Change 2

“Only the wisest and stupidest of men never change.”

…Confucius (551 – 479 BC), philosopher.

Sydney April 2013 – August 2015 (6 photos)

Being neither the wisest nor the stupidest of men, I guess that means that like the man in the photo above, I have to embrace the change that technology brings.

Change 3

We live in a world where multi-tasking and mobility are essential abilities.

Candid photography is like a box of chocolates 20

Methods of communication are changing.

Change 1

New technologies are coming to the fore.

dragon hunt 7

One doesn’t want to get left behind.

After much prompting, I am now trialling Instagram even though I’ve long eschewed it and other social media platforms, and certainly don’t really have the spare time for it. But many of the photographers I have met use it and so I might as well give it a try as a means of staying in touch with them.

“The journey of a thousand miles begins with one step.”

… Lao Tzu (571 – 531 BC), philosopher.

For now I’ll just start by reposting photos from this blog, mixing in the occasional new photo, and see how I like it. Or maybe it’ll turn into a food and selfie site like many people seem to do. But seriously, who’d want to see my selfies? Who knows what I’ll do with this new platform?

girl reflecting

@lignumdraco is now on the air.

Leica Etcetera, Photography Etcetera, Sony Etcetera

In the words of the sage

Image

61 thoughts on “In the words of the sage

  1. Hi, it’s ok for your instagram to have same pics from the blog – no selfies & food – that’s what I do for my insta account πŸ™‚

    • Thank you. Believe me, you don’t want to see my selfies – long ears, furry head, pink nose, buck teeth, etc. πŸ™‚
      At this stage it’s just reposting photos which needs less than a minute of my time. I’m not that social. πŸ™‚

  2. Mainio kuvasarja puhelimessa olevista ihmisistΓ€ Mustavalkoiset kuvat ovet hienoja. Great photoseries of people using there phones everywhere and for everything. Black and white photos make the idea better seen.

  3. I’m having the same debate right now with Flickr, I will try to maintain both account but I think two is one too many. I found that Instagram is more for the day-to-day and the selfies that everyone like to take, Flickr is a little about the photos

    • Real life, family and work take priority, as must be the case. At this stage, instagram is just reposting photos I’ve already processed, so it takes less than a couple of minutes to do. Unlike other sites, I can target my photos with the hashtag symbol.
      Interestingly, I deleted everything from my flickr account a while ago – it’s now blank, yet I still get a new follower on it each week. πŸ™‚

  4. These cool shots say so much about changes. Instagram, way to go, Dragon! I have seen a bunch with hundreds and some even with thousands of likes, crazy! I started it some months, then found no time for it. May pick it up later. πŸ™‚

      • Will come and see your shots. “Impersonal”for sure, it was like they didn’t spend more than half second when they show up. A different kind of media world. Lots of fun though. Millions of people post travel photos… I really think you’ll do great. No one can beat your street shots.(period). πŸ™‚

  5. I’d be curious to know how you get on with these new platforms. I don’t do Instagram or Snapchat or Twitter because I don’t have time. Just getting the blog covered is an achievement given that I have a busy day job.

  6. In Germany we say”Telefonitis”, when people have to talk all the time with their cell phones at common places or in cafΓ©s – I donΒ΄t like that. I also donΒ΄t like it very much, if there are people in front of me, photographing objects or buildings or persons. In Frankfurt we have many tourists from all over the world, for example from Asia – I know that problem very well. Yesterday a girl with pods in her ears nearly caused an accident on the bike way, because she didnΒ΄t here me ringing – new techniques are not always good for us, but we canΒ΄t go back… by the way, your photos are excellent! πŸ™‚

  7. omg, “who wants to see your selfies”? you can’t be serious lol πŸ˜€

    I think your photos are so brilliant it would be great they get as much exposure as they can, so it’s great you’ve decided to set up an Instagram account… πŸ™‚

    btw, why did you delete your Flickr account?

    • Thank you, Alex. My selfies would cause me to lose followers, most of the time. πŸ™‚

      I wasn’t entirely happy with Flickr, but that may have been because I was just posting all my photos there without a purpose. The account is still there but empty. I may restart it in a more focussed pattern of posting.

  8. Ah ha… Moving on and up!!! Hope you still keep your blog going…That skate boarder had me scratching my head, now that is multi tasking and scary with all the “what if” scenarios going round in my head…

  9. Took me a while to notice the skateboard!

    How funny that I found you on Instagram before reading about it here. Sure there are loads of food and selfie shots but you don’t have to follow them, have anything to do with them. There are however so many decent photographers showing their work there and it is a great mobile platform for browsing, learning and meeting others. Have fun!

    • You wouldn’t have missed him in real life. The skateboarder was quite a sight.
      Thanks, Patti. After perusing it a bit more, I believe you’re right. There are some great photographers there.

  10. Good man! If they’re anything like that first shot of yours, they’ll do for me, Draco. πŸ™‚
    I joined the ranks with good intentions a while ago but haven’t done anything with. Story of my life really πŸ™‚

  11. Welcome to Instagram….I use it as a way to remind myself to always see the world I live in. I’ve been posting one image a day for over 4 years now and am at 1710 photos, one day at a time. I’ll enjoy seeing what you post, just as I enjoy reading your blog. I’m julannk on Instagram if you’d like to follow!

  12. These are fascinating! I love to see older (white haired) people using modern technology, it is… dare I say it… almost steampunk! πŸ˜‰ I was amazed that many years ago my dad managed to learn how to text very quickly. He was more of a practical man, never one for new technology, but he embraced it, and loved it!

    I love the picture with the young man trailing behind on the skateboard with armfuls of canvases! It’s like the others are leaving him behind. But were they connected at all? Maybe not?

    I see you have a lot of likes on Instagram – is it easy finding other Instagramers to like your work posted? I have thought about opening an account, but I might wait until I have more photography worth posting. Although I’m sure I could do a word thing on there too. But these additional pages all take time, I’m just about at my limit now with communications. It takes me a while to get round blog friends posts and my poor little Facebook ( I secretly loathe Facebook…ssshhhh! πŸ˜‰ ) is feeling abandoned. There is only so much one human can do. I hope you do well on Instagram, I might join you, when I get myself sorted! πŸ™‚

    • Whenever I go to the Apple store, it’s not uncommon to see older people in training groups – I guess keeping up with the technology keeps them young and improves their independence. The skateboarder wasn’t connected to the Karl Lagerfeld styled man. They looked worlds apart.

      Instagram is different. It’s all about the correct use of hashtags, not necessarily the content. And apparently, you can “buy followers” – that’s taking things too far. For me it’s a small diversion to a wider or different audience. I seem to get a few likes from Sydney-based and photographic businesses. Just par for the course I suspect.

The Wood Dragon is listening ...

