Charlotte 13

Melbourne March 2016 (8 photos)

Whilst in Melbourne recently, I attended a photography workshop. Basically, a group of about 12 of us met up for a photoshoot with a formerly Hollywood-based fashion photographer, a make up artist and a model, to try our hands at low light portraiture.

Charlotte 12

We started with a quick tutorial before heading into the city for some dinner. Then we hit the streets of Melbourne looking to hone our low light skills.

Charlotte 14

Charlotte 7

Our model for the night was Charlotte, a lovely woman with a beautiful photogenic face. We were all caught up in Charlotte’s web.

Charlotte 11

All photography was done in manual mode: ISO, Aperture and Shutter Speed all determined manually.

Charlotte 6

Usually I’m a candid photographer. Shooting a professional model and asking her to go through various poses was rather strange territory for me. When I review my photos from the night, I can see in the images that I gained a lot of confidence as the night progressed. These are my earlier shots when I was still kind of nervous.

Charlotte 10

A chance encounter with our instructor via my Instagram account led to a meeting in Sydney and then to my attending this workshop.

This was a great introduction to low light photography and it certainly helped that I had the same camera and lens as our instructing photographer. I would say that more in-depth teaching is best done in a one-on-one situation. People just tend to get in your way or in your shot so often.

Charlotte 9

Stay tuned for Charlotte’s Web (2) in the next post.

Leica Etcetera, Photography Etcetera

Charlotte’s Web (1)

Image

93 thoughts on “Charlotte’s Web (1)

  1. Caught in the beauty of Charlotte’s web. What a gorgeous model, and loved the way you framed your shots. They give a bit of mystery about her, as if she has traveled far and wide and seen many things. With any art form, the more you practise, the better you get at it. Great work πŸ™‚

  2. “That’s okay Lignum. You’re just a big fat dragon.” (A slight rewording of a favorite line from Charlotte’s Web.) Manual shooting? The respect meter just blew a push rod! Nice images.

  3. Expanding your knowledge and comfort zone is always a good thing. Thanks for posting those which you consider awkward. Maybe it was because the model knew what you were up to? πŸ˜‰

  4. Beautiful beyond words… Love the one she closed her eyes and the last one especially. The lighting is magnificent, Wow!!!

    • Thanks, Janet. I like that this workshop specifically did not involve the use of flash. The techniques we learnt can be used at home and at family functions. That’s practicality. πŸ™‚

  5. what a great idea to have this workshop ! This must be a very good way to improve your skills, I should try ! These pictures are already great. Let us see the others πŸ™‚

    • Mostly I’m self taught, but this is the second workshop I’ve been to. I think it is a very useful experience. I like learning specific topics, rather than general photography courses.

  6. Wonderful opportunity and your photos are very inviting to the viewer’s eye.
    Lovely work as always. Looking forward to the next instalment.

  7. I’m very impressed, especially as you say they were manual every thing. What a beautiful model you had to work with too. I’m looking forward to the next group of photos. So are you telling us the next will be better!!!

  8. A lovely face and you have captured her very beautifully. I like the sad/thoughtful ones and that one with her eyes closed. An audience? Ooh- very scarey! Have a happy week! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  9. I like these shots and how you’ve used the little light. I can imagine it was a bit out of your comfort zone. But the results are good, intriguing even, in the poses. Waiting to see more …

  10. You don’t need a workshop, but it is a cool way to hang out with people with same interests (I guess). The girl has an interesting face and the light is beautiful. πŸ™‚

  11. I, too, applaud your pushing yourself into new areas. Very daunting, Easy to back out. Your results are really quite good–you have captured her face and the backgrounds nicely. They certainly don’t look like practice shots.
    Now, if I could just take that to heart and get out and learn a few new things on my own. πŸ™‚

  12. Pingback: Charlotte’s Web (2) | Etcetera Etcetera Etcetera

  13. fantastic and yey to new experience and stepping out of our comfort zone as photographers πŸ™‚ have you used additional lighting? or you were using available light on the street? the clarity of the shots is mind-blowing… I can never get this good focus in low light… awesome job, LD!!

  14. Ah, these excellent!! πŸ™‚ This is a subject I really love with photography. I haven’t done any set up photo sessions with people for years, but I’d love to do that again one day. I can see what you mean about other photographers getting in your way..oh dear! 😐 I can imagine that would be a real problem. I’ve never felt uncomfortable directing a model, but I might feel that in a situation like this, too many people around me would be a distraction and possibly make me feel less confident about what I’m trying to do.

    I never went on any of those model/photo events, I wasn’t convinced I’d like that set up, I always photographed friends and relatives in the comfort of my own or their home. A cousin of mine just happened to be into modelling at the time, so I guess I got lucky!

    You might enjoy a one to one photo shoot a lot more, I guess it also depends on the person your photographing too. I saw a young photographer taking pictures of a Goth model in a garden/park in the city last summer, it was really interesting to see that. I was busy taking my own pictures and video of the garden, but kept an eye on them, I should have taken some secret shots like you do – but that’s where I feel uncomfortable, I’d be concerned the subject might object. Don’t think candid photography is for me, even though I do like some of it.

    I like the low level light, that’s very attractive. My favourite picture is the one where the blue wall is at it’s brightest with her eyes closed. Well done, I hope you do more some time! πŸ™‚

    • Thank you very much. I’ve never really given much thought to portrait photography before. I think to do a one on one photo shoot is something I might try one day. However, I’d need to have a clear aim as to the photos and look I want to achieve and that is a major stumbling look. Street photography is just whatever comes my way. To actually plan a look/style and appropriate location is completely different for me.

      • You would need to do some planning, but strangely I often found the end result was slightly different to what I had planned. I got used to that eventually and didn’t worry so much about the planning.

        Maybe you could keep it simple to start with, take your chosen model to one of those sculpture venues you’ve photographed before, I’m sure the right sculpture in the background would look great, as long as your model is happy with the venue. Or even walking down the street – you could arrange to meet, as you pass, take your picture…could be interesting to see what results you get. Or maybe some street art a a background, that’s very popular at the moment. I found using flash for portraits indoors was a great experience, but gets a lot more complicated. I really loved natural light through windows, that was how I first started. Daylight softly diffused is easy to work with, and can be very attractive. At least now, you have a huge advantage – you can see what your results are immediately, I used to send mine to a professional processing lab, it took a week or two to discover I didn’t quite get it right! πŸ˜€

        I used to make sure I took loads of pictures (because I didn’t really know what I was doing!) so I’d always get at least one good result.

  15. I love the second picture.. Charlotte standing in way to the Subway… The crowd moves around her and she stands there. Says a lot, that one shot. Beautifully captured.

  16. Nice to meet you online! I searched low light photography and stumbled upon your blog. I am an aspiring low light p photographer myself! My name is Linda and I just started up my own low light photography blog an hour ago and an looking to make my first connections with other photographers! I would like to say that I really enjoy your work and an looking for any tips that you have learned. Please feel free to contact me!

    • Thank you very much for your visit. This workshop was my first foray into low light photography. It was very helpful getting an expert’s tuition initially. The rest is practice and experience.

The Wood Dragon is listening ...

