looking-back-1

“The genius thing…”

Melbourne September 2016 – Sydney August 2014 (4 photos)

Wandering around Melbourne recently, I was walking up this street when I happened to look back and see the quote painted on the wall. I instantly knew I had to stop and wait for a couple to come walking up the street. Ten minutes later I got this shot. I would have preferred an elderly couple to come walking by instead, but no luck. I gave up and walked away. Such is life.

Over at the Weekly Photo Challenge, this week’s theme is Nostalgia.

So for my post-break post, how about a nostalgic look back at a few previous photos that individually suit this theme?

looking-back-3

“I’m a Barbie girl in a Barbie world.”

Nostalgia for some. A nightmare for others.

On the rocks 9

“This is my home.”

The urban developers have been busy since I took this photo. If there were a sign today, it would say “this used to be my home”.

#sxsbondi15 36

“Memories, of the way we were.”

The work represents the artist Kathleen Berney, a child of refugee boat people, on a slippery dip in this exact location in 1953. Childhood memories slide in and out of consciousness.

Leica Etcetera, Photography Etcetera

Looking back …

Image

42 thoughts on “Looking back …

  1. Nostalgic memories all round, Dragon. Love how there is a bit of distance between the couple in the first shot. Goes along with the sentiments of Jay-Z the quote very nicely.

    My parents bought me Barbie dolls as a kid. They made me dizzy, and I never really liked them at all. But that song by Aqua, oh yes, I did like that song a lot πŸ™‚

  2. Lignum, this is brilliant ~ what photography is all about. Finding things around you that resonate and then capturing the mood perfectly in a photo. Great series of shots, and it is the first one that I find a perfect look of reality. Cheers to a great weekend ahead.

  3. c’Γ¨ molta tristezza in queste immagini, quella che piΓΉmi ha attratto quel simulacro della Barbie, immagine esasperata di un mondo di fanciulli che ricerca un ipotetico modo da adulti,
    sempre Poesia nelle tue immagini, talvolta molto crude, ma sempre e indinitamente realistiche
    grazie mille

  4. Oh yes, what a picture that quote would have been with an elderly couple walking by – awesome! That would go down very well on Tumblr or Reddit. Not that you necessarily want your photography spread about there, but… you know what I mean… keen eyes love a new picture quote! But still… it’s a great picture anyway. Well spotted! πŸ™‚

I am currently overseas on holidays. Please leave your comment and I will reply to you when I can.

