I've got to wear shades 1

Sydney December 2014 – March 2016 (9 photos)

I study nuclear science, I love my classes
I got a crazy teacher who wears dark glasses
Things are going great, and they’re only getting better
I’m doing alright, getting good grades
The future’s so bright
I gotta wear shades
I gotta wear shades

Secret agent man 2

I gotta job waiting for my graduation
Fifty thou a year will buy a lotta beer
Things are going great, and they’re only getting better
I’m doing alright, getting good grades
The future’s so bright
I gotta wear shades
I gotta wear shades

I've got to wear shades 7

I’m heavenly blessed and worldy wise
I’m a peeping-tom techy with x-ray eyes
Things are going great, and they’re only getting better
I’m doing alright, getting good grades
The future’s so bright
I gotta wear shades
I gotta wear shades

I've got to wear shades 6

I study nuclear science, I love my classes
I got a crazy teacher who wears dark glasses
Things are going great, and they’re only getting better
I’m doing alright, getting good grades
The future’s so bright I gotta wear shades
I gotta wear shades
I gotta wear shades
I gotta wear shades

I've got to wear shades 3

“The Future’s So Bright, I Gotta Wear Shades” is a song by Timbuk3. It is the opening track from their debut album, Greetings from Timbuk3. Released as the album’s first single in 1986, it was the band’s only significant mainstream hit.

I've got to wear shades 2

A lot of people who I photograph are wearing sunglasses. That’s no problem, although I would prefer to catch their eyes.

I've got to wear shades 4

However, I’m starting to see more people wearing highly reflective sunglasses. This is a bit off putting given that as I photograph from so close, my reflection and identity shows up clearly in their sunglasses if I have my focus correct.

I've got to wear shades 5

I think I need to start doing more deliberate edits of more photographs in the future. I’ve already allowed too many accidental selfies on my blog. Fortunately, hardly anyone has noticed them.

I've got to wear shades 8

Yep, that’s me in the reflection; face blocked out to protect the innocent. πŸ™‚

Leica Etcetera, Photography Etcetera

The future’s so bright…

Image

72 thoughts on “The future’s so bright…

  1. My go-to subject is cars. I work hard to avoid getting myself reflected in a chrome bumper or in highly waxed paint, but sometimes it’s impossible! Sometimes, I just give up and go with it.

    1935 Chrysler Airflow b

  2. Very interesting photo subjects. So many in Australia just love wearing sunnies. In Melbourne, I’ve spotted more than a few wearing sunnies on the train on the peak hour rush to work πŸ˜€ Reflective lenses? Just another challenge for you, Dragon πŸ˜€

    • I think they’re essential items in our sun, but people have to learn to take them off when appropriate, for example, when I’m photographing them. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  3. Cool photos, cool shades, Dragon. πŸ™‚ Such a fun post!
    If I were there, I’d have my Ray-Ben on the entire time πŸ˜‰ πŸ™‚

  4. great collection, love that photo with the guy sitting in shorts and tie under a sign “Body Electrics” πŸ˜€
    lol, the reflective sunglasses ain’t your friend, LD007? πŸ˜€

    • Thanks, Alex. That bus driver was sitting there watching everyone pass by. It was my challenge to photograph him. πŸ™‚

      I’m very careful about reflective surfaces. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  5. Well from now I am going to be peering into all those reflective sunnies. I was actually quite surprised how many in the background of your photos were not wearing sunnies, I thought everyone in Australia wore them….

  6. Ha! Bet you didn’t expect to get caught in reflective sunglasses. Love the shots, especially the second one – his “hair” above the sunnies made me laugh. Great captures all.

  7. Pingback: Recommended reading | Down the Road

  8. I’d never thought what troubles those reflective sunglasses would cause!!! And one man seems to have an entire disguise – you’d think he might have brushed his wig a little before leaving the house! πŸ˜€

    Do you remember the mirror sunglasses in the 80’s? They would be an even worse problem for you. I think they’ve returned as cool sun-glass fashion, especially for the girls. If they get too popular, I guess you’ll be doing a lot edits! πŸ˜‰

    • Must have been an outing by the local clown school. Or else, university students being silly. πŸ™‚

      Yes – a lot of editing or choosing my subjects more carefully. πŸ™‚

I am currently overseas on holidays. Please leave your comment and I will reply to you when I can.

