sculpture-by-the-sea-2016-35

“Dancing in the moonlight”

Sydney October 2016 (13 photos)

Sculpture by the Sea celebrated its 20th year in 2016. There were 104 sculptures by 103 artists from 17 different countries this year. Originally a one day exhibition in 1997, this year Sculpture by the Sea ran from 20 October to 7 November.

sculpture-by-the-sea-2016-37

SURFING BONDI CLOUDS, by Barbara Licha.

Statement: To move viewers further than reality, and give the watcher feelings about the sky and its endeavours. An opportunity to mirror our connection to the scenery, and send a message of pleasure and day dreaming.

sculpture-by-the-sea-2016-36

Despite the chaotic nature of the design of this sculpture, I found it to be quite relaxing and pleasing to look at.

sculpture-by-the-sea-2016-38

“Binary language”

THE MESSAGE, by Marcus Tatton.

Statement: Get the message.

sculpture-by-the-sea-2016-31

“Urban cave dwelling”

DYNAMICS IN IMPERMANENCE, by Nicole Larkin.

Statement: The pieces alter, and are simultaneously part of the temporal conditions of the site, creating a fleeting spatial experience within and around the work.

sculpture-by-the-sea-2016-33

sculpture-by-the-sea-2016-34

sculpture-by-the-sea-2016-39

“Hey, St Peter”

THE PEARLY GATES, by Jane Gillings.

Statement: Borders, fences, gates. Keeping things in, keeping things out. Whichever side you’d like to be on, welcome.

sculpture-by-the-sea-2016-40

“Beware of the God”

sculpture-by-the-sea-2016-45

“Just another drop in the ocean”

FLUID, by Norton Flavel.

Statement: A reference to the notion of significance.

sculpture-by-the-sea-2016-62

“Finding land’s end”

INFRASTRUCTURE 5, by Oliver Stratton-Pow.

Statement: Taps into the rampant development that has pride of place in the city, as if humanity has spilled over the boundaries of the mainland and continued building in an insatiable quest for progress.

sculpture-by-the-sea-2016-64

sculpture-by-the-sea-2016-63

This is Part 4 of my 5 part Sculpture by the Sea Bondi 2016 series. Please click the link to see my previous yearly Sculpture by the Sea Bondi series going back to 2013.

Leica Etcetera, Photography Etcetera

Sculpture by the Sea, Bondi 2016 (4)

Image

70 thoughts on “Sculpture by the Sea, Bondi 2016 (4)

  1. “The Pearly Gates”, “Fluid” and “Infrastructure 5” are all extraordinary, but I think “Beware of the God” is the winner. πŸ˜€ I’m grateful that I get to see these works of art thanks to you.

  2. Fluid is nice and of course I like the gates as I am partial to gates, though perhaps not so pearly white. I’m still not feeling the love for any of these this year. Some are just plain dull. (not your photos of course… πŸ™‚ )

  3. What fun to be able to see sculptures that I wouldn’t be able to visit in real life. The first one, that’s supposed to be dancing, reminds me of some days when I feel like I’m struggling to get free of all sorts of annoying or depressing things. πŸ™‚

    janet

  4. I’m in awe! Great captures of these sculptures, just breath taking. “Dancing in the Moonlight” is amazing, the structure of the INFRASTRUCTURE 5 so remarkable…
    Thank you for the tour, Dragon! πŸ™‚

  5. I have scrolled up and down, and up and down, and…
    trying to decide on a favorite here, and found that I love each of them for a different reason.
    I think the favorite here by a small margin is “Dancing in the Moonlight.”
    Just gorgeous.
    Thank you so much for sharing these here, Lignum!

  6. ogni immagine Γ¨ un mondo a se stante
    la luna si afffaccia in un cielo sognante
    le porte del paradiso si aprono per chi sa camminare sulle nuvole
    le grandi scoperte viaggiano sui battelli degli eroici navigatori
    tutto questo con la magia delle tue immagini Γ¨ bello per aprire gli occhi a un nuovo giorno
    felicidad amigo!

  7. Dancing in the Moonlight is just a stunning piece and you’ve captured it well.
    I’m so sorry I have not been by to visit lately–I like what you’ve done with the place πŸ™‚ and can’t wait to see more of your Cambodian adventure.

  8. Surfing Bondi Clouds is strangely very attractive, and certainly captures well with on camera. And even in picture form it does feel relaxing to look at. I felt like there were birds in there, then realised they were people shaped! 😊

    Even though I’m not a believer in pearly gates I did find those ones very attractive, and had to laugh when it says ‘Beware of the God! Something in the centre of it looks a bit Dr Who to me – like pieces of the Tardis! πŸ˜€

    Infrastructure 5 is amazing… can’t help think of an Ark and a man called Noah! I know it’s not about that, but it looks like it – with a city inside – the development spilling over and ending up at sea!

    • Thank you, Suzy. I was also really struck by the artistry of Surfing Bondi Clouds. I guess that’s why I photographed it in various different light.

      Beware of the God got me too. That’s a sign I’d like to see on a neighbourhood fence. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Infrastructure 5 was interactive since there were plenty of extra blocks for people to add to the sculpture with. It does remind us of Noah’s Ark. Paradise lost or found? πŸ™‚

The Wood Dragon is listening ...

