crocodile 2

Northern Territory 2003-4 (8 images)

Signs like these are not uncommon in the Northern Territory. It’s a reminder of the dangers you face when you cross the threshold into areas where nature rules and man may not necessarily be at the top of the food chain.

If you live in Australia, it is not unusual to hear in the news on a semi-regular basis about deaths caused by shark attacks and crocodile attacks. Actually there was a death last week from a shark attack. It’s a real danger to be aware of, although if you’re not from Australia, you may be more familiar with the more light-hearted side of it from Crocdile Dundee or the Crocodile Hunter, Steve Irwin.

crocodile 1

You have been warned.

crocodile 4

Just in case you’ve forgotten.

crocodile 3

Never smile at a crocodile

Never smile at a crocodile
No, you can’t get friendly with a crocodile
Don’t be taken in by his welcome grin
He’s imagining how well you’d fit within his skin

Never Smile at a Crocodile is a song with music by Frank Churchill and lyrics by Jack Lawrence.

crocodile 5

You looking at me?

crocodile 6

Where’s breakfast?

Could this really be a blog from Australia without having mentioned crocodiles at some point? ๐Ÿ™‚

crocodile 7

I’m hungry

These are just some photos from the days when I got my first digital camera, a 2MP Canon Ixus and when I had no idea what the difference between RAW and JPEG was. These are jpeg shots I’ve been able to refresh using modern software. The first post I did about the Northern territory was about the wonders of the natural rock formations of the area .

All the crocodiles you see in this post were photographed in the wild. No crocodiles or wood dragons were hurt in the taking of these photos.

crocodile 8

Oh goody, here comes my dessert

This last crocodile had been caught on the cattle station I was at, about 2 days before I arrived. It was a bit too close to the homestead so the men caught it and built an enclosure for. Armed with a torch I went to look at it at night. After a while it snapped at me. When necessary, dragons really can fly.

Canon Etcetera, Photography Etcetera

Never smile at a …

Image

88 thoughts on “Never smile at a …

  1. You seemed so close to the crocs. Obviously you had a good visit up to the NT and came back in one piece. Very good shots, I can see the crocs’ evil, I mean lazy shining eyes. Really, you took the photos with a 2MP Canon Ixus and later refreshed them with software? My shots with a Canon Ixus 80s never look as good as these And it’s the only camera I have ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thanks, yes you do get very close at times. They even warn you not to lean over the edge of the boats – crocs can jump!

      I’m so used to playing around with software settings to try to get the best from photos. After a while it becomes second nature.

    • They are like a reminder of dinosaur times. The first one I saw struck terror into me from afar. After a few trips there now, I’ve seen hundreds in the wild, many up close, and I still don’t smile at them.

        • In the bush, I always find a big thick stick. I constantly tap the ground out of habit to warn animals to get out of my way. And I use the stick to touch things to make sure they aren’t really alive. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. I am certainly most happy to read that no wood dragons were hurt during the shoot ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ how did you take these pictures, did you have a guide? I’ve never seen a live crocodile… the last shot is striking.. like from the National Geographic… in the dark… a bit scary too… great series ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thank you. Good morning. ๐Ÿ™‚

      On the trails and by the river I was alone, but my habit was to find a large stick on the ground each day and carry it with me just in case. ๐Ÿ™‚ The shots close up on the water are from boats, in a group. For the last photo, I knew the crocodile was in an enclosure but I had to walk about 900 metres in the dark to get to it. I was a bit more worried about other night creatures that weren’t in an enclosure. ๐Ÿ™‚

      • good morning ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚
        you were not afraid to go there alone? gosh, I’m happy you turned to street photography… it’s at least (a bit) more safe ๐Ÿ™‚ hope you are having a wonderful day, Draco…

  3. “Heโ€™s imagining how well youโ€™d fit within his skin.”
    I love it!!
    Seriously, not many creatures scare me. These “guys” most definitely do.

    Thank you for the warning!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. So. No longer the street photog., eh ? – or should I say, has never been JUST a street photog.? – but that sounds as if I’m demeaning street photog.s … I never would, not ever ! ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Il coccodrillo forse รจ l’unico animale insieme ai draghi di Commodo che arriva dalla preistoria e forse questo suo arrivare da tanto lontano, oltre alle sue enormi fauci che incute troppo terrore—a me fa paura anche solo guardarlo nelle tue immagini che sono troppo reali…temo esca dal computer e arrivi nella mia stanza!!!
    tu hai sempre un modo tanto ironico e scherzoso di presentare le tue foto! questo mi piace molto
    grazie di tutto
    The crocodile is perhaps the only animal with the Dragons of Commodus that comes from prehistoric times and maybe this arrive from far away, in addition to its enormous mouth that inspires too terror—scares me even just watch it in your images that are real too … I am afraid that by computer and arrive in my room!!!
    you always a so ironic and playful to submit your photos! This I like very much
    Thanks for everything

  6. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Inside | seeking life

  7. kuujinbo says:

    Very impressive PP – never would have guessed it came from a 2MP camera. ๐Ÿ™‚ #4 and the last one are especially nice.

    • Did you ever watch the original series of The Twilight Zone? There was an episode entitled, To serve man. I think that’s along the lines of what they’re probably thinking, how to “serve” man. ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. to remain in him says:

    Looks dangerous… I would be afraid to come that close to them. But even so they are beautiful and they are free. Real danger in real nature. Nice shots. I like the reflections in the water – they makes photos special.

  9. I’m wondering why the kids like the crocodiles and the adults fear them so much ๐Ÿ™‚ Great experience, great photos and yeah – never smile at a crocodile… if you recognize him though ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. He snapped at you??!!! ๐Ÿ˜ฏ A amazing creature, but not one I’d enjoy taking pictures of, I’m sure there’d be a lot of camera shake in mine! ๐Ÿ™‚ I like the one in the bright sunshine, he looks like he’s enjoying that sun! It’s amazing how their scaled skin is almost like armour, and also makes me think of dragons too. Perhaps that’s where the images for dragons came from? Oh, but I forgot – they’re fantasy are they?!!! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  11. I managed to miss this series.. Even though it’s old photos, they’re still rather interesting. I don’t think I would dare to come so close to them. As far as I know, they’re incredibly strong and I bet they wouldn’t be picky about the amount of meat on me should they develop an interest if I got so close. Good with all the signs there though, we should at times show nature some respect. I’d love to visit Australia at some point and watch them, from a safe distance!

The Wood Dragon is listening...

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.