catch me if you can 2

Sydney May 2015 (4 photos)

“It is a truth universally acknowledged, that a single man in possession of a good fortune must be in want of a wife. However little known the feelings or views of such a man may be on his first entering a neighbourhood, this truth is so well fixed in the minds of the surrounding families, that he is considered as the rightful property of some one or other of their daughters.”

… Jane Austen, author, Pride and Prejudice.

And so it was, that I was walking around town just minding my own business, as is my usual want. From out of nowhere, I noticed a woman resplendent in a bridal dress talking to people. Strange, but maybe she was just happy to be getting married. Then another woman in a bridal dress appeared in front of me, forcing me to change direction. And then another and then several more. Each time I had to stop and change direction. They were just going up to people and talking to them.

I started to feel a heightened sense of awareness and a lump in my throat, a feeling I had not felt in some time. Why were all these brides starting to appear around me? Why did they all seem to be circling me and looking at me?

catch me if you can 1

Suddenly, I realised the painful truth. I was in one of those Hugh Grant type movies where the lead man finds himself on the street being chased by women in bridal dresses. And I was that man!!!

Enveloped in an intense primal fear, I knew I had to escape. I turned but I was blocked in every direction.

catch me if you can 4

I was surrounded. I was trapped. Then, I found what I thought to be an escape route.

And she appeared out of nowhere, as if in ambush. A large heart shaped chocolate in her hand. I could hear it calling me. She knew my weakness. Our eyes met as I was drawn to the scent of the chocolate. Then she gently asked me:

“Would you marry a complete stranger at first sight?”

I was speechless. I was without speech. I had no speech.

Trapped and unable to move by the lure of this large block of free chocolate, a tear started to form in my eye. I now knew I was unable to escape her. She had caught me.

She smiled softly and edged the chocolate closer to me, taunting me, beckoning me to answer.

“Would you marry a complete stranger at first sight?”

She whispered the question again and waved the chocolate at me. I had to reach out to her, for it. Our hands touched as the chocolate came into grasp. She moved closer, and then I …

catch me if you can 3

“Married at First Sight (Australia)” is a new (un)reality TV show based on similar programs in the United States and Denmark. It features people who agree to legal marriage with a complete stranger, matched by supposedly expert matchmaking methods. They do not meet each other until the wedding day. The series then documents the relationships, including honeymoons and other relatable events of married life. After several weeks, each couple must decide whether to remain together or go their individual ways.

Suffice to say, I have no interest in watching it.

But the chocolate tasted nice.

Leica Etcetera, Photography Etcetera

Catch me if you can

Image

87 thoughts on “Catch me if you can

  1. Mawwiage. Mawwiage is what bwings us togethew today. Mawwiage, that bwessed awwangement, that dweam within a dweam. And wove, twue wove, wiww fowwow you fowevah and evah… So tweasuwe youw wove

    And eat chocolate.

  2. A beautiful woman offering chocolate and a lifetime of commitment. A dream for some, a total nightmare for others. I’m glad you grabbed the chocolate and ran!

        • I thought you were being a tease. 🙂 🙂 🙂

          Regarding chocolate: “Nine out of ten people like chocolate. The tenth person always lies.” – John Q. Tullius

          Hope you have some chocolate this weekend. 🙂

  3. “Would you marry a complete stranger at first sight?” Oh HECK no. It’s a rare woman who can take me in large doses. Why submit a random stranger to torture? 🙂

    Great photos, plenty of crunchy contrast. And what a scene to wander into!

  4. Glad you enjoyed the chocolate. I’m not watching that show either. I would rather use the time to go to the shop and buy more chocolate for myself. Great shots. No one looks to be paying much attention to the ladies.

    • I know a few people who have said it’s a ridiculous idea but they’re going to watch it anyway. It’s the ultimate in voyeurism.

      The mall seems to be rampant with these kind of publicity stunts and people wanting to sell you something or otherwise try to part you with your money. Best to avoid eye contact. 🙂

  5. Hahaha. How terrifying it must have been for you! Being noticed, first of all, and then worse:being tempted to participate in being filmed. They almost had you with the chocolate, but you resisted. I’m so proud of you, son.

  6. Dragon was was surrounded and trapped by beautiful women in bridal dresses. 🙂 Glad you reach out to her… Great story and photos!

  7. What can they imagine to make people watch TV o_O .But if the chocolate was good and the “bride” well look and to make cool pictures…. why not 😉
    I was a TV addict when I was a teenager and now I almost not watch it, I have so many other things to do, pics, treat my pics, classify my pics 😀 listen music…..
    Take care my dear and thanks for the meaning of the work 🙂

  8. Gosh, I’m not into reality tv. But I might watch one episode out of curiosity to see what sort of person would do that … actually, hmm, I might have just talked myself out of it just then !

  9. Bloody HILARIOUS !
    Even though one can scarcely begin to comprehend that producers are allowed, legally, to set up such a scenario … They get MARRIED ? – and then they have to decide whether to stay together ???
    Pfuh.
    What a load of bollocks.
    But the photos are triffic !!! 🙂

    • From what I read, they’re not really getting married in the Australian series, just entering into an agreement to get married, but the producers aren’t revealing that fact.

      The law here states, you must lodge a Notice of Intended Marriage (NOIM) form at least one month, and no more than 18 months, before the date on which you wish to get married.

      Glad you enjoyed it. 🙂

  10. maamej says:

    Very funny and great shots. I guess we now have something to thank the TV show for – your post, if nothing else 😉

  11. It’s interesting that you were able to document the experience. I mean, you were able to keep a lens to document, even though you were caught up in the moment. The photos are captivating, and your perspective is as well. It must have been the chocolate.

  12. 😀 😆 what would have happened if it had been an almond croissant (a match made in heaven?) 😉 A very enjoyable read, and fun, spectacular shots!

  13. I’m on catch up so this has made me laugh on a Monday morning!! When I first read about this TV programme I could barely believe it – I don’t know which is worse the programme makers or the inevitably huge audience it will draw who will actually watch it!

  14. Oh I totally binge-watched the last series over a weekend. It was hilarious and sometimes irritating. I keep on wondering what happened to the couples who decided to stay married. I would never marry a total stranger…too freakin’ scary. I am glad you enjoyed the chocolate. The photos are great as usual. I am glad you’re back…

  15. I could have married a total stranger at first sight, but not someone who’s been picked out by a TV-team. It had to be someone that I met and just “clicked with” and was attracted to.

  16. Good morning, Lignum. So funny. I started laughing when I read “just minding my own business”… I wonder why…
    I enjoy reading your story and seeing your photos a lot. Recently I was thinking if there is a deeper meaning in street photos — I mean the ones I took. Seeing how you combine the photo and story together gives me one answer to my question. Thank you.

    • Thank you Helen, I’m glad you got a laugh with this one. I’m always just minding my own business- it’s not my fault if people walk into the line of my camera. 🙂
      I think there is meaning in all photos, one just has to look carefully for it. Have a great day ahead.

  17. Hahahaha! Brides are scary!!! I would run for my life as well!!! 😀 Awesome post Draco, really entertaining! My best regards from Vienna!

The Wood Dragon is listening...

