Thelma and Louise 1

Sydney July 2015 (2 photos)

“Hey Thelma! Look at what I can do with my new phone. It’s got a camera in it. They call this a selfie. It’s what the young people do all the time. I feel so crazy. Isn’t technology wonderful?”

Thelma and Louise 2

“That’s priceless, Louise. You’ve always been crazy. This is just the first chance you’ve had to express yourself.”

Busfare into the city: $3

Lunch for 2: $32

New phone: $780

Taking your first selfie and sharing some fun with your best friend: Priceless.

I’m guessing that was a good day for those two ladies, meeting up in the city for some lunch and some laughs. It definitely was a good day for me, getting these shots. Actually, I don’t usually double back and shoot the same people twice, but I’m glad I did it this time. The photos aren’t perfectly focussed, but I still like the story these two photos tell as a set.

Both photos taken whilst I was walking. Manual focus set at a daringly short 1.5 metres with a 40mm focal length prime lens. A bit too close I think, but another exercise in being a Secret Agent Man, as I mentioned in my previous post.

Photography Etcetera, Sony Etcetera

“Priceless”

Image

73 thoughts on ““Priceless”

    • Thank you. The QVB building was built during a recession. The elaborate Romanesque architecture was specially planned for the grand building so the Government could employ many out-of-work craftsmen in a worthwhile project. I’m grateful to these 2 women for putting on a small show for me. πŸ™‚

  1. gosh, now I feel old, cuz I don’t have a selfie mode on my phone lol πŸ™‚

    great idea to take two pictures to tell the story here, Lignum, one for selfie and one for the reaction of the other lady…

  2. KG says:

    Good one πŸ˜€
    I try so much to take a good selfie, but it always ends up with me saying ‘twooo’. (awkward pic!) I hope these ladies got it right πŸ˜‰

  3. I also adore their expressions! Gorgeous post. I keep scrolling back and forth between the two shots. Each time, it makes me smile! ~Theadora (I also dig the carpeting. It works so well with scarf. Bravo!!)

  4. A great day, a great post, Dragon. We traveled in China in 2013, two 72 yrs young ladies (fr England) were in the tour group. They both used iPad the entire time, had never used a PC before. πŸ™‚
    1.5 meters! Scary…

    • Thanks, Amy. That’s great to hear. Often when I’m in the Apple Store and passing by those learning sessions, half or more would be people in their 60s and above. I think that’s great. πŸ™‚

      • I was away from my PC this morning, had to viewed the photos via my iPhone this morning. Now I can see the photos much better. Great captures!
        New phone $780, really?? with or without the carrier service fee?

        • Thanks for coming back, Amy. The cost is just a ballpark figure. Everything’s more expensive here, and the Australian Dollar is weakening compared to the US Dollar now.

  5. M-R says:

    Yep – a good time was definitely being had, LD; and so much the better am I for seeing it. πŸ™‚
    Only thing: why one wants one of those hideous smartphones is beyond me – I can’t imagine that she gets around as much as to justify it. Just disgustingly expensive technology that can’t be justified.
    Still, long as she likes it (but I wonder how long before it starts to drive her bonkers …?)
    More doubling back, perhaps, me old china ?

    • Thank you, M-R. The risk of doubling back is being noticed, but if I see something worthy I’m not adverse to doing it, or even circling around for a second pass. πŸ™‚

      These phones keep getting more and more advanced. Do they even sell a basic version anymore? Probably not.

      • I last purchased a mobile for calls (occasional) and SMSs (frequent) about 4 years ago, and I couldn’t get one without a camera. The ridiculous part is that the ‘photos’ are of appalling quality, and one is unable to do ANYTHING with ’em except hoard ’em.

  6. Priceless indeed πŸ˜€ What a sweet moment to capture! The smile on that lady’s face could brighten anybody’s day! πŸ˜€ Certainly did brighten up my day! Thank you!

  7. Beautiful photos! Glad you captured the two photos to tell the story and to show the laughter on the other woman’s face after seeing her friends first selfie!

  8. Ooooh you secret agent man!! πŸ˜‰ You’ve certainly given me a good education on watching out for that unnoticed snapper walking by! πŸ˜€ I was just thinking though, I’m not sure I’d be so thrilled if this was me with my friend on a blog, but…. having said that, it’s actually a very lovely picture, and maybe if they knew, they would be thrilled with someone having taken that joyful snapshot of their friendship, it’s quite lovely. It might be quite nice to hire someone like yourself to discreetly accompany me and my friend on our shopping trips, the results could be fascinating. Has anyone ever asked you to do that?

    I got a new phone recently, finally went android. I know…I’m very slow on these things! Been messing around taking selfies, and it’s been very interesting to look at my real self instead of those dreadful family ‘all smile together’ photos where no-one is really being themselves. Have you taken any selfies lately?

The Wood Dragon is listening ...

