Sunset ND110

Sydney May 2013 (2 photos)

As I mentioned in my last post, I’ll be taking a break from blogging for a while (a month or so) due to various work and other commitments. I’d prefer to let you know beforehand that I’ll be disappearing, rather than leave and have you wondering, whatever happened to…? But I’m still here until the end of the week, so you’ll have to put up with a few more photos until then. For now, here’s something different from me.

If you’re anything like me, you buy and hoard small photographic accessories. I never know when I’ll need them but invariably when it might actually be useful, I forget to bring it. Well this time, I deliberately went out to shoot a sunset. And I actually remembered to take my tripod and my 10 stop Neutral Density filter. This reduces the light entering the lens by 10 stops, which means that for the same exposure without the filter you need to correspondingly increase your exposure time.

Sunset ND110 crop

For those interested:

Camera: Olympus OM-D micro 4/3 camera
Lens: Olympus 12mm f2 lens
Aperture: f8 with ND 110 filter
Shutter: 40 seconds
Exposure compensation: +1.7 stops
Photo taken at 8 minutes past sunset.
Cropping and adjustments in Lightroom 4.3 (I’m lazy – I haven’t updated this yet)

I’ll put up another 2 or 3 more photos this week. Please stay tuned.

Olympus Etcetera, Photography Etcetera

The long goodbye

Image

44 thoughts on “The long goodbye

  1. they say “until we meet again, it’s not goodbye” eh ^ – ^ have a safe and sound gap-time then,Mr.Dragon!

    ps: I love the color ^ – ^ feel really really warm!

  2. We will most likely still be here when you get back, but you will of course be sorely missed. I know I have missed a lot of time lately myself, but sometimes life just gets in the way of my fantasys. πŸ˜€

  3. Pingback: The Bridge | Etcetera Etcetera Etcetera

The Wood Dragon is listening ...

