Orchestral Maneuvres in the Dark 2

Sydney August 2016 (7 photos)

A couple of weekends ago, I attended a night photography workshop.

Orchestral Maneuvres in the Dark 6

As part of the proceedings, a couple of performers came to act as photographic subjects for the evening.

Orchestral Maneuvres in the Dark 3

This woman performed with 2 illuminated hula hoops.

Orchestral Maneuvres in the Dark 5

She created beautiful patterns in the night air with those hula hoops. It gave us a chance to play with long exposures of the coloured lights, their patterns, and her dynamic movements. No tripods that evening.

Orchestral Maneuvres in the Dark 7

She was like a conductor, creating magical patterns of light; lovely Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark.

Orchestral Maneuvres in the Dark 4

It was a bit of fun on a cold Winter’s night.

Orchestral Maneuvres in the Dark 1

I thought I’d take a short break from my Uluru photographic series. A couple more posts to come in that series yet.

Leica Etcetera, Photography Etcetera

Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark

Image

75 thoughts on “Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark

    • It’s amazing what light patterns were revealed by the long exposures. She practically enveloped herself in light within a couple of seconds. Just watching a non-illuminated hula hoop, you don’t appreciate the skill involved to get these patterns.

      All handheld but high ISO and wide apertures. Not easy, but possible. πŸ™‚

  1. No tripods, just hand-held. Brilliant work. I can never get such crisp shots like that just by hand held. Then again, I suppose the shutter speed wasn’t all too long…you just had to get it right and if not, experiment πŸ™‚

    • Most of my shots up to 2 seconds are blurred to some extent, but many are passable because of the dynamism of the performance. Mostly I settled around the half second mark. Enough steadiness and plenty of light action. πŸ™‚

  2. Pretty pretty. You just keep adding to your secret agent skills. Now you’ll be lurking on the dark Sydney streets. Can we hope for a glimpse of Biggus at one of his night haunts. πŸ˜‰

    • Thank you. We do have to maintain our skills and versatility. πŸ™‚
      Speaking of Biggus, I saw him last weekend. I didn’t have my usual camera with me but I did have my camera phone. πŸ™‚

  3. Why no tripod – especially if you usually would have used one? The results are great as evidenced by the sharp backgrounds, but still I wonder why you chose not to.

    • None of us used tripods. Not even the instructor. All part of the experiment/experience in capturing lights and candids at night. Anyway, she kept dancing and moving around. A tripod may not have helped much. πŸ˜‰

  4. Oh, wow…I just did a slimmed down version of this with two of my grands: we used sparklers and glowsticks outdoors and flashlights in the darkened basement. DID use a tripod. Our results were rudimentary but great fun–yours are incredible for the patterns and clarity, considering the no tripod thing. Way cool.

  5. The shapes and patterns are great and show up well against the black of the night. It’s never occurred to me to do a night photography course. But it would make sense, in terms of making the lack of light your ally.

  6. Pingback: Sleight of Hand | Etcetera Etcetera Etcetera

  7. This is fantastic!!! πŸ˜€ So colourful, and you sense the movement in the picture almost as if it were happening now. I’m amazed you got such good results with no tripod – you must have a steady hand!

    • Thank you very much. The long exposures show up the patterns incredibly well. You don’t appreciate it as much just watching it live. Naturally enough, only the better shots are shown here. The numerous blurry ones have been trashed. πŸ™‚

  8. Allen R. Kive says:

    Wow, that’s incredible. I noticed the one hula hoop created an image of an owl. I’m assuming that could be seen with the naked eye? Not just a slow shutter speed on a camera?

I am currently overseas on holidays. Please leave your comment and I will reply to you when I can.

