New Zealand April 2017 (16 photos)

This is part 2 of my New Zealand series of posts.

April is Autumn in New Zealand and it was only appropriate that I went seeking the colours of Autumn during my visit there last week. Anywhere in the Queenstown area is good for this, and I ventured out to the small historic gold mining town of Arrowtown, about a half hour drive away from Queenstown, located on the banks of the Arrow River.

Many of Arrowtown’s early gold miners during the Otago Gold Rush of the 1860s were Chinese. The remains of the Chinese Settlement lies on the banks of Bush Creek which is a tributary of the Arrow River.

Wandering around, I couldn’t help but notice the small size of some of the dwellings. Naturally, my imagination wandered to Hobbiton and The Shire.

Legolas: There lie the woods of Lothlórien! That is the fairest of all the dwellings of my people. There are no trees like the trees of that land. For in the autumn their leaves fall not, but turn to gold.

However, one could easily be excused for thinking this was Elvish land.

After all, Arrowtown was the set location for the Ford of Bruinen. In the movie of the Fellowship of the Ring, Arwen takes Frodo across the Ford of Bruinen onto Elvish land then turns to face the 9 Ringwraiths. She summons a flood that kills the horses of the Ringwraiths, although interestingly, the flood scene was filmed elsewhere.

Despite the obvious beauty of this land, there are hidden dangers, particularly if you happen to be a Nazgul.

Arrowtown was also the set location for the Gladden Fields. In the prequel scenes, this is where Isildur was attacked by the orcs. The Ring deceived Isildur and fell into the river, to be later found by Smeagol/Gollum.

Historic Arrowtown has many beautiful buildings and nature trails.

The heart of its history is Buckingham Street, with its procession of small town heritage buildings that stretch into a tree lined avenue of tiny miners’ cottages.

The town has seen considerable growth and construction, but it falls under heritage rules applied by the local authority that aim to preserve the appearance of the town.

The dwarves of the Lonely Mountain coveted and accumulated gold under the mountain.

Perhaps they should have paid more attention to the gold above the mountain.

Thorin Oakenshield: [to Bilbo] Farewell, Master Burglar. Go back to your books… and your armchair… plant your trees, watch them grow. If more people… valued home above gold… this world would be a merrier… place…

This is part 2 of my New Zealand series of posts.

Leica Etcetera, Photography Etcetera

Dragon tales of Middle Earth: Arrowtown

Image

99 thoughts on “Dragon tales of Middle Earth: Arrowtown

  1. So unbelievably beautiful. Autumn colors are short-lived, but, like spring blossoms, they soften the transitions. I’m impressed by your LoTR trivia knowledge. 😃

    • Apparently the Autumn colours started a little later this year which turned out to be good for me. It’s not something I’m used to seeing as most trees are Evergreens here.

      Regarding the trivia, well it can’t always be about photography. 🙂 🙂 🙂

  2. beautiful, again, Draco. I’m being seduced by the beauty of New Zealand by looking at your photos. Now I’ll have to plan to get there, some day…. drats, another country to add to my list!

    • Thank you, Debbie. Being so close, and with similar cultures, it almost didn’t feel like being overseas. 🙂 But the scenery is spectacular. I have to go back as well.

  3. Wonderful photos! I love all the colors. Every time we would drive over a river in NZ I would look at my wife and say “If you want him, come and claim him” because I felt like they all looked like the river from that scene.

  4. I sure enjoyed the “gold above the mountain” here, Draco. Stunning autumn display, loved the little buildings, your dialogue highlighting Arrowtown in past and in present. I was especially drawn to the photo with red leaves and vines on a rock wall. All your photos are a pure delight.

  5. Heide says:

    How privileged we are to have you for a tour guide! Beautiful photos, and a wonderful commentary to accompany them. Great post!

    • Thank you, Tina. It’s a wonderful historic area with nature trails and coffee shops. Perfect!

      I always like to have fun with the Weekly Photo Challenge topics. 🙂

  6. I have seen a lot of fall images, but nothing this spectacular and colorful. The top five are very poetically captured. The quote, Wow!!
    Thank you so much for the beautiful post, Dragon. 🙂

  7. I am so totally enthralled by your beautiful photos. I always knew I wanted to go there but now…well, now I may start trying to figure out how to make it happen! Of course, first I must stop swooning due to the lightheadedness and giddiness created by all of this beauty…. I will say that the New Orleans Hotel made me chuckle. It can’t possibly be a throwback to our U.S. New Orleans, right?

    • Thank you very much, Linda. You definitely should visit. There’s a lot packed into a small country. Autumn is a good choice, as it turns out. 🙂

      I just checked the New Orleans Hotel website. They were established in 1866 but I couldn’t find any information about the original owners. Since it was related to the goldrush, I’m guessing the owner was originally from New Orleans.

  8. Hey Mr Draco .. Arrowtown is a fav of mine. I haven’t had the pleasure of being there in Autumn. Such a lovely spot .. I hope you ate out while you were there? Some nice eateries in town. Wonderful pics .. as always 😃

    • Then you should definitely go in autumn for the colours. Only had time for a cookie/cake and coffee before moving on. Too busy taking photos. 🙂

      Thanks very much, Julie. NZ is very photogenic. 🙂

  9. On some blogs I am unable to leave “likes”. it is loading for ever and never loads :S. I am sorry Draco. This is another post that makes me dream. This must be nature at its best. Beautiful!

    • Thanks for the explanation Paula. That happened to me last year. I could leave likes directly in the Reader but not when visiting blogs, so I would visit and comment then go to the Reader to give my like. The really strange thing is my Stats page. It doesn’t even record your visit (I assume you’re in Croatia at the moment).

      Anyway, thank you. The autumn colours were simply beautiful and intoxicating. Most trees are evergreen where I live.

        • No problem. Glitches happen from time to time. Just like the time every comment I made went into people’s spam boxes. I had to make comments on my blog to tell people to rescue me from their spam box. Now I check my spam box every couple of days in case I have to rescue my friends.

  10. Juan says:

    Lignum, quizás usted no sepa en toda su dimensión la ayuda que hace a algunas personas al publicar esas bellas fotos. Quiero decirle que es grande la ayuda. Siento que tenga que usar un traductor para leer en español. Voy a esforzarme para escribirle, en el futuro, en inglés. Muchísimas gracias.

    • Muchas gracias, Juan. Estoy feliz de poder mostrarte este hermoso país y los hermosos colores del otoño.

      Con Google Earth, te puedo entender muy bien, así que no te preocupes por escribir en inglés. Sólo espero que mis respuestas tengan sentido.

  11. Juan says:

    Cuando una flor de luz
    Surge entre las hojas amarillas,
    Los ojos se iluminan, la paz llega al alma
    Y sumerge al ser en la quietud

    LD, esto surge mirando una de las fotos donde predomina el amarillo, ese espléndido color. Please, traslate, thanks.

    • When a flower of light
      It appears between the yellow leaves,
      The eyes light up, peace comes to the soul
      And immerses the being in the stillness

      Muchas gracias por el hermoso poema, Juan. La hermosa luz realzó los amarillos como un sueño.

  12. Sharon Dear says:

    Oh my goodness I am so glad to see all these fabulous pictures. I love nature and color and you have given me a visual treat and it has warmed my heart on this very cold and rainy day here in PA .

    • Thank you very much. Your Spring is rainy. Our Autumn is golden. Such is the dichotomy of our world. I’m glad this burst of colour could brighten your day for a moment. 🙂

      • Sharon Dear says:

        I have looked at your photos each time I am on the computer. My heart sings with pleasure when I see them. I enjoy color and fall is the perfect season. I have only seen fall here in Pennsylvania. Your photos are a fabulous gift for me to open.

        • Thank you very much. In my area the tree are mostly evergreen, so this was quite amazing for me to see. I’m glad i could capture some of the brilliance of the colours.

        • Sharon Dear says:

          Your photographs transport me to a different time and place and I feel such relaxation there. My small garden and little animals and fling things relax me too but it’s no comparison to what you make me feel. Being sick and in pain you take that away for me as I read where you are and those wonderful pictures.

        • Sharon Dear says:

          They do show the beauty of God’s work and
          His work is ever changing beauty. Thanks to you I am able to enjoy the beauty that is beyond my little garden.

  13. LD, thanks for translate. Cuando se trata de un poema, la traducción debe ser hecha por un conocedor del idioma a que se traduce que no es mi caso. Yo soy físico de profesión y en la física hay mucho de poesía al igual que en las imágenes que usted nos ofrece tan amablemente. Permite abrir “ventanas” a las que no tenemos acceso. Soy afortunado por poder acceder a ellas.

I am currently at a conference/workshop. Please leave your comment and I'll reply to you when I can.

