Queenstown New Zealand April 2017 (15 photos)

This is part 10 of my New Zealand series of posts.

The Remarkables are a mountain range towering over Queenstown in the South Island of New Zealand. Located on the southeastern shore of Lake Wakatipu, the range lives up to its name by rising sharply to create an impressive backdrop. The highest point in the range is Double Cone (2319 metres).

During my trip to Queenstown, I was not going to pass up the opportunity to fly to the top of the Remarkables in a shiny helicopter.

The photo above is looking to the west. Over in the distance is Skippers Canyon which I posted about previously.

The photo above is looking down on Queenstown. The hilltop in the middle of view is the private property of Deer Park Heights which I visited and posted about earlier.

The mountains were named The Remarkables by Alexander Garvie in 1857-58, allegedly because they are one of only two mountain ranges in the world which run directly north to south. An alternate explanation for the name given by locals is that early Queenstown settlers, upon seeing the mountain range during sunset one evening, named them The Remarkables to describe the sight.

One of the limitations of hiring a helicopter is that the cost is time based. Originally I was to have been at the top of The Remarkables for 10 minutes. However, whilst I was up there the pilot received a radio message saying that due to New Zealand’s infamous cloud cover, his other scheduled flight to Milford Sound that morning was cancelled. So with nothing else for my pilot to do, my 10 minutes at The Remarkables turned into about 40 minutes instead, without additional cost. No complaints from me. 🙂

The views over Queenstown on the flight back were just as impressive..

Leica Etcetera, Photography Etcetera

Dragon tales of Middle Earth: The Remarkables

Image

90 thoughts on “Dragon tales of Middle Earth: The Remarkables

  1. Mr Dragon your photographs is certainly anyting but dead wood. Looks like an amazing experience and wonderful photos. I think I am starting to dislike you – jealousy is a terrible emotion 🙂

    • Thanks. I was running around madly for the first 10 minutes taking the photos I wanted. Then when I was told I had all that extra time, I slowed down and just enjoyed the view… and then I took more photos. 🙂 I was good to just soak in the views for a while.

      • It is always good to have extra time – not just to slow down, but perhaps to retrace your steps to places you might have been. But from following your adventurous, it sounds like any extra time you have, you like to explore some place anew 🙂

  2. I am soaking in the views from your photos… WOW! Thank you for sharing. (And by the way, I stare at that shadow for a long time, looking for clues. 😉
    Have a wonderful day.

    • Thank you, Helen. I might have suggested you would have more luck searching for clues in the reflections in the helicopter, but I have already reviewed the photo fully so better luck next time. 🙂 🙂 🙂

  3. It was fortunate that you were able to take the helicopter ride up here, and then to get extra free time is quite a bonanza. You made great use of your time, Draco, snapping these incredible photos, and I thank you for sharing them with us. The perspective from above, in all this grandeur, is indeed remarkable…an apt name.

  4. LB says:

    Oh I cannot wait until February!
    We’ll be staying in Queenstown for a week, and since I’ll be renting a motorcycle, perhaps I can find a way to The Remarkables.

    • There is a road up there but I’m not sure about vantage points along the way. That’s easy enough to check with Google Earth.There’s plenty to explore. A motorcycle is the perfect way to explore those mountains and valleys.

      • I bet.

        There’s an anecdote about choppers. My sis is kind of obsessed with them. Always wanted to have a ride. We went skiing somewhere in the French Alps in a village that looked like a sleepy hollow. Hub and she get on the ski lift to head to the summit and I stay at the foot of the mountains. I’m more the summer than the winter kind of person. Anyway, we agree to call each other only in case of an emergency (roaming was expensive then). We part and they are terribly late. All of a sudden, I see a chopper flying low, hub carrying the skiing gear, and I’m thinking-No way?! So, she had that ride. Tore her tendon and was pretty high so the rescue crew had to bring her down with the helicopter.
        It happened on the first day there. Needless to say, she stayed in bed the entire time, swollen and in pain.

        • I’m guessing she’s in no rush to ride in a helicopter again. I gave up skiing after breaking a rib and a tendon in the leg years ago. You gotta listen to the “warning signs”. 🙂

The Wood Dragon is listening...

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.