Secondi 1

“Decisions. Decisions. Decisions.”

Sydney June 2013 – Melbourne March 2016 (7 photos)

Secondi 3

“Where’s the waiter when you need one?”

The waitress

“Have you decided yet, ma’am? Would you like a few more minutes to decide?”

Really?

“I’ll have what she’s having!”

Secondi 4

This is the street entrance to the Meatmaiden, a basement restaurant in Melbourne. Take your camera if you go. There is a fantastic stairwell to photograph here which you get a glimpse of in the photo.

I was walking past one afternoon when I saw the sign and door. Naturally I was intrigued. I quickly googled the restaurant then walked in and made a reservation for that night. Meat and lots of it, features heavily on the menu here, naturally enough. Slow cooked beef brisket seems to be their signature meat. Well worth a visit if you’re not vegetarian.

Some experiences in restaurants are the same, wherever you are in the world. I’ve tried to capture a few of these in photographs.

Secondi, a term often seen on menus for Italian Restaurants refers to the second course, or in this case, my second contribution to this week’s Weekly Photo Challenge about Dinnertime. And for the second time, a post about Dinnertime without specifically showing a photo of a dinner – risky, huh? πŸ™‚

Secondi 2

Shall we get the bill?

the surprise announcement

What do you mean it’s our turn to pay !?!?!?

Leica Etcetera, Photography Etcetera, Sony Etcetera

Secondi

Image

72 thoughts on “Secondi

  1. KG says:

    πŸ˜† The last two was so hilarious! Spot on with their expressions.
    And why is that everywhere non-vegetarians get to have SO MUCH choices. Urgh!

  2. Such a humoresque take on this week’s challenge, Dragon. You took us through the start and finish of a sit down meal where one is served. The “Shall we get the bill” is a shot with so much class. Brilliant timing, and look at that expression on his face.

  3. Amazing captures of the facial expression! I’m so glad I’m back to view these photos on my PC monitor. It looks much better than my iPhone 6+. Thanks, Dragon! πŸ™‚
    I shall not book a reservation at the Meatmaiden πŸ˜‰

  4. Loved these. I have to arrive 10 minutes before my dining companion so I can read the menu in detail without interruption! Not sure if that’s what the first guy is doing, or if he’s just dining alone. You’re right, though – some things are just universal!

    • I’m glad you enjoyed it, Jude. These are scenes we see everyday. I’m going to have to restrain myself next time I’m in a restaurant.

      That man does look so happy. I can’t help but smile. πŸ™‚

  5. You realize I will never be able to walk through the Queen Victoria building without watching every ones expressions AND keeping an extra eye open for a bloke with a sneaky camera. You manage to catch those decisive moments that tell a whole story. Definitely a post worthy of being included in the dinnertime theme.

    • You aren’t the first one, from Australia and elsewhere in the world, to say they will be on the lookout for me, so they can avoid being photographed.

      Thank you so much. I have quite a few different facial expressions captured as you may imagine. I can put together almost any story with my photos. πŸ™‚

  6. The waitress shot is my fave. I have noticed that many of your photos are taken in this same establishment. I’ll have to be sure to avoid this place if I’m ever in Sydney. πŸ˜‰

  7. Exceptional work and the expressions in the last two with the apt titling are my particular favourites. My question is: How do you manage to get these shots un-noticed?

    • Thank you. In essence I don’t draw attention to myself. I hold my camera in the same position when I’m walking, taking photos or not. It simply looks like I’m protecting it. I walk close to the tables at a steady pace which doesn’t change and I only shoot where there is enough background noise to hide the sound of the shutter release.

  8. Meatmaiden? That’s a unique name for a restaurant!! At least it’s a very loud warning to vegetarian or vegan it might not be their kind of place! πŸ˜‰

    It’s a good set of pictures about dinnertime without the need of images of meals – there’s enough of those ‘this is what I ate’ on the internet. Flat plates of food with no fragrance is not very appealing. I like to see food with some depth to it, as if I could reach out and help myself!

  9. LB says:

    You captured some excellent expressions, as always, but I think my favorite in this series is “Shall we get the bill?”
    Such animation!

  10. your caption to the last photo cracked me up lol πŸ˜€ I remember seeing the photo on a previous post… here’s the thing about your photos – unforgettable πŸ™‚

    have a great week, LD πŸ™‚

I am currently at a conference/workshop. Please leave your comment and I'll reply to you when I can.

