summer in the city 1

Sydney November 2014 – September 2015 (5 photos)

Summer is the season for swimsuits and beaches… but in the middle of the city???

summer in the city 2

I guess some people can’t help themselves. I think some people would go to work in their budgie smugglers* if they could.

Even a former Prime Minister of Australia was regularly photographed wearing his budgie smugglers*.

summer in the city 4

summer in the city 5

Hot town, summer in the city
Back of my neck getting dirty and gritty
Been down, isn’t it a pity
Doesn’t seem to be a shadow in the city

All around, people looking half dead
Walking on the sidewalk, hotter than a match head

Summer in the City by The Lovin’ Spoonful (1966).

summer in the city 3

I’m sorry to inform you all, but inappropriate budgie smuggling* is a crime.

Budgie smugglers is an Australian slang term for men’s tight-fitting Speedo-style swimwear. The term refers to the ‘lump in the front’ which apparently resembles a budgerigar (Australian parakeet) as if it were stuffed down the front of someone’s shorts.

Leica Etcetera, Photography Etcetera

Summer in the City

Image

100 thoughts on “Summer in the City

  1. KG says:

    πŸ˜† Oh my Gosh!
    Those new words….I am not sure I pronounce them correctly, but I don’t think I will be using them anyways, so it should be OK πŸ˜›

  2. You are educating the rest of the world LD, good on yer!!! I love this so descriptive phrase, definitely “strine” , but I used to cringe every time I saw Tony flaunting in them….I love that Summer in the city song, one of my all time favourites, now I can’t get it out of my head…

  3. So, what was this all about then? And budgie smugglers may be an Aussie term, but I’ll have you know that plenty of lekker ‘Seth Efricans’ wear them too πŸ˜‰

    • I think parading in speedo’s is a Southern Hemisphere phenomenon in worship of the sun. πŸ™‚

      On December 5 2014, hundreds of people walked down Martin Place in their swimwear for the annual “Strut the Streets”, an event to support AIME mentoring.

      AIME is an educational program that supports Indigenous students through high school and into university, employment or further education at the same rate as all Australian students.

  4. I could never think of turning such pictures into Monochrome!! Good to see your street photographs again. It always inspires me to photograph more street life the way you capture it! Well there is a nasty shadow in the last image. Maybe its just my imagination πŸ˜‰

  5. I had lived in Australia many years ago, for 5.5 years. So I know what budgie smuggler is…when I read your post, I laughed! Hearing or reading about Aussie slang brings back memories πŸ™‚ But I won’t miss your 40-degrees summer heat!

    • It was a fund raising charity event. I just hope they had clothes on when catching the bus or train in to attend. πŸ™‚
      At the beach, it does seem like the people who prefer to wear them, probably shouldn’t be.

  6. Great photos and so Aussie – and what a great cause too. I hear that certain ex-prime minister made an appearance in canberra the other day – in paper mache form. His replacement doesnt strut his stuff in budgie smugglers, but in all other respects, is just as bad.

    At least ‘safari suits’ are now definetly out of fashion.

    here’s another word for your global readers – ‘gone troppo’. That’s what we used to say about sydney siders who came up to brissie and swapped their biz suits for shorts with shirt and tie and started wearing thongs down the main street of town. πŸ™‚

    • Thanks. It was a shock to see them, but they were doing it for a good reason. Gone troppo is definitely a great description for people affected by the sunshine in that way – tie and thongs!

  7. Pingback: Mundane Monday Challenge #48 | PhoTrablogger

  8. ok, a chocolate post, now a post about budgie smugglers… omg, what’s next? lol…

    I can see you published this in February… when I was wearing three jackets (at home) just to keep warm lol πŸ™‚ amazing world…

    • It’s autumn here now and 30C today. I’m sweating and sweltering in the heat. Yes, it’s a strange world.

      I’ll see what else I can rustle up to surprise and shock. πŸ™‚

I am currently overseas on holidays. Please leave your comment and I will reply to you when I can.

