Hello, Dali

Sydney January – August 2015 (5 photos)

Hello, Dali!
This is Draco, Dali.
It’s so nice to see you here in Sydney town.
You’re lookin’ swell, Dali.
I thought you “weren’t well”, Dali.
You’re still glowin’
You’re still crowin’
You’re still goin’ strong.

“Hello, Dolly!” is the title song of the 1964 musical of the same name. The music and lyrics were written by Jerry Herman. It was first sung by Carol Channing, who starred as Dolly Gallagher Levi in the original 1964 Broadway cast. In December 1963, at the behest of his manager, Louis Armstrong made a demonstration recording of “Hello, Dolly!” for the song’s publisher to use to promote the show. It became the most successful single of Armstrong’s career, followed by a gold-selling album of the same name. Louis Armstrong also performed the song (together with Barbra Streisand) in the 1969 film Hello, Dolly!. Louis Armstrong’s version was inducted in the Grammy Hall of Fame in 2001.

I'll make you famous 2

I was in the city when I came across this gentleman, dressed in a green suit and white panama hat, with a moustache resembling the surrealist painter, Salvador Dali (1904 – 1989) . No-one else seemed to notice him, but I did, so I went in for the photo in my usual fashion. A bit later he was still there, so I took another shot from a different angle.

Recently, I’ve come across the street mural art of Daniel O’Toole, also known as “Ears”, a multi-disciplinary artist working in sound, painting, video and photography. To me, his work seems a little influenced by Pablo Picasso, whose work was an influence for Salvador Dali.

Ears 1

Somewhere in Surry Hills

Ears 2

On the side of a private home in Newtown.

Plenty of angles here.

Ears 4

Leica Etcetera, Photography Etcetera, Sony Etcetera

Hello, Dali!

Image

71 thoughts on “Hello, Dali!

  1. Brilliant set of shots again. The man in the panama hat looked like he was there to enjoy the sunshine – looked like a nice sunny day in the city. You certainly captured him pondering mid-thought in the second shot…probably not thinking about you, unfortunately πŸ˜‰

  2. Cool images as always, but what I was waiting for were the lyrics of ‘Arnold Layne’ by Pink Floyd following your first ‘Ears’ mural. I think you missed a trick there πŸ™‚

  3. oh, wow, he looks like Dali, no doubt about it, and I think he knows it… look at that moustache, so dandy πŸ™‚
    great eye, Lignum, you’ve spotted him well… πŸ™‚ love the second image, with the cigar and that pensive look on his face… the street art are a nice addition to the story…

  4. M-R says:

    The bloke actually LOOKS like Dali, LD – I mean, not just his moustache … He probably calls himself ‘art memory’, or summat …
    That’s great street art mate !!!

  5. Well caught and a good play on words. Think those tashes might be coming back in fashion. I’ve seen more than the odd one recently. But I think you need a certain aplomb to pull it off.

  6. I’m sure “Dali” would be very flattered if you asked him to pose, after all he looks as though he is posing, in fact I think he is “on to you” and has put the pensive little touch to the chin pose especially for you. The street art of “Ears” is true art. Do you think he was commissioned by the home owners?

  7. Draco this is hilarious about Dali reincarnation…LOL And I like your descriptions through the whole post! I will add that yes the mural can refer to the “Cubism” it was one of the most influential visual art styles of the early twentieth century. It was created by Pablo Picasso (Spanish, 1881–1973) and Georges Braque (French, 1882–1963) in Paris between 1907 and 1914.
    Great job Draco on capturing the allure of all this! πŸ™‚

  8. Great capture – you have the art of the candid shot and the smile/look of life…and as kids me and my sisters use to sing ‘Hello Dolly’ to my Grandpa, great happy memory.

  9. Love your reworking of those lyrics! And yes, I remember Carol Channing singing Hello Dolly. He really has styled himself of Dali! Do you think he does that, so secret agent men like yourself can feature him on their websites? πŸ˜€ If he was dressed as his plain self he wouldn’t get nearly as much attention. On the other hand….maybe it is…. Dali. That’s a spooked out thought for the day! πŸ˜‰

    The murals do make those otherwise plain grey walls very cheerful indeed. I live in a house with an end wall seen from the pavement….mm…you’ve given me a great idea. Not sure my landlord would be so thrilled at the result!

    • I think people dressed like this want to be noticed, yet often people will deliberately ignore them. It’s a paradox. I’m hoping he’s not the real Dali, otherwise I’ve just photographed a ghost. πŸ™‚

      You could try painting your wall like this, but I suspect the landlord might have the final word. πŸ™‚

The Wood Dragon is listening ...

