cockatoo

Sydney August – September 2015 (8 photos)

I see it but I don’t believe it!!!

boulangerie

Fire up the oven. Start baking those almond croissants again. Someone get the coffee.

plane

Spread the news far and wide.

cat

Get the cat off the sofa…

Draco is back!

zebra

Is everything ready?

Overture. Curtains. Lights.

roadrunner

This is it, the night of nights
No more rehearsing and nursing a part
We know every part by heart

coyote

Overture, curtains, lights
This is it, we’ll hit the heights
And oh what heights we’ll hit
On with the show this is it

speedy

February. I thought it was “time” to make an appearance again.

Over at the Weekly Photo Challenge, this week’s topic is Vibrant . I hope this series of street art seen and photographed around the Newtown area of Sydney is suitable for the challenge. If not, then maybe my imagination might be vibrant enough instead.

Leica Etcetera, Photography Etcetera

On with the show…

Image

96 thoughts on “On with the show…

  1. Amazing street art captures, Dragon. That one of the bakery looks impressive. If one was half asleep, they might think that is the real deal… Welcome back. Hope you get to have some tasty almond croissants this year πŸ™‚

  2. So good to see you back with a bang. The street art certainly fits the brief, so vibrant it all glows, especially that zebra, he is right in your face. Congratulations on your WP photo challenge this week “time” is a wide open theme for interpretation.

  3. Perfect for the challenge! What amazes me is that I have seen a shed load of murals in Newtown but have not seen the predominance of these. I’ll keep my eye out, but great to see them here. My favorites are the zebra and the cockatoo. Good to see you back.

    • OK, it would be remiss of me to not let you see these if you have the time. So here’s an itinerary.

      Start off at Shenkin Kitchen 129 Enmore Road and have the Shakshuka eggs with chorizo for breakfast/brunch. Just trust me on that. Tell them Draco sent you. πŸ™‚ Next door is the shop which is the lead photo for my post in my Penny Lane post. . Go west about two blocks and north one block to the corner of Cavendish and Cambridge Sts, which I think is the location of the Parisian street mural. Come back to 181 Enmore Road, the Cow and Moon Gelato store, the gelato world tour champion in 2014. I recommend 3 flavours in 1 cup. Do not pass without buying something in there. Then cross the road and south 1 block is Enmore Lane to see the Looney Tunes characters. The art in this area is rather transient so there may be something else by now.

      Several blocks south is 10 Pearl St at the corner of Alice lane to see the cockatoo mural. Go east on Alice Lane to see the zebra mural. You may find other treasures on the way. Happy adventuring.

  4. Ah Newtown. Definitely a vibrant part of Sydney. Like many others, I am loving that zebra. Although that cool cockatoo is great as well.

    And welcome back Draco! Your presence has been missed. I was just thinking the other week about when you’d be ready to return. I hope all is well.

    • Thank you very much, Sandy. The vibrancy of the murals was a pleasant surprise. Really great artwork.
      All’s well. I didn’t expect the fireworks over the Opera house last night but that was a pleasant surprise too. Sadly I didn’t see you-know-who. Maybe next time.

  5. Haha…most definitely vibrant…welcome back to blogland!! πŸ˜€ I really like the bakery, I think that’s my favourite art piece of them all. I’d love to live in a neighbourhood coloured so brightly, it would be almost like living in a theme park!

The Wood Dragon is listening ...

