Uluru deadwood 16

A selection of Dead Tree Landscapes.

Uluru – Northern Territory June 2016 (7 photos)

Uluru deadwood 5

As I mentioned in my previous post, Beyond the Black Stump, there are many dead and burnt trees in this region of Australia.

Uluru deadwood 7

I’m not sure why but dead trees exude a photographic aesthetic that is hard to deny.

Uluru deadwood 8

The raw grain of the textures and form of dead trees is highly photogenic.

Uluru deadwood 6

Monochrome photography emphasises this.

Uluru deadwood 11

The 2 tree stumps below were only about 1 metre high. I got in close and shot them in portrait mode to emphasise their narrow form.

Uluru deadwood 9

Leica Etcetera, Photography Etcetera

Raw Grain

Image

52 thoughts on “Raw Grain

  1. isabellaesthermariarose says:

    I love monochrome photography and I have a special affinity with dead trees. These are superb examples, beautifully captured.

  2. To me, those bare trees look like they have many hands, many hands that each are of a different shape and size with different stories to tell. And that makes them look like humans – or that is what gives them a hint of humanity. Perhaps that’s why they can be such fascinating photo subjects. Sharp as usual, Dragon πŸ™‚

  3. Dead trees are difficult to photo.You captured the magnificent and majesty of these. Enjoyed so much of this Uluru series! Thank you, Mr. Dragon!

  4. The black and white adds an extra dimension of drama. There is indeed something photogenic about dead trees. I learned that during my visit to Deadvlei in Namibia.

  5. KG says:

    Oooh!!! The last one is soooo beautiful! These kind of trees have a story of their own to tell just like the ruins of any civilisation. Loved the photographs.

  6. LB says:

    yes, to all that you’ve said. My eye is always drawn to these trees, what we called snags when I worked for the Forest Service.
    That last image is wonderful!

  7. They are very striking indeed, and it’s strange how black and white emphasises that all the more. Dead trees are also a favourite for artists too. I haven’t painted that many pictures, but the paintings I completed all have trees in them. I’ll have to try a dead tree next time! πŸ™‚

I am currently overseas on holidays. Please leave your comment and I will reply to you when I can.

