The Dawn Patrol 26

Kata Tjuta – Northern Territory June 2016 (12 photos)

Having secured the air space over Uluru and with the strains of The Ride of the Valkyries continuing to resonate in my mind, the dawn patrol changes course and heads toward the rocky outcrops of Kata Tjuta.

Kata Tjuta 14

I assume my shooting position and commence another strafing run…

The Dawn Patrol 27

The Dawn Patrol 29

With a view like this, it’s hard not to have a good morning.

The Dawn Patrol 30

Kata Tjuta, formerly known as The Olgas, is a group of large ancient rock formations approximately 30 kilometres away from Uluru in Australia’s Red Centre. It is composed of 36 domes. Kata Tjuta is sacred to the Anangu people, who have inhabited the area for more than 22,000 years. The sandstone domes of Kata Tjuta are believed to be around 500 million years old.

The Dawn Patrol 32

Having encountered no resistance, we admire the view then turn around and return to base.

The Dawn Patrol 35

The Dawn Patrol 36

I resist the temptation to lean all the way out. After a while, it’s very easy to just forget there are no doors.

The Dawn Patrol 39

The Red Desert looks surprisingly green. In the weeks before I arrived, there was some very good rainfall in this area. The desert sprang to life very quickly.

The Dawn Patrol 40

A safe landing follows.

The Dawn Patrol 41

Another mission successfully accomplished for the dawn patrol. Thanks, Annika.

The Dawn Patrol 42

I get out of the helicopter with a smile on my face. It’s not so cold anymore.

A quick inspection – no one returned fire at us. It was a very good morning.

Leica Etcetera, Photography Etcetera

The Dawn Patrol

Image

62 thoughts on “The Dawn Patrol

  1. KG says:

    That shadow of the helicopter one is a lovely shot. Timed perfectly 🙂
    I thought you might hang from that dragon tail of yours to capture the shot in the 5th photograph from the last 😉

  2. Great captures of this majestic place! Hard to imaging “…it’s very easy to just forget there are no doors.” Glad you enjoyed so much and came back safe. 🙂

  3. Hmm like I said previously, I don’t know if I’d forget that there are no doors. I’m not a great flyer but not outright phobic. So, I’m sure the lure of good photographs would convince me that it’s an idea worth considering. Especially after seeing the marvellous views you captured that morning.

    • It’s funny. If I went to an open observation deck of a tall building or the edge of a canyon, I couldn’t go near the edge. But there was no problem with an open helicopter. The seatbelt makes all the difference. 🙂

  4. You’d have to be a real party pooper to resist the good vibes from that experience. If only all mornings began that way. 😉 I love the greenery against that rich red. Well done again, sir.

  5. Resisting the temptation to lean all the way out….aaahhh! 😯 I don’t think I would, I’d be like a statue I’m sure! What a gorgeous scene to see at dawn! 500 million years old makes the cathedral and castle where I live as though they were new builds!! 😉 That’s mega years!!! 😀

  6. LB says:

    I was so excited to see another post with shots from the helicopter! As expected, the images are exquisite and I had to chuckle over “commence another strafing run”.

I am currently at a conference/workshop. Please leave your comment and I'll reply to you when I can.

