Penny Lane 10

Sydney August – September 2015 (9 photos)

In Penny Lane there is a barber showing photographs
Of every head he’s had the pleasure to know
And all the people that come and go
Stop and say hello

Penny Lane 3

On the corner is a banker with a motor car
The little children laugh at him behind his back
And the banker never wears a mack in the pouring rain
Very strange

Penny Lane 6

Penny Lane is in my ears and in my eyes
There beneath the blue suburban skies
I sit and meanwhile back in

Penny Lane 8

Penny Lane there is a fireman with an hourglass
And in his pocket is a portrait of the Queen
He likes to keep his fire engine clean
It’s a clean machine

Penny Lane 9

… Penny Lane is in my ears and in my eyes
There beneath the blue suburban skies
Penny Lane

Penny Lane 7

“Penny Lane” is a 1967 song by The Beatles. It was written by Paul McCartney but credited to the Lennon–McCartney songwriting partnership. The song was created in response to John Lennon’s “Strawberry Fields Forever”. The song’s title is derived from the name of a street near Lennon’s childhood home for his first five years, in the band’s hometown, Liverpool, England. McCartney and Lennon would meet at Penny Lane junction to catch a bus into the centre of the city. During the 1960s, this was a significant bus terminus for several routes, and buses with “Penny Lane” displayed were common throughout Liverpool. Penny Lane is believed to be named after James Penny, an 18th-century slave trader.

Penny Lane 4

“Cow and Moon”

Here, one finds the Cow and Moon gelato store. Sydney’s Cow and Moon took out the Gelato World Tour title in Rimini, Italy, 2014. The family-run gelato and coffee bar won the competition for their almond affogato flavour, a re-creation of the classic affogato. After placing second in the Oceania category in 2013, Cow and Moon went on to beat 23 other finalists from around the world in a combination of technical judging and public votes. Second and third places went to two Italian teams: Francesco Mastroianni of Il Cantagalli won second place and Alessandro Lancierini of Gelateria Fiore placed third.

http://www.gelatoworldtour.com/artisan-gelato-makers/participants/rimini-gelato-artisans/

I personally tasted a trio of their affogato, bella chocolate and balsamic strawberry gelati in a medium sized cup for $6.50. Just like the cow, I was over the moon about the flavours. Winter is a great season to eat gelato – it doesn’t melt as quickly.

Penny Lane 5

“Conditions Apply”

By now you’ve guessed this isn’t really Penny Lane. I was in this area on the advice of my friend, the “Foodie Queen”. Naturally enough, when I saw the shop in the first photo, the song title came into my mind immediately. And later when the fireman came into view, I was on a roll. These photos are all connected by the fact of me standing on Enmore Road, Enmore as I took them.

For ages, the great Australian Dream has been home ownership. The mural in the second photo depicting a house floating away from the burdened couple, shows this dream is now out of reach for many in this modern age. It was painted by Fintan Magee. I’ve featured some of his other works in:

We didn’t start the fire
You’ve been disconnected

Penny Lane 2

“No Shit”

I did a double take when I saw the road sign above. I like how all the garbage bins and rubbish are on the left side of the sign, as if in strict obeyance of the signage. And that’s no …

Leica Etcetera, Photography Etcetera

Meanwhile back in Penny Lane

Image

74 thoughts on “Meanwhile back in Penny Lane

  1. maamej says:

    I always liked that song, thanks for the history to it. Cow and moon do a delectable fig and walnut Gelato. Interesting to see my neighborhood in black & white for a change.

    • I was sent to Shenkin Kitchen to eat their Shakshuka baked eggs and it was worth the trip. I was supposed to go to the Turkish ice cream parlour afterwards but came across Cow and Moon first. I will have to go back (again) for the fig and walnut flavour which sounds divine.

      If not for the street art, B&W would seem a perfect match for Enmore photography, particularly for one who knew the area in the 60s. πŸ™‚

  2. What a splendid creation, Draco – so many layers interleaved – the song lyrics, the pix. That first shot is extraordinary – all those possible stories…What a good eye you have.

  3. Just as I was getting to the last few paras which explained it all, I wondered whether you had the song in your head & went out to get pics, or whether you were wandering randomly and saw the images for the stanzas sitting around you. Good one. I love the first pic of the client photos in window. I’m trying to think about whether it would make me want to go in if I was a potential new customer.

  4. Thanks for the delightful stroll. You always choose the perfect songs to go with the photos. Do they pop into your head as you’re strolling, shooting, eating gelato? πŸ˜‰

    • The shop window brought the song instantly to mind. Then the song was stuck in my head. Later when I saw the fireman, I knew I had to get the photo and then I took a few more street shots. Contented, I ate some gelato. πŸ™‚ I think I’ll go back for more gelato later.

  5. Tish said so well about your post. Enjoy reading about the song, your photos made exactly for the song, but you said that you thought of the song after shooting the first phone. πŸ™‚ Interweaving of the photos, song, stories is just brilliant! πŸ™‚ Another awesome post, Dragon!

  6. Lovely B&W composition. To be honest, Sydney does has some magnificent street art that can rival Melbourne’s. Three scoops of ice-cream…it sounds like a massive serving Dragon πŸ˜‰ Lol at the sign in the last photo πŸ˜€

  7. so nice of you to take us for a walk with you on that street πŸ™‚ I only miss a photo of you and that gelato and I’ll be “over the moon” (just googled the expression, never heard it before : ) )

    love, love, love the first shot, it’s the perfect “absence” shot…

    you’ve connected the shots beautifully in your unique way of telling a story…

    • Well, thanks for taking the walk with me. πŸ™‚ I’m not a food blogger, so I made the mistake of eating it all before taking a photo. Oh well, I’ll just have to go back again, and again, and again … πŸ™‚

      As for a photo of me, well, if you look in that window hard enough, you might get lucky. But I did position myself quite well. Actually, I accidentally showed my reflection in a previous post. Something spotted it and told me. The photo was removed, just in time. πŸ™‚ LOL

  8. Hey, weaving a song through pictures. Now that is awesome. All of them are so lively street scenes. But I have a question. No one seems to bother about you taking their picture. What is the secret?! πŸ˜€ I am curious

      • It brings to mind a short piece from a poem “What is this world so full of care, we have no time to stand and stare” now I can’t remember any more, who wrote it or even if I have remembered it wrong. But it seems appropriate…

        • Thanks. The friendly google monster knows all:

          LEISURE by WH Davies.

          What is this life if, full of care,
          We have no time to stand and stare.

          No time to stand beneath the boughs
          And stare as long as sheep or cows.

          No time to see, when woods we pass,
          Where squirrels hide their nuts in grass.

          No time to see, in broad daylight,
          Streams full of stars, like skies at night.

          No time to turn at Beauty’s glance,
          And watch her feet, how they can dance.

          No time to wait till her mouth can
          Enrich that smile her eyes began.

          A poor life this if, full of care,
          We have no time to stand and stare.

  9. Hello there! I haven’t been in touch for a couple of months, so I’ve missed many posts, I guess. Such a pity! πŸ™‚ I hope I’ll catch up soon.
    Great post, as always! πŸ™‚

  10. Pingback: Mundane Monday Challenge #24 | PhoTrablogger

  11. The street art with a house floating away from the burdened couple is quite awesome, and horrific too. Must be great to be able to paint an entire story on a wall! I’ve never heard of gelato before, so I learned a new Italian word today. Italian is often the best ice cream. Although, I did experience an amazing sundae glass of ice cream while in Spain once – it was just as good. My friend and I had ice cream for lunch – just ice cream, nothing else. Wow, we were so full we had no need to eat for the rest of the afternoon! πŸ˜€

    And all those little photos! I’d be there a while looking at those, I love old photos. What are they in the window for?

    Penny Lane is a favourite of mine from the Beatles. I do remember hearing somewhere before it was a about an actual lane from their childhood. Must be wonderful but strange to have a huge hit with a song about a road you knew as a kid. πŸ™‚

    • You need to try gelato if you haven’t done so before. I highly recommend it. One of my unfulfilled dreams is to just have ice cream for a meal. I’d feel so guilty though. πŸ™‚ Happy, but guilty.

      I took the photo of the window around lunchtime. The shop was closed and possibly vacant, I believe. Just an interesting way to cover the windows.

      I understand the street signs on Penny lane are constantly being stolen/souvenired. It’s too famous now.

  12. Pingback: I want to break free | Etcetera Etcetera Etcetera

The Wood Dragon is listening ...

