#sxsbondi15 64

“Think outside the box”

Sydney November 2015 (15 photos)

The 19th annual Sculpture by the Sea exhibition at Bondi has come and gone. This free public event, ran from 22 October to 8 November, and included 107 main exhibiting artists from 19 countries around the world. It was held along the 1.2km coastal walk between Bondi Beach and Tamarama Beach. I went on the final days to take a look at the sculptures.

MIRAGE, by Deirdre Mair and Harry Stitt.

Statement: A three-dimensional form comes in and out of focus, assembling and disassembling based on the angle from which the sculpture is viewed.

Viewed from afar, these 4 elements appeared to be like giant hieroglyphics on the beach. Only upon walking around them did they transition into a more recognisable form.

#sxsbondi15 65

#sxsbondi15 66

Finding the absolute central viewing point was very difficult, but fun.

#sxsbondi15 67

#sxsbondi15 56

“Free Hugs”

EMBRACE (2014), by Haruyuki Uchida.

Statement: The artist aims to make sculptures that are closely connected to gravity.

A sculptural interpretation of an embrace, the taller slender element of the sculpture would move with the wind. Hence the numerous warning signs not to stick your fingers into the sculpture.

#sxsbondi15 55

#sxsbondi15 58

“Welcome to the thunderdome”

KAKASHI (2012), by Zilvinas Kempinas.

Statement: Abstract, outdoor kinetic sculpture which is constantly changing with the nature around it, with light and wind.

On a windy day, the flapping tapes were incredibly loud inside the circle of poles.

#sxsbondi15 57

#sxsbondi15 73

“United we stand, divided we fall”

DIVIDED PLANET, by Jorg Plicate.

Statement: Instead of together trying to solve the urgent problems like global warming and poverty, our planet is divided into political blocks wasting all their energy in stupid confrontations.

#sxsbondi15 61

“There is nothing either good or bad, but thinking makes it so.”

HAMLET’S LAMENT, by Stephen Harrison.

Statement: Wild horses, DIY mythology, hybrid animal/human, spirit animals, Shakespeare and Beckett all combine in this work.

#sxsbondi15 68

“When any of my friends need help, they come to me first. I don’t know what they’d do without me.”

MESSAGES FROM THE WEST, by Thomas Quayle.

Statement: A series of figurative sculptures of children which embody different characteristics of childhood in South West Sydney.

#sxsbondi15 69

“He was wearing his silly batman costume and crying like a sissy. I told him to remember to go to the toilet first before putting the costume on. It’s not the first time.”

#sxsbondi15 72

“One time we were at the circus and a clown snuck up behind him. I said to him, ‘Hey, it’s The Joker!’. He looked at the clown, dropped his ice cream and ran away screaming.”

#sxsbondi15 70

“Yep. All my friends look up to me. My younger sister thinks I’m a hero after she lost her wabbit and I found it.”

#sxsbondi15 71

“Please excuse my brother. He’s not crazy. He’s just a little unwell.”

This is Part 5 of 7 of my Sculpture by the Sea Bondi 2015 series.

Sculpture by the Sea, Bondi 2015 Part 1

Sculpture by the Sea, Bondi 2015 Part 2

Sculpture by the Sea, Bondi 2015 Part 3

Sculpture by the Sea, Bondi 2015 Part 4

Sculpture by the Sea, Bondi 2015 Part 6

Leica Etcetera, Photography Etcetera

Sculpture by the Sea, Bondi 2015 (5)

Image

46 thoughts on “Sculpture by the Sea, Bondi 2015 (5)

    • I did ignore some of the signs warning about staying on the path and not climbing onto the rocks at the other sculptures, but I heeded these particular signs. I didn’t hear any screaming whilst I was in the area, so I suspect most other people had common sense too. 🙂

    • Thanks. I shot those knee-high kids in the golden hour. It put the colour right off but I liked the shadows and ambience it created. Let’s hope the world isn’t ending in just over 28 days. 🙂

  1. Great captures of the “Think outside the box”. I like the second photo of the thunderdome. But,these little guys stole the show here. 🙂
    Thank you for another cool series, Dragon!

  2. Okay, I want to know how in the world I missed ‘Mirage’! ADD strikes again I supposed. Perhaps I was distracted by the surfers. What a spectacular work. Glad to see it captured so beautifully here.

    And as always, I like your take on every piece here, but my favorite is your second composition of Kakashi! Such a creative take on that piece.

    • Let me double check my photos – maybe it was a mirage? 🙂

      Thanks, Lisa. The first time I went, I missed several of the sculptures. It’s surprisingly easy to do. I now make a habit of following the guide at some stage and seeing every numbered sculpture. I would have missed the video eye buried in the ground this year if I hadn’t.

  3. Another brilliant set of photos from Sculpture by the Sea. No putting hands into the Free Hugs one – I hope no one did. Then again, if there wasn’t a sign, kids might not know better. As a kid, costumes can be both fascinating and scary to us. Great perspective shooting Messages from the West.

    • Thanks. I don’t know why, but people just seem to want to touch sculptures, so those signs were vital on that one with moving parts. The Messages from the West characters just seemed so nice.

  4. I remember seeing Embrace in person, but don’t remember it being so elegant as you’ve captured it here. Also loving the overhead shot of Kakashi. So simple, yet so beautiful. Your photography skills never cease to amaze me 🙂

    • Thank you. I always try to get a different view from others. In the first photo of Kakashi, you might be able to see a guy lying on the ground and shooting up – I didn’t think of doing that though. 🙂

  5. Think Outside The Box is a very good example of how we are frequently not seeing what we think we are. I wonder how long it took to work that sculpture out and also how long to get into place correctly.

    And as for the moving sculpture – ouch!! That sounds an alarming thought, getting caught between the metal! 😯

    • It involved a lot of knowledge of geometry to design. I like how the box was deconstructed into unrecognisable components – I couldn’t work it out until I got close to the appropriate viewing point.

  6. it’s amazing how diverse all the sculptures are…in terms of concept, representation, material… motley and creative… you are doing great job taking these pictures, Lignum…

    • The diversity, the setting, the light/weather. There are so many different ways to photograph this. I may even do some night shots next time, if I find something interesting.

The Wood Dragon is listening...

