interview-with-the-dragon

Recently, I was interviewed and featured on WordPress’ Discover site, a site that highlights the best content on WordPress. If you’re interested, then please click the link for the Interview with the Dragon.

The interview includes my photography taken locally, here in Sydney.

Thanks for taking the time to look at it. Of course, there’s no obligation to do so. It’s your choice.

whatever

“Whatever”

Sydney May 2016

Fleeting Instances: A Conversation with Street Photographer Lignum Draco

Leica Etcetera, Photography Etcetera

Interview with the Dragon

Image

84 thoughts on “Interview with the Dragon

  1. Congrats on the feature, Dragon. It was quite an engaging interview, reading about shooting on the fly and choosing to wield something mobile yet so powerful…because you know how to use it πŸ™‚ Good going, and keep doing what you do…incognito. You’re always one step ahead of us πŸ˜‰

      • You’re most welcome! I relate to your comment and learn a lot from your work. Keep inspiring us all.
        I have often been asked about publishing candid shots without permission from the subjects.
        I am an amateur not commercializing my photos but simply sharing them here amongst bloggers. I consider them the expression of my creativity, and as such, my concept of art.
        What’s your take on it?

        • I think there is no right answer to this question.

          To me, there is a creative release about street photography but more importantly, I see it as recording life/time/history. In years to come, people may look at my photos and appreciate it as a documentary record of life. That is why all my posts include the city and year they were taken. That is the big picture, to me.

        • You’re right, Draco. That’s what street photography is and has always been.
          People are becoming more concerned about privacy and misuse of their photos, particularly of kids.
          I think it depends on the culture as well. The questions I get are mostly coming from Americans.
          Keep doing your beautiful work and registering life as masterfully as you do!

  2. Very intriguing tbh – all I know is this presence and your imagery – interesting had to take some street shots myself for a Camera Club competition well out my comfort zone quiet enjoyed it tbh – great article and enjoyed the read – you anonymity is assured πŸ™‚

  3. You mean all these years I have been calling you “Wood”? So sorry… πŸ˜‰
    Great interview. I’ve learned something, but need time to digest. Thanks.
    One personal comment: they should have photographer’s photo when they interview one. I feel something is missing. πŸ˜‰
    Congratulation!

    • Thank you. Maybe I should have called myself Batman or Bruce Wayne, but no-one would ever find me on google if they did. πŸ™‚

      No photo needed. Just use your imagination. πŸ™‚

  4. isabellaesthermariarose says:

    Congratulations on the interview – very informative and very well-deserved. The calibre of your photography is very superior and I am learning much from you. I have noted the reasons for the Leica and the plug-ins that you use with Lightroom. Something for me to keep in mind. Very best wishes for your future undertakings. May success always be yours, and may I continue to be blessed with your tutorship via WordPress.

    • Thank you very much for your kind wishes and support. As with most things, practice and experience will greatly improve anyone’s skills and confidence. Don’t be afraid to step outside your comfort zone when it comes to photography.
      As for software editing, don’t be afraid to press a button to see what it does (as long as you know how to undo an action if you don’t like it). We all need to find our own style.

      • isabellaesthermariarose says:

        Thank you. Your advice is sound. I do need to step outside of my comfort zone. I tend to stick with the familiar. I’m ok on Lightroom and I love experimenting there. It’s also easy to undo a step on the history panel if it doesn’t look right. One day I’ll be producing spectacular images like yours. Watch this space in years to come!! And I’ll be watching yours. Bless you.

  5. LB says:

    Very much enjoyed the article! How great for you to get the exposure (sorry about the pun) and for more folks to learn about you.
    Love the “whatever” image πŸ™‚

  6. Congratulations on the interview! Good to see you chosen for that, you certainly deserve it!! πŸ™‚ It’s interesting what you said about returning to photography when your mother developed dementia, I did something similar when my mother died, I finally got down to writing, something I’d only played with very lightly. It’s interesting how these small hobbies, pieces of our past re-emerge to become comforts and healers, and take us in an entirely new direction, and for some, a new career. I find that amazing!

    I agree with you on keeping your privacy in having a profile name (and a very interesting one too!) I don’t use my real name either, only the first part is related to my real name. My pictures are of me though! I think it’s wise for a lot of reasons. For as many genuine and nice people there are in the blog world, there are even more strange people on the internet, I’ve come across some very clingy weirdos on Tumblr, wanting to be my best friend and “oh, can we exchange phone numbers” – not really!!

    Sorry I’m taking my time with your posts, I’m a little behind with blog friends at the moment, so will be coming back a bit at a time to catch up with what you’re posting. Will be posting something myself soon – when I get the time! πŸ™‚

    • Thank you very much, Suzy. I agree with you. Life often takes us in strange directions at different times. We all start out with hopes and intentions and then life gets in the way. Then something happens and we return in some way to our youth to seek comfort or find new inspiration. Sometimes we don’t know what we have or had until it’s gone.

      Once the idea of starting a blog came to my mind, i think it took me about 3 or 4 months to actually do it. I was racked with doubt about how much I wanted to reveal on the blog. Eventually I chose the privacy route because it just makes sense. I have nothing to promote or sell, so anonymity just seemed the right thing. Yes, I’ve had requests to meet as well, often from first or second time commenters. I send those straight to the spam bin.

      Take your time in your catching up. Otherwise it becomes a chore. Anyway, I’m about to close shop for a few weeks for a holiday/trip, so forgive me if it takes a while for me to get back to you.

  7. so cool, congratulations about the interview, Lignum!!
    hmm, I’m removing the strap on my camera now that I’ve read this… πŸ˜€
    that Whatever photo tho, brilliant… as always…

The Wood Dragon is listening ...

