A Melbourne Life 23

“Body Eletrics.”

Melbourne March 2016 (14 photos)

Earlier this year, I visited Melbourne for a few days. I posted about the National Gallery, the Forever Bicycles sculpture and the Low light Photography workshop previously.

Of course, I did some street photography as well. Over at the Weekly Photo Challenge, the topic is Frame. So here’s my take on that topic with some photos featuring frames – real or otherwise.

A Melbourne Life 5

“But first. Coffee.”

A Melbourne Life 3

“Seriously. But first. Coffee”

A Melbourne Life 9

“This is Melbourne.”

A Melbourne Life 7

“In the zone – where every street photographer wants to be.”

A Melbourne Life 13

“The Corridor.”

A Melbourne Life 18

“Draco sings the blues at the Sidney Myer Music Bowl.”

A Melbourne Life 16

“Let’s do the time warp again.”

A Melbourne Life 15

“Think inside the frame.”

I had to suck my tummy in to take this shot of highly reflective glass doors. If you look closely enough, you’ll see my elbow in the right side panel just above the door knob and the tips of my shoes below.

A Melbourne Life 8

“Imagination is more important than knowledge.”

And also for appreciating the numerous frames in this shot.

A Melbourne Life 19

“The Spiral stair.”

It pays to accidentally wander in through open doors off the street.

A Melbourne Life 4

“Urban canyon.”

A Melbourne Life 1

“I’m getting out of here. I tell you, I didn’t do it. I was framed !!!”

A Melbourne Life 11

“Tommy Lee Jones’ reply, if he were Australian.”

….

That’s enough frames for now. I’m flying off to Melbourne again next week and hope to have some time to put Melbourne in the frame again.

No posts from me for a week or so.

Leica Etcetera, Photography Etcetera

Melbourne in the Frame

Image

76 thoughts on “Melbourne in the Frame

    • Thank you. I did think I was rather daring to include a body part, and perhaps not as skinny as I used to be. πŸ™‚

      It’s an Australian Company, and well, we often make fun of ourselves.
      They sell online as well: https://au.whogivesacrap.org

      According to their website – “40% of the world’s population doesn’t have access to a toilet, and we think that’s pretty crap. That’s why we donate 50% of our profits to help build toilets for those in need.”

  1. Beautifully done all round, Dragon. I see the Myer Music Bowl was free that day you went, and you dared clamber on the stage. From the Myer Music Bowl to Flinders St to Bourke St and to the Queen Victoria Market, you sure covered a lot of ground. Welcome back to Melbourne next week. Seems like we’ll have wonderful weather then. Enjoy πŸ™‚

    • Yes, I get around. Fortunately no-one caught me at the Myer Music Bowl. πŸ™‚

      I have a new set of cafes and restaurants to visit this trip. Cumulus, Gazi and Tipo 00 were my favourites from the last trip. The toilet paper was at Auction Rooms.

    • Thanks. I went out for breakfast and had to use the cafe’s bathroom. That toilet paper made me laugh. If I had a bag with me, I might have (probably would have) pilfered a roll. πŸ™‚

    • Thank you. Melbourne has a different vibe, and lots of good food. Interestingly, according to the 2001 Australian census, Melbourne has the largest Greek Australian population in Australia and the largest Greek population of any city in the World – outside of Greece. Maybe that explains it. πŸ˜‰

  2. Oh!!! I did not know about the Greek population of Melbourne! (Well….I do not know many things about Melbourne, but your photographs and the comments help a lot to open my imagination!)
    I really like the set of photographs…I loved the 1993, and t”Imagination is….” ,…
    I think it is interesting and refreshing they do not show only the menu… A whole different attitude of life!
    PD: the paper is absolutely great!!!!
    Have a great time!!! πŸ™‚

  3. Some of these are hilarious…don’t know where to start….haha, well captured!! πŸ˜€ The ‘But first coffee’ sign is a good indication they sell a lot of that…or intend to sell a lot of it. I’m not a coffee drinker now, but after seeing that sign, I thought of how nice it would be to have a coffee. Subliminal advertising works obviously, even on chalkboards! πŸ˜‰

    Sorry no wifi sign – that had me laughing out loud…that was so good!!! πŸ˜€ I imagine it’s a clever ploy to get everyone in a good mood on arrival? Certainly saves explanations on why there’s no wifi.

    I didn’t notice your elbow, or the shoe! How the hell did you fit into that thin piece of wood??? Standing further back – maybe? I guess that makes sense. You can always photo-shop yourself out – might be easier! πŸ˜‰

    I love the arty guy hanging from the window! I want one under my window at the front of the building – would certainly give people something to look at passing by!!!

    • Thanks, Suzy. I think subliminal advertising or at least, the power of suggestion, can be a big influence in life. It works on me, too. πŸ™‚

      Technology is moving so fast, and so is time. 1993 was 23 years ago!!! Almost half amy lifetime ago. OMG I’m starting to feel my age. πŸ™‚

      There are lots of little details in life to enjoy and carrying a camera helps to appreciate them. The street art in Melbourne is wonderful, and everywhere.

The Wood Dragon is listening ...

