I want to break free 3

Sydney July – September 2015 (9 photos)

I want to break free.
I want to break free.
I want to break free from your lies,
You’re so self satisfied, I don’t need you.
I’ve got to break free.
God knows… God knows I want to break free.

I want to break free 2

I’ve fallen in love.
I’ve fallen in love for the first time,
And this time I know it’s for real.
I’ve fallen in love, yeah.
God knows… God knows I’ve fallen in love.

I want to break free 7

It’s strange but it’s true, hey yeah.
I can’t get over the way you love me like you do.
But I have to be sure,
When I walk out that door,

I want to break free 4

Oh how I want to be free, baby.
Oh how I want to be free.
Oh how I want to break free.

I want to break free 5

But life still goes on.
I can’t get used to livin’ without, livin’ without,
Livin’ without you, by my side.
I don’t want to live alone, hey.
God knows… got to make it on my own.

I want to break free 8

So baby can’t you see,
I’ve got to break free.

I want to break free 9

I’ve got to break free.
I want to break free, yeah.

I want to break free 6

I want, I want, I want,
I want to break free.

I want to break free 1

“I Want to Break Free” is a song by British rock band Queen, from their eleventh studio album The Works (1984). Written by bassist John Deacon, the song is largely known for its music video for which all the band members dressed in women’s clothes, a concept proposed by Roger Taylor, which parodied the long-running British soap opera Coronation Street. The second part of the video included a composition rehearsed and performed with the Royal Ballet and choreographed by Wayne Eagling. Whereas the parody was acclaimed in the UK, it was considered controversial in the US and banned by MTV and other stations.

Breaking free from my usual candid photography of humans, I thought I’d change temporarily into an animal photographer, albeit stuffed ones wanting to break free from or change their situation. All animals in this post were photographed candidly in the wild, unchanged as they were found on different days. No animals were harmed during the photography for this post. If you’re wondering, the cat is a mailbox.

The final photo is street art of Freddie Mercury painted on the side of a private home in the suburb of Enmore, which I visited in Meanwhile, back in Penny Lane.

Other Queen songs to have been given the Draco treatment, include:
Bohemian Rhapsody
Another one bites the dust

Leica Etcetera, Photography Etcetera

I want to break free

Image

75 thoughts on “I want to break free

  1. Are children very bad at hanging on to their toys in your neighbourhood or is there another reason for these unfortunate creatures to be hanging in a tree? If the former there must be a lot of tears at bed-time!

    • They were probably placed in the trees to act as “guardians” against dragons and ghosts that might come by and try to photograph people on the streets. Believe it or not. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Those stuffed animals look lonely. I wonder if they were abandoned at their spots on purpose. To be honest, they all look like they are in good condition – like they haven’t been rained on or blown on too much by the wind.

    • Probably a different way to “decorate” the street. ๐Ÿ™‚ Photo 3 was taken just after a period of heavy rain – I happened to look up as I was standing under the tree for shelter. Trees are good for shelter. ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Just goes to show how stuffed animals are resilient to the harsh forces of natures. That purple stuffed thing in Photo 3 certainly looks wide awake, albeit a bit of a dirty shower ๐Ÿ˜€

  3. Nice to see you expand your artistic horizons. Even these inanimate beasts seem to come to life in front of your lens. I’d love to see what you could do with live beasts (besides Biggus). Maybe a trip to a zoo, or even a petting zoo (for you-know-whats) is in your future? ๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. Love it, so cute all this buddy toy. Are they in trees or did you take them there? No matter, it is cute ๐Ÿ˜‰ And at the end, a big big singer. Big hugs my dear ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. This certainly is a breaking free post, Dragon. It looks to me these animals want to break free… It’s such a powerful song, and Freddie Mercury had an incredible voice. Great post! ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. I felt sure you had surreptitiously placed those stuffed toys around, then I read in the comments that they were all found in situ. Well seen LD I will be looking up as I walk around Sydney.

  7. Nice collection. Must have taken quite some time to collect them all.
    Now I understand how you weave them into a song. The Draco treatment. And i like the disclaimer at the end of the post ๐Ÿ˜€
    Thank you for joining the MM challenge ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. you are doing pretty well as an animal photographer too, Lignum ๐Ÿ™‚
    the post reminds me of this one time when my lil one lost his stuffed teddy bear, the ONE and only, the very special one, you know :)… we were cruising around the neighborhood to find it for hours, he would cry for days… never found it… it would have been great if someone kept it for us like this, on some tree.. he was so concerned about it all the time repeating that it will be cold and will get wet in the rain… my heart breaks again when I think about it… no, it didnt want to break free from us lol ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Pingback: Mundane Monday Challenge #27 | PhoTrablogger

  10. I remember the song well, it’s one of my favourites, and the video still makes me laugh!! ๐Ÿ˜€ I love the message in the song.

    The Freddie Mercury wall art is awesome, I’m sure my brother would love to have that on the side of his home as he’s always been a huge Freddie Mercury fan. Cool art for all age groups!

    I wondered what the cat was for! I’d love to have a mailbox like that, so unique. ๐Ÿ™‚

    You seem to come across a lot of misplaced soft toys, and they appear to love sitting in trees! ๐Ÿ˜‰ They’re quite sweet, and a little sad too.

    • That video – the make up and transformation was very good for a couple of them – too good! ๐Ÿ™‚
      The soft toys were mostly in a couple of areas and once I knew one was there, I looked a bit harder to find the others. I think someone was “caring” for them.

  11. Pingback: I want to ride my bicycle | Etcetera Etcetera Etcetera

The Wood Dragon is listening ...

