boundaries 6

Sydney August 2013 – 2015 (7 photos)

The Sydney Harbour Bridge was completed in 1932 to bring together the northern and southern parts of the city separated by the imposing intervening boundary known as Sydney Harbour. As you can see, the bridge is seemingly a complex of barriers and boundaries protecting pedestrians from approaching traffic, and from falling off over into the harbour below.

Secret agent man 1

All these barriers and boundaries are actually a hindrance to decent photography from the walkway of the bridge for most photographers.

boundaries 4

Of course, this is easily overcome by most people.

Boundaries 1

Other people are a bit more creative.

along the watchtower 1

Going higher presents an even better view, as long as you don’t mind the stairwell climb to the top of the Southern Pylon. There’s no elevator.

Boundaries 3

For a more uncluttered view, the climb up the arches shouldn’t be ignored. Sadly, you may not take your camera up with you, nor for that matter, anything that may fall off and hurtle below like a missile. Anything that you take up from your Bridgeclimb hat to your glasses and even the supplied handkerchief must be tethered to the jumpsuit they make you wear.

After all, what goes up must come down.

Boundaries 2

Of course, the sky’s the limit when thinking about going higher for a better view like this man might be thinking. But I said him, “You could learn to fly, but you don’t have wings. And coming down, is the hardest thing.”

For those not on Instagram, I’ve now also installed the Instagram widget in my drop down menu at the top of the page so you can see the latest image. I’m planning to post at least 2 photos a week currently. I don’t know how long that rate will last for, but it seems manageable for the moment. πŸ™‚

Leica Etcetera, Photography Etcetera, Sony Etcetera

The sky’s the limit

Image

77 thoughts on “The sky’s the limit

  1. Great Pictures!!! I love the first, the third and the sixth!! And I’m smiling, it’s very funny what People all over the world are able to do to get some pictures (the fourth :D) …
    Greetings from the other end of the world!

  2. Quite the bridge…I remember your first postings from this a while back. I’m wondering if I would make the effort to climb the arch if I could not get a shot…they should provide a camera for people to do a shot with that actually make it to the top.

    • The tour guides carry cameras and there are several photo stops along the way. But they are very strict about not letting anyone take any metal or loose items up there – part of the rules of their licence to operate.

      The view and experience compensate for the lack of your own camera, but there is the feeling you’re missing out on some great shots.

    • Since the suicide prevention barrier went up, I don’t believe there have been any recent deaths. I believe there were 66 jumping deaths over the years before then.

      Yes, climbed it last year because I was in the area and thought, why not? Enjoyed it.

  3. No, I ain’t going up there. The stairwell is ridiculous, I think an escalator will make sense. πŸ™‚ Cool shots, Dragon especially the escalator, I mean the stairwell. πŸ™‚ Great clarity of these photos. 50mm ?

  4. M-R says:

    Stringer did the Bridge Climb: a friend gave it to him for a present, and went with him. I’m really happy he did it: Sydney had his heart.

  5. Great BW composition. Great candid shots too. I’ve always wanted to climb the bridge to the top, but it comes at a hefty price tag. If not for that, I’ll give it a go today. Chucked you a follow on Insta πŸ™‚

    • Thank you. I agree, these experiences aren’t free.

      Thanks for the follow. I’ve had this Instagram message on my last few posts, with a detailed explanation of why I joined Instagram in my post In the words of sage. Unexpectedly and interestingly this message has had the effect of identifying a few bloggers who like to click the like button in the reader but not visit the post.

  6. I do like how your mind works. Great post. Thanks for the tips on the bridge climb, not that I could do it anyway but now I have an excuse not to – no camera! Love the bridge photos πŸ™‚

  7. What a wonderful set of pictures of the Bridge. For all the times I’ve crossed it, I’ve never taken any pictures while on it. I love all the geometries. And the human aspect pictures are amusing. The Go Pro one made me laugh.

  8. Fabulous shots Lignum and I thank you for doing the climb which I know is never going to happen for me. All great shots, love the paint splattered Heartbreaker getting his breathe back!

  9. Pingback: Photos We Loved: Boundaries | The Daily Post

  10. I really like your photo of the people walking on the arch. The man who organized these tours tried to do that at the Golden Gate Bridge when I was working there in 2001. Unfortunately, 9/11 happened soon after his visit and the matter was permanently nixed.
    Ξ©

  11. As always…Beautiful images…I can still feel the dizziness…In general I do not have problems going up, but going down!!!! It is terrible!!!! It happens all the time.. 😦
    Very very interesting reading all the comments…I am surprised you even know the number of suicides!!!
    … You are very right…Being a tourist in your own town is very rare…But it is the only way to really know it!!!
    Ah!!! And congrats for being in the selection of the best!!! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚
    Have a great day!

    • It’s true – coming down is the hardest thing. Plane landings always make me a little nervous. πŸ™‚
      I learn a lot from Professor Google. πŸ™‚
      I always carry a camera around now. It’s the best thing to be ready for any photo. And thanks. That selection was quite a surprise.

  12. I can see that fence is very obstructive! I think I’d be a bit wary to poke my hands through the gap in case I knocked the camera out of my hand when drawing them back in. I can hear the distant splash just thinking about it! πŸ˜€

    The selfie stick…not sure you’d get much of a good picture with that swinging up there!

    And as for those stairs…..aaaaahhhh…nnnnooo…my worst nightmare! 😯 How does anyone climb those without getting exhausted or vertigo?!! And why is there no elevator?

    • The staircase up is quite wide in areas with room for sitting/resting. The view is rewarding once you make to the top.
      Yes, you’d want your camera to be securely gripped if poking it through the fence. πŸ™‚

  13. the one with the selfie stick is so funny lol πŸ™‚
    love the third photo, the man with the small point-and-shoot surrounded by the fence, very graphic, especially with the shadows on his shirt, such a great detail…

    this is an impressive constructio, this bridge… this was where your sleeve-selfie was taken, no? πŸ˜€

The Wood Dragon is listening ...

