Welcome back Draco. And thank you for coming back. You and your photos have been missed πŸ™‚

    I’m always fascinated by street art. Did you take this during the Perfect Match event over the weekend?

    • Thanks, Sandy. This was in Newtown. I was “sampling” the local cafes and took photos in between. πŸ™‚

      That’s the first I’ve heard of Perfect Match. I just googled it. Hopefully all the street art will still be up – I might take a look on Friday as I have a day off. πŸ™‚

  11. I remember that song very well, and all the others too! My brother and I adored ELO, and we still do! πŸ˜€ I never thought how they got that telephone sound. So many sound effects available today can’t imagine anyone needing to do that now. You had use your inventive side in those days!

    I love your street art! I’m quite a fan of street art, and I’ve never seen that one before. I wish my street had that kind of art!!

    Just wondering if I can link this to my Street Art board on Pinterest? I know some artist and photographers are not so happy with their creative work ending up on Pinterest, so if you’d rather not, then say no, it’s no problem. You do get a direct link back to your blog, so at least the credit goes back to you. πŸ™‚

    • You’re absolutely correct about the sound effects. Everything is available or produced via computer now. It’s too easy.

      You are very welcome to link the post or photos to your Pinterest board. It’s no problem at all. I think there’s a Pinterest link button at the bottom of all of my posts.

    • We all need our breaks – blogging seems like a second job sometimes. πŸ™‚

      This one was by a guy who was been commissioned to do wall murals in several countries. I’ll have more from him later.

  12. Great tune, great images. I follow you…how your mind is connected to music and lyrics that seemed trapped in a vault in the brain. It’s a sort of beautiful madness.

  13. Pingback: We didn’t start the fire | Etcetera Etcetera Etcetera

  14. Pingback: Meanwhile back in Penny Lane | Etcetera Etcetera Etcetera

The Wood Dragon is listening ...

