Colour my world

Sydney March 2016 (5 photos)

You’ll never see a dark cloud hanging ’round me
Now there is only blue sky to surround me
There’s never been a grey day since you found me
Everything I touch is turning to gold

So you can colour my world with sunshine yellow each day
Oh you can colour my world with happiness all the way
Just take the green from the grass and the blue from the sky up above
And if you colour my world, just paint it with your love
Just colour my world

Colour my world-2

Just as long as I know you’re thinking of me
There’ll be a rainbow always up above me
Since I found the one who really loves me
Everything I touch is turning to gold

So you can colour my world with sunshine yellow each day
Oh you can colour my world with happiness all the way
Just take the green from the grass and the blue from the sky up above
And if you colour my world, just paint it with your love
Just colour my world

Sunshine yellow, orange blossom
Laughing faces everywhere, yeah

Colour my world-3

So you can colour my world with sunshine yellow each day
Oh you can colour my world with happiness all the way
Just take the green from the grass and the blue from the sky up above
And if you colour my world, just paint it with your love
Just colour my world

Colour my world
Oh, colour my world.

Colour my world-5

“Colour My World” is a song written by Tony Hatch and Jackie Trent and recorded by Petula Clark in 1966. It acknowledged the sound of the later 1960s by featuring a riff played on the sitar. Recorded in New York City, “Colour My World” was rush released in December 1966 in an attempt to counteract the disappointing performance of Clark’s preceding single “Who Am I?” which had fallen short of the US Top 20 and more seriously had become the first Petula Clark single since “Downtown” (1964) to not rank in the UK Top 50.

Colour my world-4

City Walls is a series of street art projects presented by Art & About Sydney and Elliott Routledge of Funstudio.

I’ve already shown you the first artwork in the City Walls project, To Be Free Is To Have No Fear in a recent post.

For the second artwork in the City Walls project, one of the world’s most renowned mural artists has transformed a pocket of the Kent Street underpass into a vibrant canvas.

Using his trademark primary colours and love of practical geometry, MOMO has created a technicolour dream. Known for being the pioneer of the abstract movements within large scale public art walls, MOMO is an artist working in public spaces with homemade tools. His current interests lie with an evolving range of adapted masonry techniques to draft, design, and organise wall murals.

Born in San Francisco, MOMO has travelled most of his life, lived in New York for six years and currently keeps a studio in New Orleans. He has previously created a double-façade 5 story printed vinyl mural in Manhattan, a 73 metre tall mural in downtown Philadelphia, and a 61 metre long mural between the Brooklyn and Manhattan Bridges in Brooklyn. This is his first painting in Australia.

I was photographing this artistic urban landscape when suddenly, a man dressed in white shirt and black pants just came and sat down, surrounded by all this colour. From my perspective, the timing was perfect and this is a perfect addition to the Half light Weekly Photography Challenge.

Leica Etcetera, Photography Etcetera

Colour my world

Image

75 thoughts on “Colour my world

  1. Colour My World. I vaguely remember that tune when I listened to the oldies station as a kid – it was my parents’ choice to listen to the station. Perfect timing indeed with these shots. He looks absorbed with his phone and tablet. If I were there, I’d be admiring the coloruful art right at my feet 🙂 But I like the detachment aspect of this photo, but can’t point my finger on it why.

  2. What an incredible city street art project, This song lyrics that interweaved with your remarkable photos made MOMO’s art work even more beautiful! 🙂

  3. the black-and-white man provides such a great contrast to all those vivid colors… and balance at the same time 🙂 beautiful post, especially with the lyrics to that song… 🙂

  4. The colours are all painted ? I thought it was a carpet or floor covering when I first looked at it. The photographs are definitely better with people in them. Otherwise, it lacks a subject.

    • Yes, all paint on concrete. I would have liked to have seen it being painted. 🙂

      I’m surprised they didn’t put more mature plants into the nature area in the middle. A small tree would have been nice.

  5. si potesse colorare così tutto il mondo forse le guerre e le cattiverie non avrebbero più ragione di esistere! un reportage di cui mi sono innamorata accostato a bellissime parole!

  6. And I thought it was going to be:

    As time goes on,
    I realize
    Just what you mean
    To me
    And now,
    Now that you’re near,
    Promise your love
    That I’ve waited to share
    And dreams
    Of our moments together
    Color my world with hope of loving you

    Boy…was I wrong. But your post was brilliant 🙂

    • Well, of course the lyrics of Chicago would come to your mind immediately. 🙂

      Thank you. The song came straight into my mind as I came across this small oasis. A man dressed in B&W surrounded by colour and sitting on some sunshine yellow. 🙂 Perfect! 🙂

  7. This is such a surreal series of shots ~ and matches the music you’ve listed as well. Perfect. This is the first I’ve heard of Petula Clark, and, of course, matching with your post so well – she’s perfect, vintage. The geometric patterns and hues…with your last shot being my favorite.

    • Thanks, it’s a very vibrant burst of colour for this city. Much needed.

      Petula Clark is an English singer/actor, so I suppose that’s why she seems more familiar to me than my American friends.

      • I’m amazed at the number quality artists that were big around the world and for some strange reason did not make it in the USA. There have been some nice discoveries over the years…

        • With technology today, it’s much easier to get your name and art/music known to a wider audience, even with only a modicum of talent. For Australians, simply breaking onto the American scene was difficult enough and considered a major success in years gone by.

  8. Colour my world it certainly did. But I noticed no one was looking at all that vibrant colour, just going about their daily “whatevers” mainly with their heads down. I guess after a while things just become common place, and the black and white man is the perfect counterpoint to all that colour. I Googled MOMO and he has some amazing murals around the world, all similar, with vibrant colours and geometric shapes. Another beautiful part of Sydney and an interesting artist you have introduced me to LD

    • Yes, even the extraordinary becomes ordinary after a while. People go back into their own world.

      MOMO’s work is so vibrant. I’m glad he came to Australia to do this.

  9. Oh my gosh, what a great find! It makes me feel happy just looking at your photos of the space. I can’t believe people were just walking by…

    • I guess if you walk past everyday to/from work, the wonder wears off a bit.

      You’d enjoy seeing this. The building in the background is 1 York St. Catch the train to Wynyard. Let me know when, and I’ll come to photograph you. 🙂 🙂 🙂

      • I’d like to think/hope that the wonder doesn’t wear off, especially when street art can be so temporary.
        Also, I knew it was too easy to get the location off you. I may need to wear a disguise when visiting 😉

        • I agree. Street art is only ever temporary. Enjoy it while you can.

          You’re like one of those criminals who leaves clues to taunt the police. Secretly they want to be caught, just as you secretly want to be photographed by me. 🙂 😉 🙂

  10. It’s interesting what you said about the songs of Petula Clark – Who Am I doesn’t have that same upbeat feel or classic 60’s melody, where as Colour My World does, perhaps that’s why it failed so badly. Down Town (a favourite of mine!) has an even more positive vibe. And what young person doesn’t love the idea of going out for a great night, and casting all the heaviness of their week away?! Those song writers knew what words would make megabucks!! 😀

    Some of the best pictures I’m pretty sure are lucky moments, and the appropriately dressed man is a very good example of that! But why so little interest in sitting in such a colourful place? He’s all on his own! You’re pictures really highlight the sheer fun and bursting brightness of that art. I wonder if it feels too zingy for a lot of people to handle? Often people choose serene colours, like soft grass green and grey, or blueish water to chill out with. But a great place to take a photo shoot! 🙂

    • In all honesty, Downtown and Colour My World are the only songs of Petula Clark that I know, and I could practically sing them word perfect. Yes, we all love an upbeat song and tune.

      The colours are very loud at that small oasis and as you say, that may be off putting. Or else, people know that sitting there is a guarantee of being photographed? 🙂 The man in black and white was one of the luckiest moments I’ve come across. 🙂

The Wood Dragon is listening ...

