Sisyphus 3

Sydney October 2014 (15 photos)

In Greek mythology Sisyphus was the King of Ephyra (now known as Corinth). He was punished for his self-aggrandizing craftiness and deceitfulness by being compelled to roll an immense boulder up a hill, only to watch it roll back down; repeating this action for eternity.

Sisyphus 5

sculpture by the sea 60

One of the sculptures I most enjoyed photographing at Sculpture by the Sea, Bondi in 2014 was the sculpture entitled SISYPHUS, by George Andric. Made of 316 grade stainless steel, it measured 176 x 176 x 71cm.

Sisyphus 4

According to the artist, he was striving to find some sense of order that is independent of the world that presents itself – which at times can be deceptive and illusory.

Sisyphus 6

The concept for the sculpture is readily understood from the history, and it was well placed on a hillside. The deception inherent in the design of the sculpture had to be seen to be believed. I enjoyed photographing it from different positions, using different focal lengths playing with the concept of perspective.

Sisyphus 1

Sisyphus 7

Sisyphus 2

sculpture by the sea 1

Over at the Weekly Photo Challenge, the topic is “Grid”. The grid-like pattern of the Sisyphus sculpture sprang immediately to my mind and this gives me the opportunity to present more of my photography from Sculpture by the Sea, Bondi 2014, particularly those featuring some kind of grid.

Grids 8

OVERCONSUMPTION, by Kerrie Argent.
Statement: We are threatened by the mountains of floating rubbish. Five great garbage patches, more every day.

Grids 2

MOUNTAIN, by Sang Bong Lee.
Statement: Wires overlap in a multilayered way and are finally formulated into an image of mountains. Through overlapping, a sense of space and perspective is expressed.

Grids 9

HOUSE OF MIRRORS, by NEON.
Statement: The work redefines the architecture of the common beach hut. It is camouflaged into its surroundings with an interior that accentuates key views of the outside world.

Grids 5

THE LAST RESORT, by Frank Veldze and Suzanne Donisthorpe.
Statement: Sit in the observation dome of rusty dreams and watch as the tsunami of climate change approaches.

Grids 1

Grids 3

PERMANENT SUNRISE, by Alejandro Propato.

Statement: This installation is dedicated to the sunrise at Bondi. It is ephemeral but we can imagine that its beauty could be forever.

Sculpture by the Sea, Bondi 2015 starts in about a month. If you’re in the area, go along and see the sculptures. Whilst you’re there strike an interesting pose at some stage. You may get lucky and be photographed by me. 🙂

All my photography of Sculpture by the Sea at Bondi since 2013 is here.

Leica Etcetera, Photography Etcetera

Sculpture by the Sea 2014: Return to Sisyphus

Image

87 thoughts on “Sculpture by the Sea 2014: Return to Sisyphus

    • I look forward to this one each year. Sadly the sculptures are only on display for a few weeks in October/November and then they move on. But the Bondi to Coogee coastal walk is still worth a visit anyway. 🙂

  1. The last sculpture is certainly eye catching from afar. Mimics sunrise by the beach very well. It is amazing how people are so respectful of the sculptures, keeping their distance. I’m guessing you’ll be out capturing some of the 2015 sculptures. Arm yourself with coffee and croissants to keep you going 🙂

    • Hardly any of the large displays have signs saying “do not touch”. This display of sculptures is meant to be immersive and interactive. Not unexpectedly it did feel hot standing underneath that sunrise. 🙂

  2. These are very interesting. I especially like the photograph of the older lady photographing Sisyphus. I know all about Sisyphus, incidentally, since he’s the role model for my working life.

  3. That Sisyphus sculpture is astoundingly different from one angle to another. I thought at first you were photographing several different sculptures. Sadly this post only goes to remind me that a year ago I was getting ready to visit Sydney and this year I am not 😦
    Still I shall look forward to your sculptures by the sea in a few weeks time 😀

    • Thank you, Jude. I was lucky to approach it from the Tamarama side and saw it full-on the first time. Then I got closer and started to walk around it and saw it “unfold”. It was a a surprise to realise its true form.

  4. I liked the Sculpture by the Sea by Bondi last year. The story behind made it even more interesting to view. Great photos of people who were photographing (saw the bird) 🙂 . The first one is my favorite.
    The Overconsumption by Argent has serious message there; …more every day, worrisome. The shot is really awesome! Thank you for bringing us back to the 2014 grand exhibit, Dragon!

  5. Thanks for sharing these. I’ve finally managed to book myself a trip to Sydney to see the Bondi exhibition and it’s lovely to get a wee taste of what’s in store — even though the work will be different, I can get excited about the setting.

  6. As always, nicely captured. I will try to do our local Art Prize justice. However, I am uncertain I will have the same fluidity of accompanying storyline that you manage.

  7. The Sisyphus sculpture is always fascinating, looks altered from different angles. and it’s amazing how many people want to take pictures of it! I especially like the one with the woman looking towards it in a hat.

    Is that colourful sculpture made of plastic bottle tops? Looks very impressive! And the cage one, old mattress springs? Amazing what can be made out of old thrown away bits! 🙂

    • People like a good optical illusion. 🙂

      Yes, those are plastic caps tied together. As the artist’s statement indicates, there were 5 of those “nets” strewn upon the rocks. And I’m pretty sure those were mattress springs meshed together. A lot of the artist’s took on an environmental theme with their sculptures.

  8. Great set of photos as always Draco. There’s something a little hypnotic about the Sisyphus sculpture. Also, I know Sisyphus is the main focus here, yet I can’t help but be drawn to Overconsumption.

    • Thanks, Sandy. Hypnotic – a great description. And food for thought in the Overconsumption sculpture. I photographed one of the 5 nets to make it look like it was about to engulf that fisherman. 🙂

    • Thanks. I usually make a day of it and try to find somewhere for a nice lunch too. Nice art to look at, in a great outdoor location and a bit of walking exercise, all in the name of photography. A good day. 🙂

  9. What a huge surprise the ” Sisyphus” sculpture is the way it unfolds as you take us for a walk around it, and it does look poised to roll off down the hill. I was pleased to see that the 2015 sculptures will still be there when we get to Sydney end of October. I’m jumping up and down in excitement.

  10. Alex Hurst says:

    Beautiful photos, Lignum. Having them all with a coastal backdrop instead of a brick or plaster wall is a really smart move on behalf of the organizers. I’d definitely want to go see them, as well! Mesmerizing. 🙂

I am currently overseas on holidays. Please leave your comment and I will reply to you when I can.

