Vivid 2016 117

Sydney May – June 2016 (16 photos)

This is Part 7 of my 8 part VIVID Sydney 2016 series.

A few years ago, the organisers of Vivid contacted me and asked if I would like to be more involved in Vivid. After a bit of thought, I agreed. Fast track to 2016…

Each year the Darling Harbour area hosts a water theatre. Water jets burst with colour, and pulsate and gyrate with music.

Vivid 2016 110

Laser lights have also become incorporated into the shows. Fire also adds to the drama.

In fact, this year the latest incarnation of the multimedia water theatre features four video projected water-screens, forty 20m-high vertical fountains, sixteen 25m-high moving fountains, twenty-two 15m-high flame jets, and ten powerful lasers.

But more importantly…

Vivid 2016 135

Enter, the Dragon.

A world-first: a 13m moving robotic arm, dubbed the Dragon. The Dragon is able to project a moving water screen floating high above fifty-six fountains, arranged in snake-like coils. It also spews forth fire. But that’s not all.

Vivid 2016 113

Who wants to have fun?

Vivid 2016 151

Are we having fun, yet!?!?!?

Vivid 2016 125

The Laser-Dragon Water Theatre was created by Oracle-Liquid in collaboration with Vivid Sydney, Sydney Harbour Foreshore Authority, Darling Harbour Alliance and The Pulse. Shows ran every half an hour. Three shows in total.

Vivid 2016 115

As part of the deal, I agreed to show my face.

Are you ready for this???

Vivid 2016 142

Behold, the face of the Dragon!!!

Vivid 2016 139

Vivid 2016 145

This calls for something extra special. Look up!!!

Vivid 2016 133

Vivid 2016 121

Vivid 2016 149

Vivid 2016 150

Vivid 2016 124

The above account of my involvement may or may not be true.

….

Vivid 2016 62

This is Part 7 of my 8 part VIVID Sydney 2016 series.

All of my photography from this series and previous years of VIVID Sydney going back to 2012 can be found here:
VIVID Sydney page

Leica Etcetera, Photography Etcetera

VIVID 2016: Enter, The Dragon

Image

73 thoughts on “VIVID 2016: Enter, The Dragon

  1. KG says:

    ha ha ha ha! I laughed so hard when I finally saw The Dragon! No offense ๐Ÿ˜‰ I should have guessed it would be something like this rather than have my eyes and ears all perked up and ready, almost looking like that dragon ๐Ÿ˜›

  2. Whether the account is true or not (I’m guessing yes, I have lots of faith in you), that was a great buildup to showing your face. You were very convincing, and wow, what a face in the end ๐Ÿ˜€ Always thought you were more warmer hued, but blue looks great on you.

    Marvellous night shots all round. Very crisp, especially the last one ๐Ÿ™‚

    • It’s always a shock when I reveal my face in public. But people get used to it. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Thanks very much. I’m thinking I should try out White Night in Melbourne one year.

  3. What a teaser! ๐Ÿ˜‰ It’s early in the morning, and I haven’t had my coffee yet. Otherwise, I probably would know better. I think.
    Love your photos, as always!
    Have a wonderful day. (Probably laughing at us ๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. Pingback: Birds in Flight | The World Is a Book...

  5. OMG, blue face!!! This is hilarious, I almost died laughing ๐Ÿ˜€ …
    Love these water theatre shots, Dragon! It must be extremely challenging to get photos this beautiful, colorful, and clear… Wow!

    • When I saw the dragon face appear through the mist, I got excited. I knew I could finally reveal my face. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Thanks, Amy. Lasers are very difficult to photograph on the fast shutter speeds I had to use to catch the action. A tripod is a vital part of night photography.

    • Thank you. There’s a large variety of different light installations. Here, it is best to try and see the fireworks, too. It’s great fun.

      The last part will be next week. Have a wonderful weekend.

    • LOL. Also at Darling Harbour was a booth where you could have your face photographed and then projected onto a water screen. Those photos have been conveniently omitted. ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

      Thanks for the visit. One more to come. No surprise what that will be about.

    • Thanks so much. I’m glad you enjoyed it. The idea came to me immediately when I knew what the water theatre at Darling Harbour was about. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Also the Bruce Lee title was the title of my very first post, about nothing. ๐Ÿ™‚ Have a great weekend.

  6. While I cursored slowly through this I heard myself gasp several times, and then burst into laughter. Your fine work on VIVID photographs, and this amazing technological and spirited show, were a delight. Thank you Draco.

  7. tutto questo รจ fantasmagoricamente incredibile!
    ho usato una incredibile parola della lingua italiana che forse non puรฒ essere tradotta in inglese, in quella parola ci sono dentro stupore, ammirazione, meraviglia!

  8. LB says:

    oh my gosh, I feel like I was there (almost).
    All the photos are great, and I’m glad you included the one of the people taking pics with their cell phones. For some reason, it made me feel the excitement of the crowd.

  9. This look like explosive colourful fun!! ๐Ÿ˜€ A water screen is hard to imagine how it works, looks like a hologram from the distance. This is definitely something I’d love to see, especially with music. And thanks for the face…haha…knew you wouldn’t!!! ๐Ÿ˜€

The Wood Dragon is listening ...

