#sxsbondi15 49

“Letting the days go by (let the water hold me down)”

Sydney November 2015 (14 photos)

The 19th annual Sculpture by the Sea exhibition at Bondi has come and gone. This free public event, ran from 22 October to 8 November, and included 107 main exhibiting artists from 19 countries around the world. It was held along the 1.2km coastal walk between Bondi Beach and Tamarama Beach. I went on the final days to take a look at the sculptures.

CROUCHING MAN, by Laurence Edwards.

Statement: The third figure in a series, each one exploring a different psyche. This one watches a world passing by.

#sxsbondi15 53

“Letting the days go by (water flowing underground)”

#sxsbondi15 52

“Same as it ever was”

#sxsbondi15 51

“Same as it ever was”

#sxsbondi15 54

“Same as it ever was”

#sxsbondi15 50

“Same as it ever was”

#sxsbondi15 40

“Alien invasion”

METEORITE, by Jina Lee.

Statement: The work represents all forms of life as a meteorite that has landed on the earth and as it grows, it adapts to its new environment.

The sculpture featured a stylised meteorite stuck in the sand, with life growing from one its craters.

#sxsbondi15 41

“The last cry of Gothmog”

P.O.P, by Lubomir Mikle.

Statement: The artist searches for new horizons, for distinct forms of beauty.

The head reminded me of Gothmog, the orc leader, who led the armies of Sauron against the men of Gondor. He was felled in the battle of the Pelennor Fields. I was but a young dragon in those days.

#sxsbondi15 45

“Modern youth”

QUOTIDIANITY “THE BROTHERS” (2013), by Fabio Pietrantonio.

Statement: Past and present meet and engage in a neutral context. The artist observes his children and the differences with the playing mode of his time.

#sxsbondi15 48

“Art imitates Life”

#sxsbondi15 47

“Life imitates Art”

I watched several people pose with these very realistic statures. The girl above did the best at imitating the sculptures, sitting and posing naturally between the 2 brothers to create a trio.

#sxsbondi15 42

“Organic forms”

INTUITIVE SENSE OF CONNECTION, by Andrea Vinkovic.

Statement: Inspired by the fragility and organic beauty of nature. Interested in exploring personal and archetypal symbolism of visual language, and parallels with cultural environment.

#sxsbondi15 44

“The summer wind came blowing in from across the sea.
It lingered there, to touch your hair and walk with me…”

WIND BLOWING, by Koichi Ishino.

Statement: It has begun blowing from Bondi.

#sxsbondi15 43

“…And guess who sighs his lullabies through nights that never end.
My fickle friend, the summer wind”

…Frank Sinatra – Summer Wind.

This is Part 4 of 7 of my Sculpture by the Sea Bondi 2015 series.

Sculpture by the Sea, Bondi 2015 Part 1

Sculpture by the Sea, Bondi 2015 Part 2

Sculpture by the Sea, Bondi 2015 Part 3

Sculpture by the Sea, Bondi 2015 Part 5

Sculpture by the Sea, Bondi 2015 Part 6

Leica Etcetera, Photography Etcetera

Sculpture by the Sea, Bondi 2015 (4)

Image

67 thoughts on “Sculpture by the Sea, Bondi 2015 (4)

  1. I saw this post via my iPhone yesterday, I’m so glad I get to view this set through a computer monitor. πŸ™‚ The first photo is a masterpiece, Dragon! The sculpture is like sitting right above the water, and you captured the colorful sunset; the composition is perfect. Too beautiful!
    The trio is brilliant. Thank you for the enjoyable tour. πŸ™‚

  2. Amazing photography as usual Draco. Especially loving the silhouettes of Crouching Man and Wind Blowing. And it’s nice to see my beloved Meteorite featured here too πŸ˜‰

  3. All beautiful but that first image of crouching man almost made me cry it was so beautiful. And the way that you captured the light in that first image of β€˜Wind Blowing’ was simply magnificent. Life imitating art was very clever! Wish I’d thought of that pose myself.

  4. LB says:

    I’m so glad you share the wonders of the sculptures by the sea! I remember them from previous years.
    The Modern Youth kinda made me sad because it’s so true

  5. The Crouching Man – I can’t help thinking of biblical Job, his boils and many troubles. Or perhaps he’s just a philosopher?

    The last cry of Gothmog, I find a bit unsettling! It looks a little sinister. I love the boys in in white, Modern Youth. They remind me of a 70’s British TV children’s drama The Boy From Space https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ifqn0vursW8
    I wouldn’t mind them in my garden – they look friendly enough! πŸ™‚

  6. Pingback: Abstractions of Art | Etcetera Etcetera Etcetera

The Wood Dragon is listening ...

