Dead men tell no tales 8

Sydney October 2014 – March 2015 (7 photos)

Is this the real life?
Is this just fantasy?
Caught in a landslide.
No escape from reality.

Open your eyes.
Look up to the skies and see.
I’m just a poor boy, I need no sympathy.
Because I’m easy come, easy go.
Little high, little low.

Anyway the wind blows, doesn’t really matter to me…

“Bohemian Rhapsody” is a song by the British rock band Queen. It was written by Freddie Mercury for the band’s 1975 studio album A Night at the Opera. The song consists of several sections: a ballad segment ending with a guitar solo, an operatic passage, and a hard rock section. It remains one of Queen’s most popular songs and is frequently placed on modern lists of the greatest songs of all time.

Dead men tell no tales 6

I was out walking along the coastal boardwalk next to the cemetery in October 2014. An interesting place for photography.

Above: Looking South. Below: Looking North.

Dead men tell no tales 9

I stepped back to take this photo to include the road sign.

Dead men tell no tales 7

“Dead Mans Bend”

I went back in March 2015 for some more photos.

Dead men tell no tales 1

Actually, I wanted to know if my eyes were deceiving me with fantasy before, or if it was really there. I took this photo again.

Dead men tell no tales 2

Yes, it was really there.

Do you see it?

Dead men tell no tales 3

“The Scream”

I see a little silhouetto of a man.
Scaramouch, scaramouch, will you do the fandango?
Thunderbolt and lightning very very frightening me.
Gallileo, Gallileo,
Gallileo, Gallileo,
Gallileo, Figaro – magnifico

Dead men tell no tales. Or do they?

Creepy, huh?

Leica Etcetera, Photography Etcetera

Is this the real life?

Image

72 thoughts on “Is this the real life?

    • Thank you very much. I wondered who put all those stickers there, and why? And why that face was painted on the sign? But then passers-by were probably wondering why I was taking all those photos. Some questions are best left unanswered.

  1. Love this song of Queens, and I think it my favorite too because of this different kind of rythm and style in one, it is a perform to include opera in a pop/rock music and only them and Muse are able to do that 🙂 Superb pictures as always and to tell this story just by a little torn sticker, I like this. I spend a long time to look at this road sign, we can see a lot of thing in, but i have a question, the painting (if it is one) is under the white arrows? Hugs my dear

    • Thank you, Sophie. The sticker in the first photo reminded me of the song, and then my imagination took over. 🙂

      Yes, it looks like a painting of a white face in the middle of the sign, between the 2 middle arrows. Kind of like the grim reaper?

  2. Great shots, Dragon! Like the 2nd and 3rd especially. Is this where you took the photo of “You and me against the world”? Yea, I remember that one. 🙂

  3. I found myself singing along to the lyrics as soon as the post came up. Wonderful photos. I like the one of the stray cross. It looks quite mysterious like that, lying on its side, almost abandoned but you know that can’t be.

  4. Creepy and amazing. I had to go back for a second look at the first photo, well seen. I love that song and don’t mind that it is on an endless circle in my mind…

  5. First image is just briliant, honestly, it’s something I’d hang on my wall… brilliant perspective on both the words and the stairs… !!

    it took me a while to see The Scream… yes, definitely creepy, Lignum… you have quite an imagination to see it, wow… !!

  6. I can see that Scream!! How odd it ended up there! 😉 It’s funny the things our mind can see in various shapes. I even remember seeing what looked like a Jesus figure just like the Tourin Shroud in a tea stain on a plastic kitchen bin lid – hilarious!! I’ve always jokingly said that shroud was probably made with tea stains anyway.

    I had a similar scary image appeared in a picture I took of the cemetery near where I live. In the centre of that Victorian cemetery there’s a stairway cut into a hill, and I can clearly see a white smoky looking skull image on one of the steps. Very spooky indeed. And I’m not even someone who believes in ghosts!

  7. That is trippy. Brilliant song to go with the images, too.

    I’ve been cut off from the internet for 2 weeks, hence my absence. I’m slowly catching up with posts. This one is a good start. 🙂

  8. Pingback: I want to break free | Etcetera Etcetera Etcetera

  9. Pingback: I want to ride my bicycle | Etcetera Etcetera Etcetera

The Wood Dragon is listening ...

