photographers 3

Sydney July 2013 – Melbourne March 2016 (10 photos + 1 bonus)

When I’m out shooting on the street, I just like to shoot whatever comes my way. I like to take completely candid photographs. I like to witness and record life without disturbing it or being witnessed myself.

photographers 8

However, there is one thing I like to photograph more than others.

Secret agent man 1

One love of mine is to photograph other photographers.

photographers 2

In fact, I’ll even deliberately go out of my way to try to photograph them close and from in front.

photographers 7

Ok, not this guy. If caught, he looks like he could hurt me seriously with just a stare.

the hype

It’s like an old fashioned shoot-out. Who’ll win?

photographers 5

Oh no – too slow.

photographers 6

Come on! I’m standing right in front of you with one hand tied behind my back to give you an even chance.

photographers

Photography is a popular hobby for many people. All of them looking to make a great image. And at the heart of the image is the vision of the photographer. Their unique vision, passion and essence trying to shine through. I’d like to think that my vision occasionally shines through in my photography.

At the heart of the image is also a slogan for Nikon. I guess this woman truly believes in this message.
Why else would she leave the tag on her camera?

photographers 10

Not bad for manual focus with photographer and subject both walking directly at one another.

Here’s a recent shot from my Instagram feed, @lignumdraco. Yes, I’m diversifying my style, and you can find me there when I’m not here.

#lignumdraco0093

Leica Etcetera, Photography Etcetera

At the heart of the image

Image

67 thoughts on “At the heart of the image

  1. The guy with the tatts…you have a good instinct for self-preservation. Love that last photo. I seriously thought about joining Instagram, but it seems you need to upload from a mobile device and I just ain’t into carrying a mobile device (not even a smart phone!) around with me.

    • Thank you. Basic survival instincts are important to have. πŸ™‚
      You’re not alone regarding smart phones. Yes, instagram is all about the instant and posts can only be made from a smart phone, I believe.

  2. Fun conversation between you and R πŸ™‚ I know my camera has changed my life in many ways.
    From now on, I’m going to be very careful about my posture when I take photos, just in case… πŸ™‚ Really enjoyed these candid shots, Dragon.

  3. Are they ALL Nikons then? I did notice they are all carrying ‘proper’ cameras and not using phones or iPads. Having recently upgraded to a Windows phone after years of a basic Nokia I had the ahem… pleasure of using it to take photos the other day. Now I really do not understand why or how anyone would use an iPad to take photos! The process was painful. Love your portrait image LD.

    • Nikons, Canon and Sonys at least.

      I recall someone stating they did not like smart phone technology previously, but I forget who that was. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Even I must admit, the quality of camera in new phones these day is quite remarkable. And their size makes them very discrete for street photography.

      The portrait was taken during a photography workshop I attended with an Australian photographer who used to work in NY and Hollywood.

      • Well this is my first smart phone(?) and the camera seems fine though I haven’t explored all the options and there are many! It’s just odd not to have a trigger to press and I’m sure pressing the screen ‘button’ must make the camera move! I’m not counting on it for my main camera πŸ˜‰

        And judging the result of your workshop image I reckon you should have your own studio (or maybe you do? I forget what work you are in).

        • You’ll get used to it with time. Many street photographers only use a phone camera. I doubt any of us ever use the full capabilities of our phones, cameras or editing software. Personally, I have the pdf version of the manual for my camera downloaded onto my phone for those times when I need a little help.

          For me, photography is entirely a hobby. A studio just seems like a lot of money to setup and I don’t have the spare room in my house. πŸ™‚

  4. I agree with your sentiments – that burly guy with the tattoos has a sort of “don’t mess with me” attitude. You got lucky there. As Amy said, I think I will also watch my posture when I’m out taking photos. Not because I don’t want to stand out, but for fear of toppling over when getting a shot πŸ™‚

  5. such a great post, Lignum πŸ™‚ I’ve seen photographers in very funny poses in the street lol… as you said, we share the same passion while each looking for an individual take πŸ™‚

    am happy to see the last shot here as well.. this series deserves a special post… πŸ™‚ brilliant…

    • None of them caught me. πŸ™‚ The one with the Arnotts bag was (discretely?) putting her camera bag in the Arnotts bag which looked so interesting that I walked into her path and took her shot.
      I have a couple of ready made answers if I get questioned, but haven’t been so far.

  6. infatti questa immagine ultima molto romantica e sognante esce dal tuo consueto, bellissima ok, ed Γ¨ bello diversificare ma io preferisco alla grande tutte le altre iron icamente esilaranti con la compagnia dei sottotitoli, sei un grande!
    πŸ™‚

  7. Pingback: Recommended reading | Down the Road

  8. Your street photography is always spot on, and your captions sooo entertaining (funny!) but I have to say, portraiture looks like your next fortΓ©. Your last shot is amazing!

  9. I really love the picture of the girl at the bar, and I see you’ve got a slightly different one on Instagram. Was that a posed shot, or taken your usual way? The light on her face looks perfect and the vibrant purple bar counter and other colours in the background look gorgeous! πŸ™‚

    It’s amazing you come across so many people with such professional cameras, how times have changed! When I was getting into photography in my early 20’s I felt I was the only one in my village who had an SLR camera. I’m sure I wasn’t, but I was the only one seen using that kind of camera. But…to be honest it was a boring place to live – certainly nowhere close to Sydney!

    The tag – is that literally hanging off her camera? If you hadn’t said I would have thought it was part of her clothes!!! πŸ˜€

  10. Diversified Dragon – no objections from this end πŸ˜€ I like them all, but somehow am more impressed with candids you are so masterful at.

I am currently overseas on holidays. Please leave your comment and I will reply to you when I can.

