#sxsbondi15 94

Eye spy…”

Sydney November 2015 (20 photos)

The 19th annual Sculpture by the Sea exhibition at Bondi has come and gone. This free public event, ran from 22 October to 8 November, and included 107 main exhibiting artists from 19 countries around the world. It was held along the 1.2km coastal walk between Bondi Beach and Tamarama Beach. I went on the final days to take a look at the sculptures.

NEST 06, by Jakub Geltner.

Statement: Part of an ongoing series dealing with multiplicated objects that are flooding public space. This time, these objects do not appear on the facades, but are placed on a separately standing platform, designed for their own benefit.

#sxsbondi15 93

“…something beginning with T”

The warning sign clearly stated that you would be filmed and if you didn’t want to be, then you should walk behind the camera installation.

#sxsbondi15 92

“Tongue!”

Doesn’t everybody want their 15 minutes of fame?

I was quite pleased to receive this message from the Sculpture by the Sea organisation on my instagram account @lignumdraco for the above photo.

messages

#sxsbondi15 86

“Never send to know for whom the bell tolls…”

THE BELL (2014), by Ruth Liou.

Statement: The work entwines symbolism of Chinese heritage and the industrial influence of Newcastle. The design is not overtly about sound, but the resonance is internal.

The first thing I noticed about this one was the very strong odour of the wood emanating from the sculpture. A nice touch.

#sxsbondi15 85

“…it tolls for thee”

#sxsbondi15 95

“Primal fear”

WAVE 2, by Annette Thas.

Statement: We all have our own childhood memories coming towards us at different times in our lives. Do you go with the flow or dive through?

This qualified as the freakiest sculpture on display. You had to go close to appreciate it.

#sxsbondi15 98

“I’m a Barbie girl, in a Barbie world”

#sxsbondi15 96

“My name’s Barbie…”

The twisted Barbie head gave me a bit of a shiver. If it had started talking, I would probably have had an accident.

#sxsbondi15 97

“…and I don’t like you”

#sxsbondi15 89

“They took all the trees
And put them in a tree museum”

KEEP SAFE/KEEPSAKE, by Sandra Pitkin.

Statement: Encased and protected, for lack of protection, observed or unobserved.

#sxsbondi15 87

“And they charged all the people
A dollar and a half to see ’em”

#sxsbondi15 88

“Don’t it always seem to go
That you don’t know what you’ve got
‘Till it’s gone
They paved paradise
And put up a parking lot”

#sxsbondi15 99

“Serenity now”

MAN ON BALL, by Wang Shugang.

Statement: Five men are squatting on balls. Any second, one of the balls could roll away and the men run the risk of falling off the world. This work questions ideas about the individual and the collective.

#sxsbondi15 101

“Serenity now”

#sxsbondi15 103

#sxsbondi15 100

“Insanity later”

#sxsbondi15 102

“This is what it sounds like…”

#sxsbondi15 104

“…when doves cry”

Some of you may remember this guy from last year’s exhibition when he was happily playing with birds in Sculpture by the Sea, Bondi 2014.

And now it’s time to wrap up my presentation on Sculpture by the Sea, Bondi for 2015. That’s 96 photos in 7 posts, featuring 44 of the sculptures. But before we leave, let’s give the final word to…

#sxsbondi15 91

SPEED TRAP (two independent but related works), by Richard Tipping.

Statement: The artsigns grow from poetry. The artist engages with the bright zing of public signs and places the emphasis of creation onto the viewer.

#sxsbondi15 90

This is Part 7 of 7 of my Sculpture by the Sea, Bondi 2015 series.

Sculpture by the Sea, Bondi 2015 Part 1

Sculpture by the Sea, Bondi 2015 Part 2

Sculpture by the Sea, Bondi 2015 Part 3

Sculpture by the Sea, Bondi 2015 Part 4

Sculpture by the Sea, Bondi 2015 Part 5

Sculpture by the Sea, Bondi 2015 Part 6

Leica Etcetera, Photography Etcetera

Sculpture by the Sea, Bondi 2015 (7)

Image

113 thoughts on “Sculpture by the Sea, Bondi 2015 (7)

  1. KG says:

    Wonderful series LD 🙂 Was a pleasure to take this journey through your photographs.

    Am not a fan of Barbie…and that photograph really gave me the creeps… eeks!!!

  2. I’ve never been to the Bondi Sculpture by the Sea, but I regularly go to the Cottesloe one. I recognize some of the sculptors and pieces. The Barbie Wave was indeed mentionable.

  3. The Barbie doll sculpture gave me the shivers. It must be the eyes…there’s just so many of them and you don’t know which one to look at. I’m sure if you look carefully they aren’t all identical. The droplets of water or rain on Man On Ball is a nice touch. Wonderfully captured. As my Malaysian always say, water is auspicious.

    Congratulations on the series. Time to treat yourself to a croissant. Or two 🙂 Btw, love the Counting Crows song.

    • Thanks. The Barbie wave was an attention getter, most definitely. There was something very calm and gentle about the 5 men on balls. They were so nice.

      It must be a generational thing. When I think of the song Big Yellow Taxi, I hear Joni Mitchell, whereas you hear the Counting Crows. Both great versions though.

      • I wonder what the younger ones thought of the Barbie exhibit. Nudity is certainly a part of it. Then again, that is art.

        Ah, yes. Joni Mitchell originally did Big Yellow Taxi. A classic song that certainly still has its appeal today. I never tire of listening to either versions 🙂

  4. It’s been such a great series, I really enjoyed it. You’re really lucky to be living in Sydney to enjoy such creative art 🙂 Thanks for sharing with us!

  5. Ooops, my comment didn’t make it here. Sorry about that.
    Congratulations to the recognition from the Sculpture by the Sea organisation!
    I really like Wang Shugang’s sculptures and how he imply the risk of falling off the world. The tree sculpture is beautiful.
    Thank you so much for the grand tour, Dragon.

    • Thanks for the thought, and return visit, Amy. I thought those men on balls were a wonderful series of sculptures. They generated a sense of calm. That tree is something I could put in my garden and not worry about dying. 🙂

      • We have had some heavy internet traffic jam this week here. Some of my emails did even go through. I have revisited your 7 series several times, I really believe these photos are better the onsite scene. 🙂
        Thank you for getting up at the crack of dawn, Dragon. 🙂

  6. Oh, those cameras!!! 😦 Are they really filming people? If they are they must get some pretty oddly pulled expressions – because who likes security cameras?! And a very good picture too – tongue out, nice school boy response, but probably says what a lot of people feel. And great to see you got a like from thesculpturebythesea instagram page – that was very good of them!! 🙂

    I was thinking, that wooden bell must be enormously heavy. No ringing from that one! And the Barbies…haaaaa!!! That’s one too many Barbies for me. The closer you get the more you have the feeling you’re being watched. Must be even worse in real life. Clever idea though, gives a hint of just how many Barbies exist in the world. The amount might fill an entire landfill!!

    I love the wiry tree, that’s very elegant, would make an attractive garden ornament. I wonder what the birds think of it?

    The five men on balls – how funny that sounds! 😀 All I could think of when I first saw them was – Umpa Lumpas!! But, on your other pictures of their faces, they look really quite nice. Kind of makes me want to reach and touch their smooth faces!

    You’ve done so many of these fascinating sculptures, have you done them all yet, or are there more to come?

    • Thanks, Suzy. It’s interesting how people react to certain sculptures. I thought the men on balls were very serene, but I’ll have to reconsider that now you’ve put Umpa Lumpas into my mind. 🙂

      I believe the security cameras really were filming. There were many different reactions to them.

      That’s all from this year’s exhibition for now. I photographed most of the sculptures but not all of them project as well in a photograph. Sometimes, you just have to be there.

  7. il monumento-Barbie è stato decisamente scioccante, sembra esserci dentro tutta la vanità di questo mondo, belle anche le sculture bronzee e l’allegoria della morte degli alberi, come sempre scatti superbi TUTTI

  8. So many amazing photos in this post, Draco! From The Bell with the storm looming behind it, to the great detail you captured in Keep Safe/Keepsake. I’m also jealous you got so many good photos of Man on Ball. When I got there, everyone was trying to have their photo with them. And, of course, who could forget the freaky Barbie Wave. XD

    Thanks for sharing your amazing photos, Draco! 🙂 As always, I’m in awe of your skills and dedication.

    • Thanks, Sandy. I try to never be in a rush when I’m there, so I have time to find the right shot. Crowds are transient, and the right moment will come sooner or later. 🙂 A lot of interesting work on display this year, too. Something for everyone.

  9. OMG, Nest 06 was the first thing I thought of for this week’s photo challenge but I didn’t like my picture of it enough to submit. Yours are glorious. Of course Scuplture By The Sea took note of it on Instragram. I also love your take on that Barbie Doll Madness that made up Wave 2.

    • I had planned to post Nest 06 earlier, but I held off. Quite fortuitously. It’s a head slapping moment when you post a photo one week too early for a great Daily Post prompt. 🙂

      As I’m not an “instant” poster, I’ve missed the boat with posting on the Sculpture by the Sea site, but my photo of the supercell storm against the Sound Chamber from Part 6 has turned into one of my favourites, and I’m obliged to put that one on Instagram.

      There was a lot to see and appreciate this year. I’m glad you got the chance to experience it for more than the half hour you’d originally planned. 🙂

  10. As in past years, I’ve enjoyed every single one of your Bondi posts! They’re like getting a double scoop of ice cream….I get to enjoy the art of the sculpture and then when I’m finished with the first scoop, I get to enjoy the art of your photography as you capture them in different light and weather conditions, often with the addition of spectators. That’s the second scoop of ice cream! I may never make it to your part of the world but I certainly look forward to you “taking” me to this event year after year. Thank you!

    • Thank you very much. I love photographing this exhibition. The premise of outdoor sculptures against the backdrop of the ocean is so simple and brilliant. I’m glad you can enjoy it as well, from afar.

  11. Incredible..!!!.Each of your post is better and better…I can not imagine being there with such a high number of wonderful things…Must provoque something similar to the Sthendal syndrom!!!
    I love everything!!!! The cameras are a clear example of our society…The barbies are spooky all together…It is funny to see how many things are nice and beautiful when isolated and the feeling is absolutely different when in a high number…Like the Birds of Hitchcock!! 🙂 🙂
    Congrats for the message in Instagram!!!

    • You’re very right. When you first see the sculptures, you go into sensory overload. You want to race around and see them all, but you need to linger and appreciate them. Then, how best to photograph each one? Do I need to come back in the evening, or dawn, or night? Can I get an extra day off work? I have over 1300 photos. :0 :0 :0

      There’s such a variety to enjoy. The cameras as artwork was a little strange but watching people’s reactions was interesting. Your analogy with The birds is perfect! 🙂

      Thanks you visiting Sydney with me.

      • I love doing it!!! If once in my life I can go there it would be like paying a visit to an old friend… 🙂 It is very funny..It happened the same to me when I went to NYC: I almost knew what I would find round the corner..All thanks to the films I have seen!!! 🙂 🙂
        I trust you have so many pics… Nothing is easy and the right photo is not always right there!!!
        Have a good weekend!

        • I know what you mean. Film and television have made the foreign seem so familiar to us all now. The emergency phone number here is 000, but once I heard someone call out, dial 911 (the american number). Kind of funny in retrospect. 🙂
          Have a wonderful weekend too.

  12. LB says:

    The “Joni Mitchell” sculpture (my title of course) is beautiful. Ever since I first heard that song decades ago, I have worried about the tree museum.
    These sculptures really do make you think, and I love that you share the response that some people have to them.
    Wonderful work!

    • Thanks. Well, the way the world is going, a tree museum doesn’t sound so far fetched now, does it? It must be particularly pleasing for the artists to see people responding/reacting to their sculptures. That’s what it’s all about.

  13. Thank you for showing us such a great series of photos of the Sculptures by the sea. The Barbie dolls were certainly very creepy, splitting them into 7 posts was a very good idea it gave me time to savour them all.

  14. to remain in him says:

    It’s amazing how perfectly you images are composed! Well done! Let the next year be as much creative for you!!!!

  15. I’ve been in Bondi beach in February 1996 , at night : tge sky was so full of stars that I couldn’t stop looking at that & saying : never seen the stars sooo close to earth ! so differenf trom Italian sky! Bellissimo 👍👏

  16. lol, that guy in the first shots rocks lol :)) were these cameras actually working? cuz if they were, and you had to stand in front of them to take the first picture… then you were on camera, Draco the Invisible 😀

    • I have no reason to doubt they were working, and took appropriate precautions. Sunglasses, hat, camera in front of the face… all the usual tricks. 🙂

      He poked his tongue at exactly the right time. 🙂

I am currently at a conference/workshop. Please leave your comment and I'll reply to you when I can.

