Blue Mountains National Park February-March 2017 (16 photos)

I thought I’d take a quick break from my Cambodia posts. A few weeks ago now, I took a week off and travelled to the Blue Mountains National Park, about a 2 hour drive west of Sydney. It is a World Heritage listed area of over one million hectares of bushland, mountains, plateaux and escarpments. Underground limestone caves, waterfalls and streams are common features. There are than 140 kilometres of walking trails, hundreds of bird varieties, dozens of reptile and amphibian species and mammals found on no other continent. A very welcome escape from the city.

I arrived to sunshine but very soon after, the weather changed. Daily ebbs and flows of mist, fog and rain engulfed the area I was in. Perfect photography weather!!! I couldn’t have been happier. 🙂

“Play Misty for me”

Mist is truly a beautiful environment to photograph in. It adds great depth to landscapes.

It’s a beautiful sight, watching mist transforming into fog.

Engulfing all before it.

Until it becomes so dense, that colour doesn’t matter anymore.

Now only shapes, textures and layers are important.

The dense fog helped to spatially and visually separate the layers of trees in the photo above.

For almost the entire trip, I deliberately took all my photos in the square format.

It is easy enough to do in most digital cameras. You just go into your menus and change the aspect ratio.

Your photos will appear in the square format in your editing software, but if you want to, you can easily undo the square crop and revert to your usual preferred aspect ratio.

It’s an interesting challenge in visualisation to see and compose in a different format to one’s usual photographic boundaries.

It was a great little holiday which let me get a lot of practice in landscape photography.

And that reminds me that my next trip is coming up soon.

The passport is ready. The plane tickets have been purchased. Looking forward to this one in a few weeks very much.

Leica Etcetera, Photography Etcetera

Play Misty for me

Image

114 thoughts on “Play Misty for me

    • Thank you very much. The mist and fog truly adds a 3D effect by accentuating the natural fading of objects in the distance. It was even better being there to experience it.

      I know the movie plot. I couldn’t think of a better title post, though. 🙂 🙂 🙂

  1. Stunning. You really capture the wild beauty of the place. I was there a few years ago on a writing fellowship. It was only for a week and I didn’t have the chance to walk or explore much. Your photos have made me want to go again and see more!

    • Thank you very much. It definitely is a naturally beautiful place to visit and explore. A few nice villages up there as well. You could easily lose and find yourself there.

    • Thank you very much for your kind words, Sally. Indeed, a sense of serenity prevailed as I walked the trails in the mist and fog, enjoying the sounds of waterfalls, streams and lyrebirds. It was an incredibly beautiful environment to be immersed in.

  2. These are some really amazing shots. Well done but my favourite pic would be the one of the what looks like fern branches with droplets of water amidst thin spider webs aka lovely! Thanks for sharing.

  3. Incredible pictures. We didn’t have time to visit the Blue Mountains when we were in Sydney, but the foggy pictures remind me of our trip to Lamington National Park.

  4. I enjoyed this series celebrating the beauty of the Blue Mountains, Draco. I’ve had the pleasure of visiting these mountains, and I remember them well, and with fondness. Your tribute here to the power of the mist was wonderful. And I appreciated how you engaged with the gum trees.

    • Thank you very much. It must be more than 10 years since I last visited the Blue Mountains. Shame on me. It is a beautiful area as you know. I’m glad you enjoyed your visit to this area.

  5. *Sigh* You know how you read a long page with one breath and at the end you just have to take a big breath? That’s how I feel.
    Do you mean even if I change my camera setting to take square photos, I can still revert to my normal format in post processing without another cropping? I think that’s what you said. I would never guess that is the case. I have to give it a try. Thanks.
    Have a wonderful day.

    • Thank you so much, Helen. I’m glad you enjoyed it.

      Yes. After you import into your editor you should be able to undo or change the original square crop if that’s what you want to do. Most editing and programs performed in the camera can be undone or changed in editing software.

  6. Wow, another trip coming up! Good for you. 🙂 I love walking in and taking photos of misty landscapes. The Blue Mountains are one place I wish I could have visited while during my short trips to Australia. Never made it out of Sydney. The square format is fun to work with. Even though you can post regular sized photos on Instagram, I always try to crop down to square. Have a great trip!!

    • Reason enough to return to Sydney one day/ 🙂 But I must admit it was pure luck that I got the weather I did in Summer. It’s been a wet one this year and if I had gone a couple of weeks earlier I would have had sunshine and 40C+ temperatures daily.

      Thank you, Julie. I’m not going yet. Just a little advance notice before I leave for a country with beautiful landscapes where a Dragon should fit right in. :).

  7. Wow, you are taking landscaping photos in fog, mist, and rain to new heights! Such a privilege touring the place with you, Dragon. Hundreds of bird varieties! Thank you for the square format tip, I had no idea about this this format.
    Another trip? So soon! I think you are on NatGeo assignment, about time! They sending you to TX, are they? Just asking… 😉 🙂

  8. These are fantastic, Lignum. I love photographing fog and mist — don’t really get it very much here, though. I did get some when we visited Brasstown Bald Mountain, the highest point in Georgia (U.S.)! 🙂 You are one traveling man. I’ll be interested to see where you go next!

  9. Well now, these are very nice LD [typical Brit understatement]. I am guessing you have a waterproof camera? I get a lot of mist, fog, cloud here, but haven’t attempted to go outside with the camera yet. You may well have encouraged me to give it a go.
    Jude xx

    • It’s amazing how calm and happy I felt there surrounded by the trees and mist. We all need that time to ourselves.

      Thank you very much, Lisa. Have a wonderful weekend ahead.

  10. Looking at your great photos cooled me write down. (I’ll leave the typo.) Nothing like being in the Bush in a mist .. feels like another planet. M

    • Thank you very much, Julie. It was a lot of fun photographing in the mist, fog and rain, even walking into rivers to find the right shot. The entree to my upcoming main course of landscape photography.

      Yes, my passport is ready. I’m ready, although I haven’t packed. But is my destination ready? Time will tell.

  11. Oh…. the cloud descends for the photographer!!! 😉 I think you did a really good job despite that cloudy fog, you’ve adapted to the change of environment and captured some great atmospheric images, that even though they lack colour, still have depth and interest, and are pleasing to the eye. The trees look quite enchanted in that fog!

    I like the idea of the square format, I’ll have to try that. Reminds me of my parents old Ilford camera… it only did square! It’s nice to have a choice. 🙂

    • Thank you, Suzy. The fog and mist add great depth to the scenes and a sense of mystery. I tried to accentuate those features. It just felt so serene there.

      Remember your camera gives you great control. You don’t have to accept the image format the camera defaults to. I know a few people who only photograph in square format now, as an artistic decision. I guess we all need to experiment and choose what’s best for each of us.

      • Yes, it’s easy to not explore all the options on a camera, just get stuck using favourite settings… and there are so many settings, I think that might be why a lot of people just fix their camera to auto and never really learn how to use it because the choices overwhelm them… they just want to capture a quick picture. I used mine on auto, for a week or two until I got used to handling it. But very quickly found it limiting.. So bit by bit I’m trying different settings. 🙂

I am currently overseas on holidays. Please leave your comment and I will reply to you when I can.

