Aroma 2015 1

Sydney July – August 2015 (12 photos)

We are all after that killer (great) taste in coffee, but would you drink coffee that might kill you? It’s a creepy proposition, and logo to match. According to the website of the coffee company depicted above, it’s “…the strongest cup of joe you’ll ever taste in your life… The Killer Coffee Co. endeavors to take caffeine hits to death-defying new levels, featured in this post-blended, small batch of coffee that’s strong enough to wake the dead.”

Would you? That’s a big “no thanks” from me.

Anyway ….

Aroma 2015 2

Recently the Aroma Festival of Sydney was on for 2015. An annual festival dedicated to coffee. The streets of The Rocks region of Sydney were closed to cars and street stalls set up.

Aroma 2015 5

I got there early, and even then I could see that the queues for this Mayan coffee stall were much longer than all others, and this continued throughout the day. A good endorsement. As they have a cafe in Sydney, I by-passed the queue but will go to their shop one day instead. I think the key to this kind of festival is to limit your intake and try new blends you might not get elsewhere. Besides, where else are you going to get quality coffee at about half the usual price? Instead I went to…

Aroma 2015 3

Aroma 2015 4

The production line of baristas in action.

Aroma 2015 7

An interesting way to promote tourism, don’t you think?

Aroma 2015 8

Tea drinkers were catered for too. So were the chocolate lovers.

Aroma 2015 9

I didn’t know chocolate could be matched to wine. This Adelaide based chocolatier is opening in Sydney. Based on the free samples which I ate plenty of, I’ll be a regular there.

Of course a much more relaxed way to enjoy coffee is at home, or at a cafe. But this event is definitely for me.

Why?

Aroma 2015 6

“If you build it they will come”

… For the crowds …

Aroma 2015 11

“Cool and the gang”

… because I like to watch …

Aroma 2015 10

“Love is a cup of coffee in one hand and a phone in the other”

… and I like to shoot people …

Aroma 2015 12

“Another one bites the dust”

… especially other photographers.

Creepy, huh?

Bwahahaha!!! Bwahahaha!!! Bwahahaha!!!

Leica Etcetera, Photography Etcetera

Killer Coffee

Image

90 thoughts on “Killer Coffee

  1. I am Italian but I am not an espresso coffee addicted😱😬I prefer cappuccino thick foam with some chocolate power over it 😉but …. sipping in a cafe not at home! I like to sit down & see people around me , have a look to a newspaper & have a chat with someone close to my table : this means for me , to have time to share a very good moment of mine with others 😉😍☕️☕️☕️

  2. LaVagabonde says:

    Great people shots, as usual. How do you know that another photographer didn’t get you? 😉 Not sure I’d try that Killer Coffee, either. It’s funny how a whole new profession – barista – has emerged from the coffee house revolution.

    • More than likely I have been photographed as part of the crowd, but that’s to be expected. Not many do what I do, though. 🙂

      A good barista does make a difference to the quality, or should I say experience of the drink. I’m sure there’s a bit of showmanship in there as well.

  3. Wow, the big event is back! I see a lot of happy faces there. :), love these photo captures, Dragon!
    I guess the Chocolate festival will be here soon. 🙂

  4. As a tea drinker, I’ve always felt a little left out of the celebration that is grabbing a cup of coffee, and your photographs shed light on my outsider status. Try as I may, I can’t develop a taste for the stuff, so I settle for a nerdy shaken iced tea…lame, right? Love your killer pics!

  5. M-R says:

    Yer a bloody madman, LD !:)
    I have a new espresso machine – the like of which I have never had before. I think I’m in love again … [grin]

  6. This would be for me too, crowds and coffee would be too much of a treat to pass by, although I am with you ~ queues would make me turn away and visit their shop another day instead. Great shots ~

  7. Woweee, that is a lot of people. Like you, I’d rather go to the shop and get what I want. I suppose most of the people went there for the coffee. Like you said to Amy, hope you go to the chocolate festival at some point, taking that is happens every year in Sydney 🙂

  8. I missed the Aroma Festival this year *sad face* but at least I’ve got your pictures to look at 😉 Seems like another successful year. I also didn’t know you could match chocolate with wine. It’s definitely on my to-try list. I might even spot a Dragon 🙂

  9. Just heard on the news tonight that coffee is now touted as being good for preventing bowel cancer and a whole host of other baddies. So from being the bad guy it is now being encouraged (I wonder if the coffee council, or some such, funded the research!!! Now is that being cynical!!!) Great photos and wow how crowded it was.

  10. Quite interesting…strong coffee (for me) is like hot sauce…it has to have more than heat or caffeine to make it flavorful and enjoyable…it is the complexity that brings me back for more. Nice post!

  11. Awesome post! No I couldn’t do that coffee either … Oh what a great event. Love the sign better coffee in Melb or Syd! Hilarious no competition there. Fab pics ..great being out and about. Cheers

    • Thank you, Julie. It’s the second time I’ve been and the crowds have been huge each time. There are local markets as well to fill up the day. I was initially stunned when I saw the Melbourne stall, but then it made me smile. Good on them. 🙂

  12. who does coffee better Sydney or Melbourne? The answer is Sofia 😀
    I’d love to try the Killer coffee…
    what a lovely series, Lignum…I may be repeating myself but I love how you always have a general context shot, to show how many people there are… I usually forget to do that and have only individual portraits in the end…
    what camera/lens do you usually bring to such busy venue?

    • You’d drink it? You’re a brave woman, Alex. 🙂

      Thanks, I try to take a mix of photos and field of views to see what works best. I had a Leica with a 50mm prime lens and a 90mm prime lens that day.

  13. Maybe two eye drops just for the taste, and to satisfy my curiosity. I am intolerant of too much coffee – I usually get tachycardia. .. and you shoot them so well, even the fellow photographers.

  14. Hardcore stuff! Hehe! 😀 I’m glad i don’t actually drink coffee but would still go there for the tee and chocolate 😉 I might even buy a round of the killer coffee for someone i don’t like, without them knowing… “Oh don’t be a sissy, it’s just coffee”…I’m not evil…no 😛

  15. I like the “If you built it they will come”. Your “Bwahahaha!!! Bwahahaha!!! Bwahahaha!!!” made me laugh, too! Have a great day ahead Draco! 🙂

  16. A coffee that’s strong enough to wake the dead – oooh, not sure if I would like that or not. I love the smell of coffee, but don’t like it very strong. Coffee seems to be appreciated a lot like beer theses days. Your pictures really convey the love we humans have for all these flavoured drinks (I especially like the woman choosing Pukka tea) we are quite obsessed with our drinks. Good old refreshing water takes a back seat with all that competition! 😉

    • Thanks, Suzy. A water drinking festival doesn’t really grab the imagination for fun, but we can’t live without. There’s a tea festival here as well, but it is a lot smaller although there seems to be an explosion in the different types of blends you can buy. I do drink more tea than coffee, particularly the green tea these days.

      There seems to a subculture in the appreciation of flavours. I went to a gourmet food store to buy some olive oil and they brought out a trolley with numerous samples to taste!

      • There are people who are very into tasting different kinds of spring water, but I agree for most people it wouldn’t grab the imagination.

        I know, the availability of tea now is quite something. I have a tea supplier near where I live, they sell coffee beans too. Their shelves are so high you need a ladder to get to some of the tea!! 😀

  17. That’s some huge coffee crowd Lignum and all great shots! I miss the days when good coffee was a quiet simple pleasure, before it became an operatic barista encounter of the roasting boastful.

  18. Pingback: Something in the Air | Etcetera Etcetera Etcetera

The Wood Dragon is listening...

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.