Vivid 2016 100

Sydney May 2016 (17 photos)

This is Part 6 of my 8 part VIVID Sydney 2016 series.

Sydney’s Taronga Zoo celebrates its Centenary in 2016 and also partners with VIVID for the first time. If you’re not familiar with Sydney, Taronga Zoo is situated on the foreshore of Sydney Harbour, a short ferry ride from the Sydney Opera House region. Naturally enough, an animated display was projected onto the entrance of the zoo.

Vivid 2016 99

Look up! The Pygmy Tarsiers family says “Welcome to Zootopia”.

Vivid 2016 75

Greater Bilby. IUCN* Status: Vulnerable.

“Be The Light For The Wild” is the name for the displays in this precinct, all created by Ample Projects.

Vivid 2016 79

“Be The Light For The Wild” leads us along an illuminated trail comprised of giant animal multimedia light sculptures. At the start of the trail, we walk through a forest with multiple laser beams creating a magical atmosphere. Walking through this, I immediately realised this was going to be a good showing.

Vivid 2016 83

Echidna: Yummy yummy yummy I got ants in my tummy.

Vivid 2016 82

Platypus. IUCN* Status: Threatened.

“Be the Light for the Wild” featured ten endangered Legacy species from Australia and Sumatra, ranging from the magnificent Asian elephant to the brightly coloured Corroboree frogs, species that Taronga Zoo is committed to protecting.

Vivid 2016 84

Cicadas light the night.

Vivid 2016 87

Green Turtle. IUCN* Status: Endangered.

Vivid 2016 105

Chameleon. One day my kin will storm into Sydney and they won’t see us coming.

Created with interactive lighting, sound effects and moving parts, these giant light sculptures were among the largest and most technologically advanced lanterns ever to feature in Vivid.

Vivid 2016 92

Sumatran Rhino. IUCN* Status: Critically Endangered.

Vivid 2016 90

Saltwater Crocodile: Good evening, dinner!

The 10 Legacy Species light sculptures were augmented by a supporting cast of lanterns of Australian creatures.

Vivid 2016 94

Asian Elephant. IUCN* Status: Endangered.

Vivid 2016 89

Additionally 1700 smaller lanterns made by NSW primary school students were hung around the trail in celebration of the Zoo’s Centenary, as part of an awareness campaign about critical species.

Vivid 2016 95

Sunda Sagolin. IUCN* Status: Critically Endangered.

Vivid 2016 97

Corroboree Frog. IUCN* Status: Critically Endangered.

Vivid 2016 81

Pygmy Tarsiers: Thanks for visiting. Help us before it’s too late. Come back soon.

…..

* The International Union for Conservation of Nature and Natural Resources (IUCN) is an international organization working in the field of nature conservation and sustainable use of natural resources. It is involved in data gathering and analysis, research, field projects, advocacy, lobbying and education. IUCN’s mission is to “influence, encourage and assist societies throughout the world to conserve nature and to ensure that any use of natural resources is equitable and ecologically sustainable.”

Vivid 2016 93

This is Part 6 of my 8 part VIVID Sydney 2016 series.

All of my photography from this series and previous years of VIVID Sydney going back to 2012 can be found here:
VIVID Sydney page

Leica Etcetera, Photography Etcetera

VIVID 2016: Zootopia

Image

79 thoughts on “VIVID 2016: Zootopia

  1. Brilliant exhibit by Taronga Zoo for VIVID this year. Great to hear that students got involved too – those smaller lanterns hung overhead look really well made. All for a good show and more importantly, all for a good cause 🙂 That Asian elephant is quite a sculpture – it looks like its right eye is twinkling right at you 😉

    • I think every primary school student involved would want to have visited to find their lantern. I would have. 🙂 It was a good educational project for them.

      The Asian elephant moved its head and trunk and I seem to recall there were sound effects. All very well done!

    • You’re very welcome. The frog was very well placed with the Harbour Bridge in the background. I’m sure lots of selfies were taken there. 🙂 🙂 🙂
      More importantly, a bit of education thrown in with the entertainment. It was very well done.

  2. “Be The Light For The Wild” – what a fantastic theme. What an extraordinary imagination and effort of making these awesome displays. Most of all, what an awesome series of the 2016 Vivid 2016! I enjoy every bit of it. Thank you so much, Dragon!!
    You deserve a big award from the Sydney Chamber of Commerce. 🙂

    • Thank you so much, Amy. I particularly liked the zoo exhibits. I smiled the entire time I was there. Even the sky cable cars were operating for night views of the city.
      I’m glad you can enjoy it from the comfort of your home. I’m still waiting for my award from the Sydney Chamber of Commerce. 😉

    • Thank you very much, Lisa. For the sake of the animals, they start the zoo exhibits a bit earlier and also end earlier. It was very popular with the public. I saw a lot of selfies being taken with the frog and bridge in the background. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Birds in Flight | The World Is a Book...

  4. Stunning photography as usual, Draco! I absolutely loved Vivid at Taronga Zoo. I’m bummed that the night I went it was pouring and the lights for the turtles and chameleon were out, but I’m happy I got to see them through your eyes. Thanks so much! 🙂
    P.S. Also went Dragon hunting, but was obviously unsuccessful 😉

    • Thanks, Sandy. As a precinct, Taronga Zoo was the best.I went on the first Monday night, not because it was convenient to do so but because my weather app said it was going to rain each night afterwards for a week, and it was right. Sorry to hear some of the installations weren’t on for you and you got a soaking but it would still have been a good evening, I guess.

      Dragon hunting? I’m watching out for you. 🙂

  5. maamej says:

    Stunning. I couldn’t get to the zoo so it was lovely to see your pics – looks like quite a night, hope they do it again next year.

  6. OM,om,dear Draco!Another stunning thematic post with phantasmagorical night shots!Brilliantly beautiful 🙂
    PS:I arrived here via Amy,but I’ll find all your posts I missed in my cluttered email inbox …

  7. These illuminated animals are so amazing, it’s difficult to choose which one is my favourite! Perhaps I’ll go for the little creatures in the tree – because they look very cute! I want a tree like that with little illuminated creatures in my back yard – would be like Christmas every night! 😀

    Love the capture of the laser light coming through the tree – stunning! Or, is it a laser? It looks like one. And the animal lantern were lovely too. What a fun light display!!

    • Yes, they were multiple green lasers dancing through the air. Incredibly atmospheric.

      I can imagine you having illuminated animals in a tree in your backyard, and just staring at them. They were very mesmerising. The neighbours would talk, though. 🙂

  8. Simply, totally, gorgeously, beautiful.
    That’s it! We’re coming down to Vivid whenever we get home.
    They should pay you as a Vivid Ambassador – how many people are gonna travel to Sydney because of your amazing photos, Draco?
    Quite a few, I would imagine.
    Stunning.
    Thank you.

    • Yes, I’m still waiting for my cheque. 🙂

      Thanks, Debbie. The Taronga Display was incredibly good especially for a first time location. Vivid is worth seeing if you get the chance.

The Wood Dragon is listening...

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.