Blue Mountains National Park February-March 2017 (15 photos)

Continuing on from my previous post, let’s stay in the Blue Mountains National Park, a World Hertitage listed area 2 hours by car west of Sydney.

In my previous post, Play Misty for me the emphasis was on mist and fog photography. This post is about trees although there is an inevitable overlap with mist and fog.

Why are the Blue Mountains so named? The Blue Mountains is densely populated by oil bearing Eucalyptus trees. As a result, the atmosphere is filled with finely dispersed droplets of oil, which, in combination with dust particles and water vapour, scatter short-wave length rays of light which are predominantly blue in colour. Hence, the reflected landscape of the mountains seems bluish to our eyes.

Walking trails lead through various parts of the Blue Mountains giving glimpses of the majesty of Nature.

However much of the land is inaccessible, and the landscape untouched. Without human interference, the trees are free to form a dense forest (bushland in Australia) to protect and nurture the land.

As I mentioned in my previous post, all these photos were purposefully taken in the square aspect at the time of shooting.

No further cropping was done in post processing.

In time, all things must pass, even the trees. The giants sporadically fall and decompose to foster new life.

Which begs the question:

“If a tree falls in a forest …

and no one is around to hear it …

does it make a sound?”

Leica Etcetera, Photography Etcetera

If a tree falls in the forest …

Image

66 thoughts on “If a tree falls in the forest …

  1. That photo of the blue-green forest undulating into the horizon made my eyes tingle. It’s good to know that much of that special forest is inaccessible. Your photos make me crave a good hike. Hopefully this week. 😎

    • Staring into that vista, I wish I had the time to venture out into that wilderness and simply experience it. I hope you find the time to enjoy the peace and serenity you want on your hike.

  2. You do take the most incredible photographs! I may not hear the tree fall but sometimes I think I can feel it. I know, you’re thinking, what the heck is she talking about??! LOL! Never mind, just know I love your beautiful photography! 😀

  3. Thank you for taking us into the forest of the majestic mountains. Breathtaking! Happy to know areas are untouched and well protected.
    Amazing captures, Dragon always, I really enjoy this series!

  4. Lovely shots as always, Lignum, transporting me to a place I’ll probably never see otherwise, one of the constant joys of blogging. My husband and I have discussed the tree falling-sound question more than once without either of us changing our answers. At least we both agree the fall causes sound waves. 🙂

    janet

  5. Maybe … the other trees heard the sound … and the birds … and all the nearby creatures of the forest floor felt the fall. That’s the reason forests are so peaceful – they hold the echoes of all the trees that have fallen. Bit philosophical for a Tuesday.

    • So true. Life is more than us humans and we tend to forget that. During my trip I walked into a area regrown after bushfires a few years ago. The echoes of fallen trees were definitely heard there.

  6. The Blue Mountains looks so majestic, being both dense among the greens and sparse up on the hills. I’ve yet to pay it a visit… 😏 Great variety of shots and hope it was a good hike, and not too wet apart from the mist.

    • Thanks. It was a good break. It rained everyday but I’d be out in it regardless. My camera is completely weatherproof. It was a very liberating experience.

      I hope you get to visit the Blue Mountains one day. You’d enjoy it.

  7. every single shot a spectacular photo, again, Draco!
    beautiful.
    almost makes me homesick. ( but im too busy being homesick for a land I havent left yet, lol).

  8. Beautiful pictures.
    And the answer to your question. Does it make a sound?
    It has been hotly debated where I work.
    We have a dictionary that was published in 1953 that defines sound as that which the human ear hears. My colleague adheres to that definition and says “no sound.”
    I prefer a more scientific definition that describes what sound actually is,
    and I say “yes it makes a sound.”
    This question is like almost every other controversial question that was ever devised. The answer depends on your background and traditions and how you define the words. Word twisting can be so fun.

    • Thank you.

      Perhaps the real purpose of the question is an exercise in word twisting. Arguments usually won by the person by the best debaters, not necessarily those with the facts. We all have differing biases and terms of reference.

    • Shame on you. This is a Nature Lover’s paradise, Julie. You’d go berserk with your camera, I suspect.

      The Blue mountains is part of the catchment for Warragamba Dam. I think the inaccessibility helps keep our water clean.

I'm away on holidays. Please leave your comment and I'll get back to you when I can...

