background 3

Secret agent man 8

Sydney July – August 2015 (8 photos)

A few times now, I have been asked how I do my candid street photos without being noticed. Well, it’s quite simple.
I am a Secret Agent Man.
And I went to Secret Agent School.

Secret agent man 2

Where I excelled in the art and craft of disguise. When I want to, I can effortlessly become a ghost; indistinguishable from my surroundings. Invisible to whom I choose.

Secret agent man 5

I learnt to develop quick reflexes and aim on rapidly moving targets as a survival tool.
(Note: Don’t expect seagull photography to become a feature of this blog)

Secret agent man 4

We were taught how to recognise Megalomaniacs and other baddies, and infiltrate their organisations, all whilst casually drinking a martini. Hint: Megalomaniacs love to walk with large scale models of their intended conquest beneath their feet whilst laughing menacingly and deliberately.

Secret agent man 9

At Secret Agent School, I was trained in over 100 modes of armed and un-armed combat. I fear no-one, not even the scariest and angriest of assailants. My weapon of choice is an M9.

Secret agent man 6

The ability to infiltrate and bypass complex security networks undetected is now second nature to me.

Secret agent man 1

These valuable skills have given me the ability to survive being discovered by those who seek me out. I have no problem getting close to my targets, remaining invisible and escaping without fear of being noticed.

Secret agent man 7

Why did I become a secret agent? Because saving the world never goes out of style.
One day, they might make a movie about me. They’ve already written the song:

There’s a man who leads a life of danger
To everyone he meets he stays a stranger
With every move he makes another chance he takes
Odds are he won’t live to see tomorrow

Secret agent man, secret agent man
They’ve given you a number and taken away your name

“Secret Agent Man” is a song written by PF Sloan and Steve Barri. The most famous recording of the song was made by Johnny Rivers for the opening titles of the American broadcast of the British spy series Danger Man, which aired in the U.S. as Secret Agent from 1964 to 1966.

The above are selected photos from a couple of good days out with the camera, reaffirming the value of an almond croissant and cappuccino to the creative process. Candid photography is like a box of chocolates. You never know what you’re gonna get.

Leica Etcetera, Photography Etcetera, Sony Etcetera

Secret Agent Man

Image

87 thoughts on “Secret Agent Man

  1. Two notes>:
    The pics are absolutely wonderful!!! (with capital letters)!!!! And the text is terrific!!!!I really wonder if you think all that when you are in the street….I bet you have a great time with yourself!!!! May be the way to recognize you should be to discover someone with a smile on the face, like hidding a secret…
    Second…Glad you put the link to the song…I really wanted to listen to it! Love the way they dance! 🙂

    • Thank you. It’s funny you should say that, because sometimes a title or song comes immediately into my head after taking a photo, and then I do let out a very big smile. 🙂
      I had to include the song. Not many would remember that one. That was very hip hop dancing for those days, I guess. 🙂

  2. Didn’t know candid street photography can be this exciting. 🙂 The guy on the second photo is so cool. Great street shots, Dragon! 🙂

  3. I’ve always thought you were a secret agent…haha!!! You’d have to be with skills like yours! 😉

    You nearly fooled me with the model city beneath those feet. But I had a feeling something about those buildings wasn’t quite right. Great illusion!

    And why not seagulls? They look nice in photography. And I’m sure they won’t mind being featured here! 😀

    I’ve never heard of Secret Agent Man song. The beginning sounded a bit like James Bond. Any connection to James Bond?

    • Thank you, Suzy. 🙂 My martini drinking skills are legendary. 🙂 The city scale model is in the floor of the City of Sydney Library. I’m not sure when it was last updated, but I do like walking over it, as does almost everyone who goes there. They even have a couple of “egg style” chairs which always reminds me of Dr Evil from the Austin Powers movies. He would have been very much at home there. 🙂

      A lot of spy based movies, tv shows and songs came out in the 60’s. I guess they all “borrowed” from each other. The beginning does sound very much like the Bond theme.

  4. Ha ha! Such fun LD! I have so much catching up to do on your site. Hope you’ve been well.
    So, is your disguise glasses like Clark Kent? 😜
    Another great photo in your signature style.

  5. KG says:

    Loved the seagull (even though I don’t like them that much). You are indeed very very sneaky.. You know I half expected your reflection in the picture of ‘The Man from UNCLE’ 😀

  6. hello woody dragon,
    i really enjoyed this.
    from what you have shown, you know exactly what you are gonna to get.
    darn, you are probably the deadliest ‘sharpshooter’ secret agent there is.
    you always get your man or a bird 😉
    regards, ken

  7. and your martini will always be stirred and never shaken (scratching head!!!) maybe that was shaken and never stirred… I think I need to see that movie again Mr Bond….

  8. Well, that was great fun. We all appreciate your sharing this background on your training and skills, LD.
    Nice capture of the totally engrossed phone guy with the “Security” lanyard–smooooth one. Guess we know who won THAT match. 🙂

  9. Pingback: “Priceless” | Etcetera Etcetera Etcetera

  10. I must admit i was also hearing the 007 theme playing in a corner of my mind while i was enjoying this post 😀 Isn’t there a code at the Secret Agent School, like “Never talk about Secret Agent School?”… Now everybody wants to enroll, myself included! 😛 An awesome post as always!

  11. You visited my blog and left a comment about my portraits. After seeing your blog and your outstanding work, I am even more grateful for your visit and the encouraging compliment you left there. I am just an amateur and that means a lot to me. Thanks.
    This post was a pleasure to read because it resonated with me. I do the same while walking in the streets of Amsterdam, because I love spontaneous shots. Most of my portraits are done in this way.

    • Thank you. It’s nice to meet a kindred spirit. I much prefer spontaneous facial expressions and behaviour. It’s a nice record of daily life. I’ve not been, but I believe that Amsterdam would be an amazing place for street photography.

      • We might really be kindred spirits. We think definitely alike, though you’re a dragon and I’m a metal ox!
        When I read how you and why you like street photography, it felt like someone was reading my mind.
        Amsterdam is great for street photography because it’s always packed with tourists, so there is an abundance of subjects, of all nationalities, shapes, colors, etc. there is less risk to be caught making spontaneous shots because no one pays attention to someone carrying a camera. Everyone has one!

I am currently at a conference/workshop. Please leave your comment and I'll reply to you when I can.

