messages-2

Sydney (4 photos) The last post for 2015.

Eye spy with my little eye: @lignumdraco on Instagram.

Having eschewed social media for the longest time, I think I’m beginning to understand it.

As you may know, I started posting occasional photos on Instagram since October this year. I didn’t expect to do much with it. In fact, I had planned to post a few photos from this site, and then start posting my lunch photos. However, I’ve decided to stick with my normal photography.

I like that the correct use of tags can get your photography seen by a specific organisation or person.

I was kind of chuffed when I got my first like on a photo from Leica Australia.

Then I made a comment on a Sydney food instagram site that I was enjoying a nice breakfast in Bondi. Within half an hour, I had about 10 likes/comments/follows from cafes in Bondi.

I posted a picture of some art work in Sydney. It came to the notice of the City of Sydney, and as you can see from the message above, it seems I am now an unofficial photographer for the City of Sydney. That same photo came to the attention of the designer of the artwork and a message from him really made me smile.

messages

Then again from Sculpture by the Sea.

messages-5

I tagged one of my photos to a chocolate store. I got a like from them, but I’m still waiting for my free box of chocolates. πŸ™‚

messages-4

Surprisingly, posting photographs on Instagram has led to me being directly invited to 3 cocktail functions in the last few weeks. Who can say no to free champagne and canapΓ©s? It was nice to be introduced to the General Manager of Leica Australia, and to meet pro photographers.

I didn’t realise being so social could lead to this.

Anyway…

It’s Summer in Australia now and the temperature is warming up just a little.

messages-6

If you’re wondering, 42 Celsius is 107.6 Fahrenheit. Imagine if it had been “entirely” sunny!!!

bondi peak hour

“Bondi peak hour traffic”

Time for a change of pace.

christmas 2015 2

“Closed due to the heatwave.”

Just like these guys, it’s time to me to take a break from WordPress and my blog. Although I will continue sporadically on Instagram just to be, you know, social.

But I shall return with more in 2016.

christmas 2015 3

“The gift of love.”

I wish you all the best for the Christmas season and New Year ahead. May all your Christmas wishes come true.

christmas 2015 1

“All I want for Christmas is …”

Leica Etcetera, Photography Etcetera

@lignumdraco on Instagram

Image

102 thoughts on “@lignumdraco on Instagram

  1. Life sounds good LD. Have a good break and happy holidays. I must confess that heat is a little too hot for the likes of me, but I wouldn’t say no to some sunshine if you want to chuck some this way πŸ˜€

  2. It’s great that you’ve gotten such attention on Instagram! That sounds like fun. I’m on there, too; used to post daily. Couldn’t get real traction, so I went back to my blog. But now that you can post photos in their original aspect ratios, maybe I should try again.

    • I have the photos on my computer already from old posts here. So basically I’m just reposting which is rather easy to do, but I limit myself to about twice a week because it’s not my main site. I actually like to follow food blogs. πŸ™‚

  3. I have a closed instagram account, so I don’t get attention from cafes or people that don’t know me. I post some of the same photos that I post in my blog, but about 50% of the posts are personal stuff (for example photos of me & my son).

  4. It’s about time. A well deserved recognition. Congratulations my friend! Which Instagram are you using? I have never been invited to anything! We are going to be near 60 degrees Fahrenheit this weekend. Not quite an Australian heatwave, but a heatwave for the Chicago area. When you get rich and famous pick me up in the Lignum jet…there is a bridge I want to walk over in the company of a certain dragon. Have a wonderful Christmas!!

    • Thank you kindly. 60F sounds like a blizzard to me. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ It reminds of the times I walked the bridges of Chicago in late autumn/early winter at night, stamping my feet to stay warm just like in the Untouchables movie. πŸ™‚ I should do that again one day, some day.

      Have a wonderful and safe Christmas too. Keep an eye on the skies – life is like a box of chocolates, you never know… πŸ™‚

  5. I’ve been wrestling with the notion of jumping into Instagram. Maybe I should follow your example, and start slowly. I also am not a social media kind of person. Still, I have enjoyed immensely the community that visit my blog and the ones that I meet on others’ blog. Sounds like you have grown into Instagram.

    • I use Instagram as a different medium versus this blog. I don’t put much effort into it, but it works well for me. I like to visit the foodie sites and keep up with friends. πŸ™‚ I won’t use Facebook though.

  6. Good for you, LD. The attention is much deserved. I’ve shunned social media, but looked into joining Instagram because it seems like one network that can actually be worth the effort if used correctly. However, it seems you can only use it with a mobile device and since I work with a laptop only, I can’t upload photos. Have a great holiday, sir!

    • I suppose the name “Insta” says what it’s about, although most of my photos there are not instant. I like the simplicity of it. Have a great holiday and happy new year, too.

  7. Wherever Dragon goes, he makes a big splash! OMG, “all I want is.”, doesn’t look he can get up easily… πŸ˜€
    Have a nice break, Dragon. See you on IG. πŸ™‚

  8. Congratulations and well deserved! A Merry Christmas – fingers crossed it isn’t going to be too hot (though long range forecast for here not looking so good).. I’m supposed to be roasting a goose! πŸ™‚

    • Thank you, Lisa.I think there is too hot and way too hot, when it comes to an Australian Summer. Let’s hop everyone’s ready for it. A traditional roast goose – I hope you have an air conditioned kitchen. πŸ™‚

      Have a merry Christmas and happy New Year, Lisa. And some nice wine to enjoy with it (I’m open to any victorian wine selections, if you have any. πŸ™‚ )

  9. Congratulations! Well-deserved recognition for your amazing photography. Does all this recognition make you Insta-famous now? πŸ˜›

    Thanks again for sharing your lovely work. Wishing you a wonderful Christmas season and Happy New Year. All the best. πŸ™‚

    • Insta-famous is a curse isn’t it? πŸ™‚ I’m happy just to be a legend in my own lunchtime. Speaking of which, I’m headed to Westfield Level 5 soon. πŸ™‚

      Thanks for the kind wishes, Sandy. I hope you and your family enjoy a happy, healthy and safe Christmas and New Year.

  10. What a delightful post! How lovely that you are getting such notice for your work–certainly well-deserved. Happy holidays to you…yikes on the heat. (As I type, wind is howling around house and rain snapping on the windows.) See you in the new year.

    • If only our weather patterns could meet and nullify one another. Thank you. Wishing a happy and safe holiday season. Watch out for those junkyard dogs – stay out of trouble until my return. πŸ™‚

  11. So cool Draco! I think social media is wonderful the way you describe your experience with Instagram.

    Wishing you blessed Christmas time and all the best for New Year!

    • Thanks, Elina. It’s completely different to what I do on WordPress. And I can usually sneak a peek at work, something I don’t do for my WordPress site. πŸ™‚

      I hope you and your family have a wonderful Christmas too. A white christmas? Have a happy and safe new year too.

  12. Congrats on the above recognition! Thank you for sharing your beautiful photos, particularly the ones of the sculptures by the sea. I loved them πŸ™‚ Merry Christmas and see you in 2016 πŸ™‚

  13. Is that time of the year already? I remember how tough life was when you took time off last year ;-(
    Happy Holidays and Congratulation for the well deserved recognition! (Now I start counting the days for your return. πŸ˜‰

  14. Oh wow!!!Very very good!!! I just wanted to ask you…Do you post photos you take with your phone or also with your camera? Is it possible to do that? Because my phone is very simple and the pics quite basic…
    Thanks a lot!!!
    And Have a nice relax time!

    • Thank you very much, Julie. Now I have to find another outlet for my lunch photos. πŸ™‚

      Merry Christmas to you and yours over there in the Garden of Eden. I’ll think you as I open another bottle of Sauvignon Blanc. πŸ™‚

  15. So cool what you are getting out of Instagram. Let us know when you receive your box of free chocolates πŸ˜‰ And hopefully it’s when the weather has cooled down considerably. Best wishes for the season ahead, and for the new year.

  16. Congrats on the Instagram success, wow free cocktails, sounds worth doing. Crazy up and down weather in Sydney at the moment, I can do without the 42deg days, especially when I have to go out working on the farm in it and the swimming pool has gone green!!!! Enjoy your Christmas break I’ll look forward to seeing you again in 2016…

  17. When you were posting this I was on a coach chugging back from my daughter’s. Don’t know how much I’ve missed but I’ll try and catch up in the Christmas ‘lull’, you famous person, you πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚
    This ‘first’ Christmas will be a strange one for you, without Mum. Hope you find peace.

  18. Well deserved on the Instagram front Lignum, who knows, you might get a sponsored gig out of it – travel and photography sponsored by . . . . . Leica! Instagram gets a bad wrap because of all the selfie/bad foodie shots but there is so much great work out there to explore and I always look forward to seeing you there.

    Enjoy your break (wow on the heat front!). It has been a big year for you and I hope you get to wind down in a quiet space. Or a noisier one if that’s what you want!

    • Thanks, Patti. Yes, there’s a lot of photos on line that probably shouldn’t be there, but finding good work is a pleasure.

      Wishing you a wonderful Christmas break too. Hope it’s not too cold where you are.

  19. LB says:

    In the last two or three weeks, I’ve found Instagram but am sure I’m using it incorrectly. I’ll look for you there πŸ™‚
    I’d definitely be on the bike getting some much needed air conditioning if I lived in 107 degree temps.
    Happiest of holidays to you, and enjoy your break!

  20. Lignum, I am still holding out on Instagram, but I must admit this was a fun post to read, a great way to bring in the New Year ~ and best to you with your writing and photography in the New Year. Cheers to a great 2016.

    • Thank you very much. There are so many ways to get your photography “out there”. Finding the right space is a process of trial and error. This blog will always be my main site. I hope 2016 has started off well for you.

  21. Congratulations on succeeding on Instagram!! πŸ™‚ And very good to hear you stuck to your usual photography. Food photography can be wonderful if done effectively, but photos of what everyone had for lunch….mmm…there’s a lot of those!! πŸ˜€
    A favourite food website of mine on Tumblr called ‘Butteryplanet’ does some amazing mouthwatering gifs from beautiful film footage. Definitely don’t want to visit that website when you’re hungry!!

    It’s good to know that some interesting connections have come out of this – introduced to the General Manager of Leica Australia – wow, that’s great!

    I find Twitter and also SoundCloud extremely good for some excellent connections. I’ve been in contact on Twitter with some fairly well known writers of poetry, one does occasional radio broadcasts for BBC Radio Four, and yet she always answers her comments on Twitter and her blog, such a lovely lady. I have in the past found a lot well known writers to be a bit stand-offish (I’m a writer now, and I don’t communicate with my fans) 😦 And I’m not taking about really famous ones like JK Rowling. If I was a writer like that I’d be pleased with the comments!

    I extracted myself from Facebook, and I’m so glad I did before I drowned in a heap of garbage – oooohhh, I don’t like Facebook at all! Have you ever tried Facebook?

    Love your sea/swimming pool picture, the green of the pool looks lovely against the blue sea – very inviting!! πŸ™‚

    A shop closed due to the heatwave – why, had the staff melted?! It’s amusing to see it was November….if only we had a heatwave in November!! πŸ˜€

    • I won’t use Facebook at all. I’m glad you got out of it. Instagram is enough for me and I only post about 3 times a week. Have to keep my feet grounded in the real world. πŸ™‚ But social media does provide useful connections and communications so I think it is worth the effort. I agree it’s annoying when some people won’t answer genuine direct questions.

      The closed shop is a tailor and menswear shop. Maybe he didn’t want sweaty people trying on his clothes. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Thanks very much, Suzy. I hope the new year has started off well for you.

  22. It’s so interesting to hear about your Instagram experiences! I’m just starting to use it more and it truly is amazing how much local businesses and people will interact with you. I haven’t gotten invitations to any cocktail parties yet – but good to know there’s still hope!

I am currently at a conference/workshop. Please leave your comment and I'll reply to you when I can.

